We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated but clean and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Certificate of Excellence
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dated but clean and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I'm a native of CT but had never been to Southbury or the Heritage Hotel. The hotel itself is a little dated but it is very clean and the service was excellent. (A big thank you to Kris M. who got me a cup of hot water for tea when I needed it.) I stayed on the third floor (room 390). There must have been an ice dam or water leak because the ceiling was repaired but not painted adequately to hide the repair. The king size bed was very comfy. I slept beautifully. The buffet breakfast and lunch served in the 8 mile brook dining room was very good. Everything that should be cold, was cold. Everything that should be hot was hot. I did not use the pool or other facilities. I would absolutely return if looking for a calm, relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathiernc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide insight on your stay at The Heritage Hotel. Our associates take pride in making our guests feel at home during their stay. The areas of concern in your feedback have been addressed with our team.

We hope to see you again, especially during our summer season!

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    137
    54
    29
    15
See reviews for
158
102
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

This winter we needed a little break from the snow so we decided to spent a quiet day and night at the Heritage. It is very unique with lots of old wood, modern luxuries and friendly staff. The pool was wonderful. they also have a spa but we skipped that. We might return this summer to check out the golf courses which certainly looked nice in the photos. The Shadrack Bar was fun but I might suggest eating elsewhere. Overall very nice and the price was perfect. the room was also very clean and quite large with a nice view of the river behind the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms toward front of building are generally quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Printlag488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how your experience was during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that we could provide an enjoyable getaway from the elongated winter season.



We look forward to welcoming you back to experience a summer by our outdoor pool. Please refer to our website for various ways you can utilize our recreational facilities.



Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Depending on what you consider a bargain, my wife & I were pleasantly surprised while staying here. The rooms were large and very clean. Friendly staff and the convenience of both restaurants & bar on site made for an added bonus on convenience. Exactly what the doctor ordered. Thanks Groupon

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostonmahty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
We appreciate your kinda words about our associates, and value your review on your experience at our property. One of our best features is that we have a variety of on-site amenities. It is our commitment to make our guests feel at home.



Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon,



Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I am so glad that I took the advice of my fellow travelers and stayed at the Heritage. I was even more impressed than I expected. I did stay on the 3rd floor(as per a guest suggestion) due to the noise. The room had a great winter view, it was spotless clean and entire hotel was very unique.
We received a bottle of wine and the staff was MORE than efficient and kind.
My only suggestion would be that they separate families from couples/singles. I have children but they were not with me and hearing several child played hide and seek in the halls very late night.
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 3rd floor and maybe not next to a room with a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations on various levels. To accommodate all our guests in the best manner we are pleased to accept room requests providing we have availability.


Thank you for your valued input,



Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed for two nights this past weekend, bought a deal thru groupon. All the staff was very helpful and friendly. This place is pet friendly so we stayed in room designated for pets. The place and the rooms are a little dated, small bath room but very clean. Nice size TV in room. Restaurant on site with bar, food was good, nice size portions. Pool and sauna were very clean as well. Lots to do there; gym, racquetball, spa, restaurant, pool tables, Ping-Pong table and multiple fireplaces. I know there is skiing and snow tubing not far away as well. This is not a fancy hotel but a nice place to go for a getaway. Walk to deli and Friendly’s Restaurant if you do not want to eat at the restaurant on site.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your experience at The Heritage Hotel. We enjoy being able to provide various services to our guests, from our health club facility and day spa to our restaurant & pub all on-site. This makes for a great weekend escape.



We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon,



Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Hotel for two nights this past weekend and it was very nice. The people were so friendly and courteous. The place was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We ate at the restaurant which was very good. If you go you have to have the steak sandwich and the nachos which are regular nachos. These are made with potato chips not regular chips they seemed to me to be fresh cut potatoes made into chips with cheese and bacon and sour cream. The breakfast buffet was good too. Will go back when the weather is warmer to hang out in the outdoor pool. Would definitely recommend people to go.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for the pleasant review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our “Irish” nachos are a fan favorite at Shadrach’s Restaurant & Pub.



We look forward to welcoming you again this summer,



Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Whenever family comes, I now book them a room at the Heritage. Rooms have undergone renovations & they are as nice as anywhere - at a bargain price.

Shadrich's used to be dark, not much to it. Now they have lighting, HDTV's and comfy chairs by the fireplace (my kids love these!). Don't go overboard on food - stick to basics - hamburgers, sandwiches, mac & cheese w/ bits of pancetta. A little pricey, but not much. And there are a couple of pool tables - and a game room off to the side in case kids are really bored.

Indoor pool area w/ ping pong tables & raquetball courts is a treat. Grown ups can sit & read the paper and let kids have fun.

Friendly's is across the street for an ice cream and if you want, you can get in a round of golf at a reasonable price when the weather is warm.

This is where I put the in-laws up when they come - no questions asked. They - and I - are grateful to have this in Southbury.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrewC_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank for your review, we truly value our feedback from our guests. We appreciate your loyalty, and are very glad to see that you enjoy our family oriented features such as the full-service health club, and on-site restaurant & pub.



Thank you for choosing the Heritage Hotel,



We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon,



Scott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
3.4 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
19.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
15.1 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Mayflower Grace
The Mayflower Grace
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
17.1 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Property: Heritage Hotel
Address: 522 Heritage Rd, Southbury, CT 06488
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Heritage! Each of our hotel's 163 spacious guest rooms and suites at The Heritage Hotel is freshly decorated to reflect a timeless New England Style, many with views of the Pomperaug River and golf course. Our love of hospitality is easy to see and amenities such as Sealy® pillow-top mattresses, New England® coffee in your room and an attentive staff demonstrate our passion for every facet of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Southbury
Heritage Resort Southbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing