We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CATERED EVENT”
Review of Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Certificate of Excellence
Southbury, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CATERED EVENT”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We decided to celebrate my husband's 80th birthday by having a party in a restaurant. I found that the restaurants in the area wanted me to meet a high minimum number of guests, in order to have a private room.

Then I remembered the Heritage Hotel, and called Chris Allen, who arranges catered events. I learned that, since they're a conference center, they have a number of rooms that would accommodate a small party.

My husband and I enjoyed a Sunday brunch, and found the food to be excellent. We met with Chris, went over our unique menu (no meat, chicken or shell fish, absolutely nothing with meat or chicken stock, to accommodate family members who are kosher). She could meet those requirements , at a price that was far less costly than the local restaurants, and a much smaller required minimum number of guests.

I had many contacts with Chris over the months that we planned the party. When I called the hotel, I ALWAYS reached a live voice, and Chris was very available to me. She was amazing to work with, the party was extraordinary - a luncheon with 31 people, the room looked lovely, with their accommodating our request for an extra table for photos, and another one for our grandchildren and great-nephews to play games.

The wait step was on top of everything - available to us during the entire 4 hours, accommodating my requests for when food was served, and when the desserts would be uncovered. They were superb.

I would absolutely contact Chris and plan another catered event. I wouldn't even consider another place - it exceeded all of our expectations.

And above all, my husband was thrilled!

Our family members who stayed at the hotel were also pleased with their lodging experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to review the Heritage Hotel. Special events like yours are important to us and I am happy we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We wish your husband a very happy birthday, and can’t wait to help you plan your next event – big or small.

All the best, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    140
    54
    32
    15
See reviews for
160
102
14
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Really just a so so hotel. The food is really sub par and expensive so do NOT eat there. Southbury is very close and there are a few good places.
The room was fine. Small bathroom. Nice cleaning service. But the lobby had a huge fireplace and it was NEVER lit the whole 3 days and it was chilly.
They had two conferences the days we were there, so crowded. Husband enjoyed the pool and sauna. It's really nothing special and does not feel like New England.
We won't be returning here. If again here on business, will try the Litchifield Inn which is a little further away from town, but probably worth the drive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaPear16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Heritage Hotel. I am sorry you didn’t feel you received the classic New England experience we are known for. As it is early in the season for us, we did not yet have the fireplaces lit throughout the weekend. I am glad your husband was able to enjoy the pool and everything else our Health Club has to offer.

All the best, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I got rewards points from a credit card so I used them to stay here. We checked in at 6:00 and had plenty to do when we got there. We stayed on the third floor, the hallway smelled like a bathroom and the floor creaked with every step, which wasn't very good when you try to sleep and the droves of people that walked by at all hours of the night sounded like the place was going to collapse. That and the light that came through the sides and bottom of the door all night made it hard to sleep. The bed was otherwise comfortable, and the room was very clean. Now the toilet...oh the toilet, it would not flush and the phone did not work to call the front desk to get it fixed and neither of us wanted to take the walk down to the front desk to tell them because we had a very hard week of work and just wanted to relax. But as I got up at 2 am to use the bathroom the smell was horrible and the water was brown in the bottom of the toilet. I felt gross even peeing in it. At this point I would've went to the desk to switch rooms but I wasn't about to wake up my fiancé. The racquet ball court was nice and a great amenity. My only issue was that the pool and other amenities closed at 9:30. We went to shadrachs for dinner and it was great! Overall it was a nice place but I don't know if we will go back considering the gross toilet issue. And the light from the door all night. I will still recommend this hotel to people purely because of the amenities and the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samkidd666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We apologize for the troubles you had with the bathroom during your recent stay with us. While I am glad you enjoyed our health club’s racquetball courts and dinner at Shadrach’s, I am sorry you had a negative experience. Please contact me at Scott.Robinson@heritagesouthbury.com so that we can rectify the situation with your guest room.

All the best, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
222 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I had a steak at the pub and it was very nice. I could have done without the green beans and was looking for more potatoes. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. Truly nice to have someone custom makeomelets. The staff was very friendly and very accomodating. As a venue for a conference, the lecture rooms are better than most colleges!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sbj04769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our conference center and breakfast buffet – the omelets are my favorite breakfast option. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.


All the best, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I am writing to explain my dismay with my recent stay at your heritage hotel on 10/19/13. During the night my family was woken up by loud noise in the courtyard, so we called down to the front desk to let them know of the disturbance. Then again, about 45 minutes later, there was loud obnoxious behavior that woke me and my baby up. Now, I called downstairs and explained that something needs to be done or else my wife and I were leaving the hotel. Apparently security was sent down to alert the party that they were being too loud. So, I fell back asleep and again LOUD noise woke us all up!! At this time I walked downstairs and was very upset, wanting to know why security is not taking care of the situation. The concierge apologized and said we are trying our best to control the situation. The problem is that the situation was not being handled or controlled!! Due to the inconvenience and noise, my wife, 14 month old baby and I decided to pack up and leave your hotel to go back home to NY. We left your hotel in the middle of the night because things were not handled appropriately!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattbph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We apologize for your recent experience at the Heritage Hotel. While we certainly do our best to minimize disruptions to all our guests, some behavior is out of our control. We will be in contact with you – certainly, we will not charge you for this stay. We also will be forwarding you a voucher for a future stay with us, so that we can show you the kind of hospitality we expect to offer to every guest.

All the best, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful, and were outwardly friendly. The premises were well maintained both on the exterior and interior. The atmosphere was casual and comfortable. The amenities are suitable for a family. My only criticisim would be the condition of the beds. We were in a room with two double beds, and the one bed 'creaked" when even slightly moved. The other bed's mattress was concave, and not very comfortable. All in all a good choice for the casual traveler.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Heritage Hotel. We always strive to be friendly and welcoming to every guest, and I’m glad your experience was pleasant. We will investigate the situation with the beds; thank you for bringing it to our attention. I hope you will think of us the next time you are in the area.


All the best, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level Contributor
162 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Very neat hotel, mix of newly renovated property and some original. They lounge has two pool tables free of charge. Food is OK nothing great but atmosphere is good enough that you don't care.
We had a package that included Dinner and breakfast. Def worth the price. They even have racket ball courts.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us, and I hope you got a chance to use those racquetball courts and pool tables! Please think of us the next time you need a weekend getaway.

All the best, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
3.4 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
19.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
15.1 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#3 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Mayflower Grace
The Mayflower Grace
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
17.1 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Property: Heritage Hotel
Address: 522 Heritage Rd, Southbury, CT 06488-3866
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Heritage! Each of our hotel's 163 spacious guest rooms and suites at The Heritage Hotel is freshly decorated to reflect a timeless New England Style, many with views of the Pomperaug River and golf course. Our love of hospitality is easy to see and amenities such as Sealy® pillow-top mattresses, New England® coffee in your room and an attentive staff demonstrate our passion for every facet of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Southbury
Heritage Resort Southbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing