We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night to get away with kids for Winter Break”
Review of Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My family and I went to the Heritage to get away for a night. We found that the room was very clean and well put together. Everyone was very friendly from the front desk, Housekeeping, and in the restaurant. The food at the Shadrach's Restaurant & Lounge was great. We also ordered room service with was excellent. My daughters enjoyed swimming in the pool which was very clean and organized and there was no problems of for my little daughters to swim. Overall my family had a great overnight stay and would go back just to get away for the night like we did.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hotel. I’m glad you were able to have a fun getaway with us during the school break! Please think of us next time you need a fun weekend away.

All the best, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel shares the pool with a health club. They literally cut the pool in half. Not a good place to take kids. Every 5 minutes staff from the health club spoke to hotel guests about staying on one side of the pool, touching the rope that separates the two sides of the pool, sitting by the hot tub, eating potato chips, etc. We were told we had to leave the pool at 930 am because of an exercise class. The pool was closed 730pm on a holiday weekend. The only reason I drove to CT was to use the pool. There were buckets throughout the hotel because of leaks. It is a shame because the rooms are nice.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

I apologize for your recent experience regarding our Health Club. That is not the level of service we expect to provide to our guests. We strive to provide a family-friendly atmosphere throughout the hotel and I am sorry we did not achieve that goal during your stay.

All the best, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We googled this place that looked so beautiful, for a lil Valentines getaway. We were so very disappointed about the whole experience! The ceilings were leaking down the corridors, non of the ice machines were working. The soda machines were sold out and when I asked for change at the front desk I found the keeper to be very rood. There wasn't much hospitality at all, they mustve been short on staff as we had to tend to everything ourselves. It was not worth the money at all!!!!! The bar/lounge was ok and the bartender was quite pleasant, but that's about it. Dinner was ok, it just wasn't as expected for the price! We do not recommend and will not be back. Its quite sad it looks like it was once a nice place that has not been kept up!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

I apologize for your recent experience at the Heritage Hotel. Your concerns will be discussed with the rest of the team, as it is always our goal to provide exemplary service to each and every guest.


All the best, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My son and daughter-in-law chose the Heritage Hotel for their wedding weekend from start to finish. The hotel hosted the rehearsal dinner, the wedding ceremony, cocktail hour, reception, and private Sunday morning brunch. Great rooms, delicious food, and plenty of fun activities, with something for everyone! The staff was outstanding, especially Chris, the wedding planner! Many guests spent the entire weekend, and we had a fabulous time with no worries all weekend! Thank you to the Heritage Hotel for a memorable weekend for all!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieK190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Congratulations to your son and daughter-in-law on their wedding! Thank you for your review of the hotel and your experience here. We’re glad you and your guests enjoyed such a great weekend, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks,

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My cousin & I needed some time to pamper ouirselves and just catch up. We chose the B&B at the Heritage. The hotel's charming, has a lot to offer and is in a great spot - we enjoyed Tres Jolie Spa services (massage & manicure), did some antiquing in Woodbury and visited the Abbey of Regina Laudis. All in all - great value for a one night getaway. We'll return and recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hotel. I’m glad you and your cousin were able to enjoy all that the area has to offer! We hope you think of us the next time you need a fun getaway!

All the best, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed 1 night at the Heritage. Check in was easy. We requested a quiet room and got it! 227 worked for us. Huge Flat screen TV. Bathroom was small and did not have a tub, which was fine with us.
It was hard to find the front door on arrival. The could use better signs in the winter when snow is piled high.

Room Tip: We did not ask for a room with a view. We wanted quiet and we got it. All rooms are renovated. 227 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lida F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your kind words regarding the Heritage Hotel. I’m glad your stay was restful, even with all of the snow! We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Connecticut.


All the best, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have stayed at the Heritage Hotel regularly over the past 15 years, since it is conveniently located close to relatives in Southbury. Unfortunately, we have observed the Hotel's slow, steady decline over those years. The Heritage is really starting to show its age, and much of the Hotel is in need of renovation. Today you can just about count on your room being drab, dated and in need of some small (or not so small) repair. On our most recent visit the bathroom sink was draining directly onto the bathroom floor. We will continue to stay at the Heritage because of the convenience, but these folks really could and should pick up their game.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are currently reviewing our plans to update the property, and appreciate your ongoing business.

All the best,

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
3.4 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
307 reviews
11.4 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
97 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
511 reviews
19.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
17.1 mi away
The Litchfield Inn, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Address: 522 Heritage Rd, Southbury, CT 06488-3866
Region: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Price Range: £85 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Heritage! Each of our hotel's 163 spacious guest rooms and suites at The Heritage Hotel is freshly decorated to reflect a timeless New England Style, many with views of the Pomperaug River and golf course. Our love of hospitality is easy to see and amenities such as Sealy® pillow-top mattresses, New England® coffee in your room and an attentive staff demonstrate our passion for every facet of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Southbury
Heritage Resort Southbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing