We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritage Hotel, Golf, Spa & Conference Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newbury Inn(Brookfield)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
199
148
60
37
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
148
60
37
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolhealth clubping pongconference centerlarge hotelcommon areas arecocktail hourthird floormain lobbyhotel barrehearsal dinnerthis past weekendfront desk staffnew englandexercise roomweddinggym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The hotel is lovely, with beautiful sitting areas, a very nice view from our room, an excellent breakfast, a great pool for the kids to swim in. We were even able to get adjoining rooms for extended family members. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. We would definitely recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, Golf, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hotel. I’m happy we were able to accommodate the needs of your extended family and that you enjoyed all we have to offer. Please think of us the next time you are in the area.

All the best, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We live close by in Woodbury CT and stay there when a storm is pending that might cause power outages, we have stayed there the last few winters and have been well taken care of. The Hotel is unique and comfortable, large rooms, with very comfortable beds but in need of updating, bathrooms are basically small but not a major issue for us. The hotel itself is very spread out and you need to walk fair distances from pool to restaurant etc. but cosy places to sit and fires burning in the lobies and Shadrach's Pub the Main Diningroom. There is a pool, Racquetball Courts and a large fitness center and trainers on premises, also a lovely glassed in area that overlooks the pool and gardens where we like to sit and play Scrabble. Great experience last year was sitting in the heated pool watching the snow come down on the glass roof above during Storm Nemo. Staff are wonderful and very helpful and during a storm sometimes are short handed but the ones who are on duty really put themselves out. This last time we visited for three days and the Hotel was full as it was President's Day Weekend and by full I mean large noisy families with kids to spare and Shadrach's Pub the only place for dinner in the Hotel was jammed backed all three evenings and there were not enough waitstaff, so the last night we were there, it took an hour for our appetizer to come "Nachos" and we never did see our main course. Again, it was not the fault of the staff they were just outnumbered. Also, Shadrach's has a typical Pub Menu, not very imaginative and everything cooked in garlic powder which I am allergic to, am not sure why American Restaurants have to have garlic powder or MSG on everything they serve, I have suggested to Management that they should have a smaller, more upscale Restaurant for us older folk. One really nice thing that happened this trip, we went to the front desk before checking out and asked if someone could dig out our car and clean it off after a foot of snow fell and they said it is already taken care of and they did a beautiful job. Summing up, I would say go to the Heritage Hotel to relax and forget about high end decor and gourmet cuisine.

Room Tip: Third floor quieter or with kids near the pool.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rnladyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, Golf, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Heritage Hotel. We’re glad you are able to enjoy your visits here – despite the weather! Thank you for your input regarding Shadrach’s, we are currently reviewing and updating the menu. Thank you also for your kind words regarding the staff. Your compliments to them will also be passed on. We hope to see you again soon!

All the best, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Heritage is a misnomer- this place is not old like some CT houses. It is large and directed more towards conferences and weddings than true, countryside heritage. So don't be fooled. However, if you like well sized rooms that are slightly musty, an enormous dining room where you may be the only guest (other than one of the hotel staff who came and took breakfast there at the same time!), and an indoor swimming pool and squash court, then fine. But this is not a homely place.

Room Tip: View to the back, not the car park
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcusHarbord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, Golf, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hotel. While we are proud of our wedding and conference spaces, we do strive to provide excellent service to each and every one of our guests. Your observations will be shared with the rest of the team for review. Thank you again for your comments.

All the best, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Pros:
Indoor pool/hot tub
Racquetball court

Cons:
Middle of nowhere
1980's décor (don't think it was updated since then)
Cavernous halls. Long walks to room.
Parking lot was very far from hotel room. And lot was almost full.
Room was very Spartan
No bathtub.
No electrical outlet near desk.
Hardly any light in room.
Lots of street noise.

Might be nice for a couple trying to get away on a modest budget. Not good for much else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, Golf, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m glad you found the racquetball and pools useful in the Health Club; though I am sorry you found the property noisy. Unfortunately, in this time of year, we do have a lot of upkeep on our parking lot and driveway that can generate some noise. Thank you again for your review.

All the best, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I loved my stay at this hotel the staff was amazing and the look of the establishment is just amazing!!!!!! The rooms were great for my kids and I and I just say staff and housekeeping made sure everything we needed we were accommodated with!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dollface0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, Golf, Spa & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hotel. We strive to provide exemplary service to each and every guest, and I’m glad you and your children enjoyed your time with us! We hope to see you soon.


All the best, Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews