We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Impromptu Stay”
Review of Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An Impromptu Stay”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We checked into the Heritage Hotel at random on the last night of a road trip. This hotel was a great find after a long day of driving. The lobby was expansive and well-appointed. A long rustic hallway overlooked racquetball courts and two swimming pools, one indoor and one outdoor. Our room was on the first level and overlooked a small stream. The bedroom area was traditionally decorated and very spacious and clean. There are signs of age in the room, most specifically worn door knobs and the bathroom. The bathroom's shower fixtures were old and the wallpaper appeared to have some mildew or mold near the ceiling. At $107 for one night, the Heritage Hotel was a wonderful deal. It is located in a seemingly quiet, planned community and is convenient to interstate 84.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryHoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Heritage Hotel. I’m glad you were able to take a break from the road and have a restful stay with us! We are excited to have renovations planned for the next year. We hope you’ll stop by again once they’re finished so you can see the improvements we’re planning!

All the best,

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    142
    55
    32
    16
See reviews for
162
103
14
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I came to the hotel for a wedding and we were pleasantly surprised by how great the staff was. When we checked in the front desk staff were a little rude so we weren't expecting much at the wedding but we were overwhelmed by the high level of service that was received. Being in the business myself for thirty years I was impressed with the banquet staff and how wonderful they were. The manager Kristy was a true professional and took care of all of our needs and went above and beyond and kept the wedding running perfectly. Dan and John are amazing and we had a lot of fun with them. The only negative parts of our stay were the front desk staff, the rooms were a little worn and dated and the food at the wedding and breakfast the next day was far from good. Overall, a good stay and I would highly recommend people to book a banquet there, it will be a memorable experience due to the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m glad you enjoyed the great service our banquet staff offers – Kristy and her team are wonderful! However, I am sorry your experience with our front desk staff was not up to the level of hospitality we expect to offer. As with all of our guests’ comments, we will review your notes with the team to help with our training procedures. We are excited about our renovation plans to update the hotel – perhaps we will see you again to show off all our improvements!

All the best,

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Generally speaking, the hotel reminds one of the typical old country hotels which one can also see in the movies. Very nice and green surroundings.
Breakfast was so so, ok, but nothing to talk about. Many staff are nice and helpful.
On the negative side, the sometimes the front desk staff was mostly surprisingly rude. Small example: We had booked two nights. On arrival they did not find my booking for the second night. Therefore we checked into the room and I went, with the email confirmation for the second night, downstairs again to double check. This time our booking was confirmed, though by someone who did not bother to either look up or speak in full sentences. "You're ok".
The room was not very soundproof, which does not bother me but might bother people who sleep less sound.
Everything has a slightly worn - out feeling to it, from the door handles to the bathroom faucets. The Gym is a very cramped affair, with no natural light, only fluorescent lights.
The hotel seems to be mostly catering to senior citizens.
Overall, an ok hotel which could be much better.

Room Tip: Do not take the rooms at the end of a hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review and your comments regarding the hotel itself. We are excited to be planning renovations throughout the hotel which will address some of your concerns. Thank you also for your comments regarding our front desk staff; we use all such comments to help with our continuous training procedures.

All the best, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boswell, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had the opportunity to spend four nights at the Heritage Hotel in Southbury, CT. What a lovely place. The rooms were clean and the beds were great. Slept like a baby!! The pool area was good and convenient to all. Maybe a bit too convenient...people could walk in from the road and swim there. The golf course was good, but would have liked to have played the 18 hole next door.
All in all I would definently stay there again because the surrounding towns are a joy to visit!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, if indeed the beds were like the one we had. Heard no outside noises. Terrif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1ablyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding the Heritage. We love our pool area and I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the golf course! Our health club does have members from the community who join during the summer and get use of the pool too. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

All the best, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I had a wonderful stay at Heritage Hotel. My girlfriend and I got engaged at the hotel's beautiful stone garden. The surprise proposal ceremony could not have happened without generous support from the Hotel's catering director Jennifer Giuliano and many other staffs. Even at a very short notice, they put together a perfect setup for our private engagement ceremony. If you are hoping to have a memorable party, small or big, they are very careful and reliable.

Even beyond our unforgettable moments, we truly enjoyed our stay at the hotel, because the staffs were welcoming, the guests were very friendly. The level of maintenance at the hotel was definitely by far the best among the ones I have been to in rural areas.

With amazing staffs, rich facilities and well-preserved rooms, Heritage hotel has become one of best hotels I have been to and would definitely recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidJYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Congratulations to you and your fiancée! We are so happy to have been a part of such a special day for you both. Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel and the staff; I will pass on your compliments. And please let us know when you’re planning your big day. We can help with everything from room nights to an entire wedding weekend getaway! Congratulations again to both of you!


All the best, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have had a couple family functions at The Heritage and this weekend we had an engagement party for our friends. As usual the staff was professional and courteous and the food was to die for. The staff was stellar!.Richter and his staff are magicians when it comes to food prep. Can't wait to have another function there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review and congratulations to your friends on their engagement! I’m glad your event was a success – I will pass on your compliments to Richter and the rest of the team. We hope to see you again very soon!

All the best, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I was very happy with the layout and floor plan, everything put a smile on my families face when we attended a black/ white Tie event. Banquet staff was very nice and even went above to keep the guests happy Richter, Ilianis, Sara, and Emily were ecstatic. Thank you for the wonderful experience fabulous job on everything.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlea70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R, General Manager at Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Our banquet staff works hard to ensure that every special occasion is as much of a success as yours was! We will pass along your compliments to the staff. Please think of us for your next event!

All the best, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbury
3.4 mi away
Wyndham Southbury
Wyndham Southbury
#2 of 2 in Southbury
289 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#1 of 15 in Danbury
758 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
89 reviews
19.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
10.4 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel

Property: Heritage Hotel
Address: 522 Heritage Rd, Southbury, CT 06488-3866
Region: United States > Connecticut > Southbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Heritage! Each of our hotel's 163 spacious guest rooms and suites at The Heritage Hotel is freshly decorated to reflect a timeless New England Style, many with views of the Pomperaug River and golf course. Our love of hospitality is easy to see and amenities such as Sealy® pillow-top mattresses, New England® coffee in your room and an attentive staff demonstrate our passion for every facet of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Southbury
Heritage Resort Southbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing