We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - just lovely”
Review of Delamar Southport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delamar Southport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It was our anniversary 39th to be exact. We had bid on this hotel at a fundraiser for the Leukemia and Lymphoma society and obtained it. We had no idea what the hotel was like, looked like, etc. and we decided to use it for our anniversary. We are not sorry we did. We were so pleasantly surprised and happy with our choice once we saw it and settled in. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We loved the older style and furnishings, elegant but still cozy, roomy as well. Huge bathroom. There is only one thing we noticed and were surprised that the bath tub did not have anything to hold on to, like a rail. Still, everything just perfect. Loved it.

Room Tip: Did not use swimming pool or spa, so can't comment, did not even look for it as we only had one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Congratulations on your Wedding Anniversary.
We are delighted to hear that you choose to celebrate it at the Delamar Southport and had an enjoyable stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.
Kinds Regards Mariya Sytnyk, Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

It's only two blocks from the Post Road in Southport CT. So it's convenient but if you don't know it's there you aren't going to "happen upon it". That's really too bad because it is really worth finding! The rooms are very spacious and beautifully appointed. They have an old world charm but appear to be brand spanking new! Bed, bath and appointments are all top notch. The food at the adjoining restaurant is also superb. This place rates with the best hotels I've stayed at in NY, Boston and San Francisco. If you have any reason whatsoever to be in southern CT this is the place I would stay. I think they need to do a better job of advertising because I live close by in Westport and I didn't even know they existed!

I had a business meeting here and stayed over on a lark and it was well worth it! The surrounding areas make this a fun NYC weekend getaway destination. Superb beaches, newly improved great dining and shopping in Fairfield and Westport could make this a perfect summer mini-vacation. No, I don't work for the local chamber of commerce. But I was just so impressed with this hotel, I want to see it get the business it deserves. Stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking a time to share your experience at the Delamar Southport. We are glad that you got to enjoy the hotel as well as local area that has so much to offer.
Thank you again for your stay and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Delamar for a return visit.
Regards,
Mariya Sytnyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Delamar Southport and its sister property Delamar Greenwich Harbor are in a league of their own. Notwithstanding that in the Greenwich-Stamford area there are alternatives in the name brand hotel sector - Hilton, Hyatt, Marriott - once you travel east of Stamford - technically "north" on I-95 or the Merritt Parkway (CT 15) - you will not find another luxury hotel until you are well on to the CT shoreline. There are the name brands in New Haven, but luxury and service of the Delamar-style is not available until you are well east of Southport and are reaching the seashore resort properties on Eastern CT and RI.
The Delamar Southport's restaurant, Artisan, is a gourmet delight worth visiting even if you're not spending the night as a hotel guest. The service is 2nd to none, the food and drink are most enjoyable and the ambiance is spectacular; especially on the patio bar and lounge on a beautiful spring-summer-autumn day. (Sorry, it's most closed during the winter months.)
The hotel is a convenient on/off of I-95 and is a short walk to the Southport Metro-North railroad station. The off-peak hours train trip to NYC midtown (Grand Central Terminal) is 1h-15m. The peak train ride is about one hour. Even if you're conducting business in Stamford, it's worth staying at the Delamar Southport as that is only a 15-20 minute train ride. (Of course Delamar Greenwich Harbor would work for that too.)
The hotel is also located within 1-2 mile radius of several other dining options in Westport and Fairfield, ranging from diners, pizza and pubs to other gourmet restaurants.
There is not one negative thing that I can say about this property.
This is a "Can't Miss" !

Room Tip: You can't go wrong regardless of your choice of room. The Deluxe King is great value. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review of the Delamar Southport. We are delighted you enjoy either of the Delamar hotels as well as Artisan restaurant and look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit. Warm Regards, Mariya Sytnyk Property Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just returned from a two-night stay at the Delamar Southport. I found the staff to be extremely helpful, friendly, and accommodating. My room was spacious and clean as a whistle, bright and warm, and tastefully decorated. The spa facility, while somewhat modest, offered what I wanted. The complimentary breakfast offered a generous selection. I had room service the first evening and the next day lunch in the Artisan Restaurant. Both meals were exquisite.

While my room faced I-95, there was no noise whatsoever and I slept peacefully in the comfort of the very nice bedding. Bathroom was large and spotless.

I will return to this hotel and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit. Warmest Regards, Mariya Sytnyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Delamar has an excellent location in the center of Southport. Any easy jaunt into New York on the train, Southport is away from the hustle and bustle of the City. Easily the best hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We glad to hear that you got to enjoy the hotel.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Delamar for a return visit.
Regards,
Mariya Sytnyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

For over 12 years, I have traveled frequently to this area of Connecticut for business.
The Delamar is by far the best "only" place to stay.
The rooms are extremely comfortable, the Artisan Restaurant serves up great food, service
and hospitality are top rate.
Highly recommend this location.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Delamar Southport. We are glad that you got to enjoy the hotel.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Delamar for a return visit.
Regards,
Mariya Sytnyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Spent 2 nights here for graduation. Such a charming hotel, beautifully appointed rooms. The tavern/restaurant is great; love the outdoor patio area. Breakfast buffet is plentiful and food was good (not great - but it is free!). Service was excellent. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (past check in time), but they were very responsive and apologetic. Kind of sad that our graduate will no longer be in the area, we have enjoyed coming here to visit. The Greenwich property is amazing too.

Room Tip: We have stated in superior room and this time the suite- loved both. I don't think there is a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for such a nice review of Delamar Southport. Congratulations to your Graduate. We are pleased that you enjoyed your hotel accommodation as well as amenities hotel has to offer. We hope for an opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit. Warmest Regards, Mariya Sytnyk Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
19.4 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
1.1 mi away
The Westport Inn
The Westport Inn
#1 of 1 in Westport
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,406 reviews
16.9 mi away
The J House Greenwich
The J House Greenwich
#2 of 3 in Greenwich
331 reviews
22.1 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delamar Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delamar Southport

Address: 275 Old Post Rd, Southport, CT 06890-1305
Region: United States > Connecticut > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: £203 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delamar Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the charming New England seaside village of Southport, CT, Delamar Southport Hotel offers rooms and suites that are at once elegant, warm, and welcoming. Suites at the Delamar include fireplaces, beautifully outfitted kitchens, and living room sitting areas. The hotel's restaurant, Artisan, offers both Tavern fare in the lively bar area, and a fine dining room - both featuring exquisite farm-to-table seasonal menus. The hotel's Spa is a private suite complete with a steam shower, adjacent to the fitness center with ample courtyard views. Just steps from the Southport Train Station, and an hour outside of New York City, Delamar Southport is convenient and accessible, yet feels like a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Delamar Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delamar Southport Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing