We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business in Sourhport”
Review of Delamar Southport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delamar Southport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed at Delamar for one night. The location near the freeway worked great and the accommodations did not feel like a roadside hotel. Our deluxe double was spacious & comfortable. I would return to the Delamar if I was in that area.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smaggitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your great feedback! We are very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at the Delamar in Southport. We hope to have your company again in the future!
Kind Regards, Mariya Sytnyk Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Pros: Rooms are beautifully maintained and very generous in size. Excellent staff at the front desk, housekeeping. Great spot outside to have breakfast, easy to walk into Southport to local business and down to the Harbor.

Cons: Called Artisan Restaurant re: room service hours, takeout available? They didn't seem to know the answers. Also only room service in the evening, so went across the street to the Gray Goose to get takeout lunch.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jennifer_S2013844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for giving us feedback on your stay. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Delamar in Southport. My apologize that room service was not up to your expectations. We will be honored to have you stay with us again next time your travel plans bring you to this area..
Best Regards, Mariya Sytnyk Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very pleasant hotel. Recommend that anyone who needs to be in the area consider it. The staff was friendly and helpful and the food was good. They gave us a big room either because we were three or referred by a friend of the owner, but the latter was not apparent and the lack of recognition in this regard was a little disappointing because it was the referral that won the hotel the business. Also, we had a very decent dinner at an Indian restaurant effectively around the corner.

My only knocks are: it is next to the highway (ask for a room on the courtyard side - an easy fix); there is not any surrounding town infrastructure (retail/activities) for wandering around; the immediate neighborhood is not particularly attractive (cheap land acquisition cost goes a long way to toward profitability); and when I wanted to take a bottle of wine we had outside to drink it, I was "asked" to take out only glasses and refill them by returning to the room, which was silly enough that we didn't bother opening the bottle.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDKDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback, my apologies for things not being up to par on your first stay at the Delamar in Southport. If you plan on returning to our location, please make any requests you may have while making your reservation and we will do our best to honor them. We hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely ,Mariya Sytnyk Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stumbled upon this hotel based on the recommendation of a colleague in nearby Westport. After looking at the photographs online, we went ahead and made reservations -- and are certainly glad we did. The hotel is quite beautiful, has very comfortable and luxurious furnishings and is located in an ideal location. We found the staff to be very helpful. The restaurant was very good (and the bartender poured a solid bourbon and ginger-ale). The Delamar Southport is a far better way to spend a night (or more) away from home than the traditional chain hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlBAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We are very happy to hear that our hotel was up to your expectations. Please keep us in mind on your next trip to Connecticut and we will be delighted to have you again. Warm Regards, Mariya Sytnyk Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It was our anniversary 39th to be exact. We had bid on this hotel at a fundraiser for the Leukemia and Lymphoma society and obtained it. We had no idea what the hotel was like, looked like, etc. and we decided to use it for our anniversary. We are not sorry we did. We were so pleasantly surprised and happy with our choice once we saw it and settled in. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We loved the older style and furnishings, elegant but still cozy, roomy as well. Huge bathroom. There is only one thing we noticed and were surprised that the bath tub did not have anything to hold on to, like a rail. Still, everything just perfect. Loved it.

Room Tip: Did not use swimming pool or spa, so can't comment, did not even look for it as we only had one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Congratulations on your Wedding Anniversary.
We are delighted to hear that you choose to celebrate it at the Delamar Southport and had an enjoyable stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.
Kinds Regards Mariya Sytnyk, Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It's only two blocks from the Post Road in Southport CT. So it's convenient but if you don't know it's there you aren't going to "happen upon it". That's really too bad because it is really worth finding! The rooms are very spacious and beautifully appointed. They have an old world charm but appear to be brand spanking new! Bed, bath and appointments are all top notch. The food at the adjoining restaurant is also superb. This place rates with the best hotels I've stayed at in NY, Boston and San Francisco. If you have any reason whatsoever to be in southern CT this is the place I would stay. I think they need to do a better job of advertising because I live close by in Westport and I didn't even know they existed!

I had a business meeting here and stayed over on a lark and it was well worth it! The surrounding areas make this a fun NYC weekend getaway destination. Superb beaches, newly improved great dining and shopping in Fairfield and Westport could make this a perfect summer mini-vacation. No, I don't work for the local chamber of commerce. But I was just so impressed with this hotel, I want to see it get the business it deserves. Stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking a time to share your experience at the Delamar Southport. We are glad that you got to enjoy the hotel as well as local area that has so much to offer.
Thank you again for your stay and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Delamar for a return visit.
Regards,
Mariya Sytnyk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Delamar Southport and its sister property Delamar Greenwich Harbor are in a league of their own. Notwithstanding that in the Greenwich-Stamford area there are alternatives in the name brand hotel sector - Hilton, Hyatt, Marriott - once you travel east of Stamford - technically "north" on I-95 or the Merritt Parkway (CT 15) - you will not find another luxury hotel until you are well on to the CT shoreline. There are the name brands in New Haven, but luxury and service of the Delamar-style is not available until you are well east of Southport and are reaching the seashore resort properties on Eastern CT and RI.
The Delamar Southport's restaurant, Artisan, is a gourmet delight worth visiting even if you're not spending the night as a hotel guest. The service is 2nd to none, the food and drink are most enjoyable and the ambiance is spectacular; especially on the patio bar and lounge on a beautiful spring-summer-autumn day. (Sorry, it's most closed during the winter months.)
The hotel is a convenient on/off of I-95 and is a short walk to the Southport Metro-North railroad station. The off-peak hours train trip to NYC midtown (Grand Central Terminal) is 1h-15m. The peak train ride is about one hour. Even if you're conducting business in Stamford, it's worth staying at the Delamar Southport as that is only a 15-20 minute train ride. (Of course Delamar Greenwich Harbor would work for that too.)
The hotel is also located within 1-2 mile radius of several other dining options in Westport and Fairfield, ranging from diners, pizza and pubs to other gourmet restaurants.
There is not one negative thing that I can say about this property.
This is a "Can't Miss" !

Room Tip: You can't go wrong regardless of your choice of room. The Deluxe King is great value. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariya S, General Manager at Delamar Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review of the Delamar Southport. We are delighted you enjoy either of the Delamar hotels as well as Artisan restaurant and look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit. Warm Regards, Mariya Sytnyk Property Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
19.4 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
1.1 mi away
The Westport Inn
The Westport Inn
#1 of 1 in Westport
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
7.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Norwalk
4.6 mi away
Hotel Hi-Ho
Hotel Hi-Ho
#2 of 3 in Fairfield
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delamar Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delamar Southport

Address: 275 Old Post Rd, Southport, CT 06890-1305
Region: United States > Connecticut > Southport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: £183 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delamar Southport 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the charming New England seaside village of Southport, CT, Delamar Southport Hotel offers rooms and suites that are at once elegant, warm, and welcoming. Suites at the Delamar include fireplaces, beautifully outfitted kitchens, and living room sitting areas. The hotel's restaurant, Artisan, offers both Tavern fare in the lively bar area, and a fine dining room - both featuring exquisite farm-to-table seasonal menus. The hotel's Spa is a private suite complete with a steam shower, adjacent to the fitness center with ample courtyard views. Just steps from the Southport Train Station, and an hour outside of New York City, Delamar Southport is convenient and accessible, yet feels like a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Delamar Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delamar Southport Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing