We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe the menu on the website....”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
BUtterfield 8 Restauant & Lounge
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Broad and Spring Street
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
160 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Don't believe the menu on the website....”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This restaurant was once a great place to drink AND eat but sadly, unlike the website menu which teases you with Atlantic Salmon, Pan Roasted Chicken and Tuna, the best that have to offer on the dinner menu is sandwiches, burgers and salads. Bottom line, it's nothing more than pub food and poor pub food at that. Skip the starters - meager and tasteless. The "entrees" we ordered took 45 minutes to arrive at our table. To their credit, they did provide a free round of drinks to the 5 of us but all in all this was an unexpectedly unsatisfying experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJMADM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Varied menu, good bar”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This lounge/restaurant offers something for everyone. We had a large group of family and friends, many of them senior citizens. We were seated in the back where it was relatively quiet. Waitress was terrific.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"meat market"”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is the it place for happy hour and hangout place. I call it a meat market because it's also where meeting people happen.

Their food is not bad. Their atmosphere is fun and young. Most bartenders know what they're doing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ct79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“comedy club upstairs”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

They have a good comedy club upstairs and a hopping bar downstairs for young people on the weekends. I wouldn't go there to eat though - food is so-so.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice place to eat or imbibe on Bedford Street.”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Have been here many times. It is nice in the summer time because you can eat outside. Food is good, location is good and we have never had a bad meal or a bad time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JanineOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BUtterfield 8 Restauant & Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing