We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be young”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
BUtterfield 8 Restauant & Lounge
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Broad and Spring Street
Bronx, New York
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“To be young”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The amount of stars I gave this place is purely because my taste have refined too much more elegant places.... That being said... If you're looking for a bar to hang out in with good drinks great atmosphere and very good food this is the place to go.... The crowd may be on the underside more of a college crowd but it's still a fun place to stop and have a beer...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“I really wanted to give this place 4-stars, but gave 3-stars.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The food is way, way too inconsistent. One day I have great braised beef ravioli, then the next time, they screw up chicken. Maybe the real chef has a few off days. Their menu is decent, and I have had many good meals here, but again- I have had a few poor meals here that has prevented me from going back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bush242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Love going to happy hour here. Food is tasty, the prices are reasonable, and the bar is stocked with plenty of beers and drinks.

It's a nice change from the local places around. Normal prices are a bit high for my taste.

Most times the bar staff is displeased that I am there for happy hour only, even though I tip well when they do their job.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scorro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Butterfield Restaurant and Bar”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Unless you are a 20-something person looking for the opposite gender, STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE, esp. at night. I have seen bouncers on the sidewalk, and police cars making regular visits. It is OK for lunch, I enjoyed the times I went there during the day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeL157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food gone downhill”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

As another reviewer stated, this used to be a great place to eat but the food has gone way downhill. The menu is now pub type food and takes a long time to be served. I ordered the fried calamari because it used to be one of my favorites here, but what came out was clearly straight from a freezer bag. Beer on tap is plentiful and the late night crowd is good, but if you're looking for good food, don't go there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank regana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BUtterfield 8 Restauant & Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing