We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Stamford
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply avoid”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I travelled there at thanksgiv wkend with my husband .. had a very painful experience:

1. I requested for a microwave when booking - never got it - there was a young Indian woman who promised me everytime to get it to my room - she was the greatest lier I have ever seen in my life
(this is not any sort of racist comment..but being an Indian myself, I was expecting better & responsible behavior from this lady)

2. None of the food vending machines in this hotel worked...it was very rainy that day & even for small snacks, we had run to the nearest gas station in the torrential rain

3. The TV remote didn't have any battery (although they provided one when asked for..that the only thing we thankfully got from them)

4. Due to consistent bad service, we checked out earlier than what we booked..when we asked for a refund, there was again this Indian woman who kept on delaying on one pretext or the other...asked us to come at 10am to her office when she herself was not there..the person who was there instead told us that he cannot help us unless she returns
Now is that what you call a "responsible behavior"?

Overall, that was one of the worst exp ever..I have been to similar priced hotels in many places, but this one was unbearable (not to speak of their "continental breakfast" that has only buns/cereals/apple juice)

Avoid this hotel at any cost ..you will get better service (& behavior) at other similar priced hotels

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMALSAD, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Stamford, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We are terribly sorry for your inconvenience and have spoken to our staff to find out where the "communication" problem occured. We do not have microwaves and refrigerators in every room, but ALWAYS send one to a room upon request. We are not sure why this was a problem. We sent our maintenance staff to check all vending machines and found they are all in working condition. We wish you would have come to the desk and we would've assisted youin getting the snacks from the machines. Our TV remotes run on batteries and do run out at times. Thank you for letting us know and we are glad we were able to help you with that issue. As far as our service went, we would not refund your stay because we did not know about the vending machine issue and could not help you unless you brought it to our attention. We are sorry for that. We did correct the problem with the remote. We are glad we were able to help. As far as the microwave, I cannot understand what the actual complaint was since we offered it to you. Did you not receive it? Was it broken? I would like to know because I would then speak to my staff. We always treat our guests very well and look forward to their return visits. We are again, sorry that you felt this was a bad stay for you. We do wish you would contact us and let us know how we can improve your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    14
    12
    35
See reviews for
19
17
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We'd like to rate this motel well but just cannot do it. The front desk ladies were very nice, but we knew it was dicey when we saw the front desk--it had a huge plastic shield with only a hole in the bottom to put your money through. The price is cheap, because that is what you are paying for. While it looks OK on the outside, and the rooms were not that bad inside, here are the scary parts of our stay: Druggie/prostitute looking people roaming around the complex; carpeting in room was horribly dirty; we did not even want to guess what the stains were on the walls (but, we have an idea); and the top of the curtains in room were falling down. If the management would re-do this motel, clean the walls, fix the curtains, shampoo the carpeting, and give it a good paint job, it could be a decent place. The neighborhood is OK, much better than a few miles south of there. It's right off the main road, so it is convenient. We checked out early the next morning. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CaTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMALSAD, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Stamford, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear CaTravel7,

Thank you for taking the time for sharing a review about our hotel. I apologize for the negative experience you had with the room cleanliness. Please know that these issues have been addressed with our housekeeping staff. These corrective measures should help improve the overall experience at our hotel.


Regards,
Vipul-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Stamford, CT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stamford hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Arrived here after not being able to find an open hotel for 35 miles or more. Drove up really, really late. There were guys who looked like coke addicts out walking around. Got into the room and there were people up walking around above the room...at 3a. The room and pillows smelled like stale cigarettes. The walls and ceilings had spider webs and dirt that made you feel like you had just entered the Twilight Zone. If you look up the word seedy in the dictionary, this motel's photo would be next to it.
The carpet and furniture looked like they were pulled from a Salvation Army. It's clear this dump is meant for drug addicts and the like. Deplorable!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank septknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMALSAD, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Stamford, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear septknows,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review about our hotel. There is never an excuse for providing anything less than a perfect stay. All claims against this property will be further investigated and corrected where necessary.


Thanks again for bringing this matter to our attention.

Sincerely,
Vipul-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Stamford, CT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This place is absolutely awful. The minute that you walk in the lobby and see the desk person behind a thick sheet of glass, you quickly realize that this place is just sleazy. The other guests that I saw looked like very questionable characters, and once I was inside the room, I looked around, and immediately checked out. The place looks like the type of place that you would bring a prostitute or meet your drug dealer. The bathroom mirror was broken, and the room decor hasn't changed since 1975. The unidentifiable odor to the room was unbearable. The first thing that my wife said was "Do you think the car will be here in the morning?" Just go someplace else. This place should be torn down.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MarkFDM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMALSAD, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Stamford, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear MarkFDM3,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share a review about our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Please know that our property was renovated in 2009. We added new carpets, replaced windows, new bathroom floors, tub surrounds, and vanities. We added new stucco to the exterior and also added a new breakfast area. I am sorry you weren't able to find what you were looking for.

Sincerely,
Vipul-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Stamford, CT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

The Room Was very Nice When i check inn The lady work at front Desk is very Smilay .Room IS very comfort with Free Wifi Connection You can not Find better Deal With this Price in Stamford Area. Morning Break Fast Include This Price.Room is Very Clean. We definate RecommendeThis Place To Stay.wonder ful stay with very Friendly Staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nikunjpatel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMALSAD, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Stamford, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear ninkunjpatel27,

Thank you for sharing a review about our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inns located across the Country.


Sincerely,
Vipul-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Stamford, CT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

This hotel does not look like the picture on this website. I stopped at this place on my way to Boston from Washington with my family. The staff seems to have no concept of customer service, as at the check in the manager refused to show me the room and also refused to provide me any extra sheet/blanket as he stated he was ALONE at the hotel at night. I only stopped at this place as my children were very edgy after a long drive otherwise I would have never dared to come here. I was looking forward to the breakfast but it turned out to be extremely poor with no eggs (the people who came in early finished these off) and only cheap diet milk. NEVER EVER STAY THERE!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank famalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMALSAD, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Stamford, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear famalik,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review about our hotel. I apologize for the negative experience you had with our continental breakfast. All claims against this property will be further investigated and are taken seriously. We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future.


Sincerely,
Vipul-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Stamford, CT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

i travel frequently for business, and i never before have written a negative review of a motel. but this place bears NO resemblance to the web-site page. NO wifi; service desk does NOT answer phone; desk clerk does not speak english w. any fluency (i wanted a smoking room; clerk kept saying 'jacuzzi' (???); tv does NOT respond to remote (tried 2 remotes...) after 6 'clicks' (???); 1/2" GAP at bottom of door...cold air and snow blew in all night; LOUD restaurant/music on premises; only one ice machine on premises; heat DOES work well (thank goodness...see 'gap' above);

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank rjkromeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMALSAD, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Stamford, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
rjkromeney,

Thank you for sharing a review about our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered with the TV remote not working and the gap under the door. We are investigating these claims further and taking appropriate action.



Sincerely,
Vipul-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Stamford, CT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stamford hotels
1.0 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#8 of 14 in Stamford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stamford / New York City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Stamford

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Stamford
Address: 1209 E Main St, Stamford, CT 06902-4313
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Stamford 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn is conveniently located off of I-95N Exit 9, in the beautiful shoreline city of Stamford, Connecticut. Our hotel is within minutes of the area's most popular attractions including Stamford Town Center Mall, Landmark Square Cinema, Lockwood Mansion, Island Beach, Bartlett Aboretum, University of Connecticut Stamford, Dolce Convention Center, and Stamford Museum and Nature Center. Enjoy a delicious meal at our on-site restaurant "Exit 9 Cafe" or visit one of the restaurants within a mile of our hotel including Subway, Smokey Joe's BBQ, Brasitas Restaurant, Villa Italia Ristorante, and Giovanni's Serious Steak House. Our 24-hour staff is here to make our pet friendly hotel your home away from home. Guests are treated to free wireless high-speed Internet access, free daily continental breakfast, free local calls, free parking, use of our on-site business center, Rooms feature a radio, desk with lamp, alarm clock, satellite/cable TV, in-room safe, and wake-up service. At Americas Best Value Inn Stamford, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Stamford Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing