We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Stamford”
Review of Hotel Zero Degrees

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zero Degrees
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in Stamford”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our second visit to the hotel and we had a terrific experience. Stayed one night and used our AAA discount to get a great price on a Queen room and were upgraded to a King room upon check in which was most appreciated. The staff were all very professional and helpful from the front desk to the maid service. One great amenity is the shuttle service. The driver dropped me at the train station and then picked me up later that night. The shuttle runs until 11pm! The free breakfast was more than adequate and there are complimentary tea and coffee all day long. Perfect way to enjoy NYC and not pay NYC hotel prices. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoastalSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Gross, General Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear CoastalSailor,

We appreciate you taking the time to post this wonderful review and for recognizing the professionalism of both our front desk and housekeeping staff. I am glad the shuttle service was able to provide you with adequate transportation during your stay. Our close proximity to the train station does make Hotel Zero Degrees a great way to enjoy NYC and avoid NYC hotel prices. Hopefully your next visit to the city brings you back for a third visit. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Kevin Gross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    209
    70
    24
    17
See reviews for
102
227
61
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here for one night last week when we were out in downtown Stamford and it was a nice surprise. Free parking garage was a kinda small, but free, and we found a spot. We got an upgrade to a room with a couch and nice walk in shower, very clean and modern. The staff was polite and helped us find a restaurant, and even dropped us off and picked us up. That night it did get a little noisy on our floor so we called the desk and the night manager came up and talked to them and then quieted down. The fitness area looked great ( we didnt work out) and breakfast was fantastic. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHart45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Gross, General Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear JHart45,

Thank you for taking a moment to post this excellent review. I am glad to hear our staff was so accommodating and our shuttle service was of assistance. I apologize for the disturbance caused by the noisy guests, but I am very pleased our overnight staff handled it well. Hopefully you have opportunity to use the fitness center during your next visit, we look forward to welcoming you back whenever it may be.

Regards,
Kevin Gross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Came to the Stamford area during the holidays with my girlfriend to visit some family in New York. Chose Hotel Zero because it was affordable and so close to the city. The hotel offers a free shuttle, really came in handy taking us to and from the train station. The breakfast in the morning is perfect and was also free. The staff was very knowledgeable in what was in and around the Stamford area. Everyone there made us feel right at home during the holiday season, will be back next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikieray78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Gross, General Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear mikieray78,

Thank you for taking the time following your holiday visit to post this great review. We are thrilled you and your girlfriend enjoyed the hotel, and our staff made you feel right at home. Our close proximity to the train station does make us a very affordable option when visiting New York City. Glad to hear the shuttle came in handy, and the breakfast was a perfect start to the day. We hope your next visit to New York City includes a visit to Hotel Zero Degrees.

Regards,
Kevin Gross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed towards the end of the holidays with my boyfriend for a quick getaway. We were immediately greeted by a young girl at the front desk (Alisa?) who was very pleasant and sweet in welcoming us to the hotel. At one point we couldn't figure out how to work the heating in the room and when we called down to the front desk for help, they were very understanding and sent up the maintenance guy (Ivan) to help us. Our expectations were exceed by the staff at this hotel. It's warm, welcoming and the vast array of complimentary amenities make this one of the best hotels in Stamford.

I look forward to coming back and will definitely recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor - the city views are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Gross, General Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Sarah S,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I was very pleased, not only to read the title of your review, but also to hear that Alyssa and Ivan had such a positive impact on your stay. I will be sure to share this review with the both of them and congratulate them on a job well done. Thank you again for the great review, we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to the friendliest hotel in Stamford.

Regards,
Kevin Gross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel to stay in but bad tv movie service had a very bad experience on that end movie keeped going out and sometimes screen will just go black and not play a damn thing i called front desk 2 times nobody came then called 2 more times they fixed it for a little than again same things bad customer service..

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cristian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Gross, General Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Cristian V,

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback following your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that you experienced so many issues with our Moviebeam system. We do offer a large number of complimentary in-room movies, which is normally grounds for great feedback from our guest. After reaching out to a technician at Moviebeam, I was informed they were indeed experiencing some issues during the inclement weather last week. I would like to also apologize if you felt our staff neglected your issues in any way. I will be sure to follow up with all staff members that were on duty that night to ensure proper handling of any Moviebeam issues moving forward. Should you wish to discuss your stay with us any further, please feel free to reach out to me directly.

Regards,
Kevin Gross
General Manager
203-363-7900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Zero Degrees for a family reunion at Christmas. I loved it! The staff was nice to work with, our room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was good! The big surprise was the "fitness room"! Usually, when we stay at a hotel, there is a small fitness room with one elliptical if we are lucky! Imagine our surprise when the elevator opened to an entire YMCA for us to use! There were rows of machines, free weights, fitness and medicine balls--anything you could possibly want! My husband enjoyed swimming in the pool, and, if he had had time, he could have been part of a basketball game! We are already looking forward to next Christmas when the family gets together again in Stamford! I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiergirlBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Gross, General Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear skiergirlBuffalo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us over the holidays. I am glad you enjoyed the fitness center at the YMCA. It is quite an advantage for our guest to have access to such a large facility located directly next to the hotel. The number of fitness equipment does ensure there is no wait times for guests trying to get in a quick workout before of after work. Thank you again for the great review, we look forward to welcoming you back for next year's family reunion.

Regards,
Kevin Gross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We needed a room in the area last minute so booked this on Priceline Express deals for an excellent rate. When the name of the hotel was revealed, my girlfriend and I kind of rolled our eyes and joked that we hoped the zero degrees didn't refer to the temperature of the room. Seeing that the hotel was in downtown Stamford, I wondered what the parking situation was, so I looked on the hotel's website but no parking info was listed, so I called. Turns out the parking is free and is located in a garage underneath the hotel.

We got room 504, which as others have noted is directly across from the elevator. Yes, the sounds of the elevator door closing and any conversations people are having while waiting for the elevator can be easily heard in the room. We weren't bothered by this so much since having booked this through Priceline for so cheap we knew we weren't going to get one of the best rooms in the hotel. Also, the noise from the hallway wasn't nearly as bad as the noise coming from a bar blasting loud music near the hotel. Both the bar noise and the hallway noise could have been easily mitigated by having a fan setting on the ac/heat unit, but there was none. Additionally, the ac/heat was located literally next to the bed and would kick on every ten minutes or so blasting out either very hot or very cold air. All of this made it hard for us to fall asleep, but we eventually did thankfully. I would highly encourage the management to look into improving their ac/heat situation, making it sure it includes a fan setting to drown out noise and maybe not having it right next to the bed!

Otherwise, we really liked the hotel. Everything was sparkling clean and the bed was very comfortable. The decor was modern and unique, and we liked that we were supporting a downtown hotel rather than something in some sprawling suburb. Also, as others have noted, customer service was excellent, especially the guy (sorry, didn't get his name) at breakfast in the morning who made more scrambled eggs just for us without us even asking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spence1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Gross, General Manager at Hotel Zero Degrees, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Spence1980,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you were able to get a great rate, and found our rooms to be sparkling clean and our beds so comfortable. Thank you also for your kinds words regarding our staff. I will be share this review with Elio, our breakfast attendant, who did his very best ensure your breakfast was satisfactory. I would like to apologize for the difficulties you experienced with the AC unit. It seems noise the unit generated and its proximity to your bed really poorly impacted your stay. I will surely have our maintenance team look into that unit in particular, as well as talk to our facilities director about possible upgrades for the coming year. We look forward to welcoming you back, and ensuring your next stay with us is perfect.

Happy Holidays
Kevin Gross
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.4 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#4 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Stamford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero Degrees

Property: Hotel Zero Degrees
Address: 909 Washington Blvd, Stamford, CT 06901-2916
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zero Degrees 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zero Degrees, located in Downtown Stamford CT, is a boutique hotel where style and comfort collide to form the perfect blend of sophistication and revitalization. The perfect destination conveniently located near the business community, yet steps away from the best dining and entertainment in Stamford ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zero Degrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing