We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“comfortable stay”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

New hotel with huge rooms. The hotel shares parking garage with the Stamford Hotel. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood, close to a shopping center. We were in Stamford for an overnight stay while visiting Boston and New York City.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dtravelingkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    96
    27
    18
    4
See reviews for
70
43
19
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Quick one night stay only. Chosen because hotel is 25 mins from HPN Airport (White Plains, NY.)
Room was VERY CLEAN -LOOKED BRAND NEW! 2 Queen Beds -comfy & clean. Typical HIE Breakfast. Hotel staff was very nice.
Honestly, room was FREE rewards night from HIE. Did not pay for ANYTHING -free parking -free drink at bar (my choice), free breakfast. . . . But I would come back and stay. Yes, I am picky -and this place was nice.

Connected to another hotel. Hotel shares parking garage/fitness/bar/etc. But not a long walk. No big deal to me.
Recommend visit to "Nonna's Brick Oven Pizzeria' down the street (by Starbucks.) Good people and pizza.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_Picky_Ricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

A quiet, spacious room with a comfortable bed, little "extras" like labeling the pillows (not kidding! -- "soft" and "firm") and bathroom lights that start comfortably dim and brighten slowly so as to be easy on the eyes in the middle of the night...what's not to like?

Sure, it's a bit of a walk from the parking garage to the front desk, but the hallway is air-conditioned (and, I'm assuming, heated in the winter). It's an easy walk, though. We pushed a baggage cart all the way from our car to the 4th floor of the hotel, and it was a cinch. The shared space with the other hotel had a "pardon our dust" feel, but we didn't mind. And although I **hate** paying for parking when I'm already paying considerable fees for sleeping, it's...whatever. If you don't want to pay for parking, stay someplace where it's free. Problem solved.

We rather liked the remodeled space, and did not mind, as another reviewer did, the "darker" decor in the hallway. I'd call it understated, myself. Everyone has an opinion, right? Anyway, that was not even close to being something significant enough to complain about.

The lobby was breezy and full of natural light, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had lunch at Remo's Italian Brick Oven in downtown Stamford -- don't miss it! Use your GPS and avail yourself of this pretty town. There's plenty to see.

Our room had a sofa, microwave, fridge and flat-screen television. Iron, ironing board and safe. It was a pleasant stay, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This HIE was recently opened. True, it is new and was clean, but there was something about the hotel that was unsettling. The hallway decor was dark, poorly lit and institutional feeling. Somehow the rooms/hallway seem like they were done on the cheap. The parking (although valet is available) is located next door at another hotel. It did not feel safe. One had to walk quite a distance through the other hotel lobby (huge) to get to the back internal entrance of the HIE. Ridiculous. In the room, is a list of how you should protect yourself. I believe it told the tale of what the city environment could hold. Although, I guess, one should thank the hotel for warning the guests. The breakfast was absolutely awful. Eggs with processed cheese. Pancake machine broken. Not sure what could fix this place, as it just opened. I would not stay again.

Room Tip: There is quite a bit of goods things happening down by the marina. Restaurants, etc. We would defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklynborn1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmitRangi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear brooklynborn1960,

We appreciate your feedback & deep insight on hotel amenities. Few things are out of our control, such as parking lot being far due to the size of building or processed food in breakfast or Safety tips by bedside, as it's all brand standard. We are proudly located in one of most safest county in the USA. At Holiday Inn Express & Suites, we are keen on delivering the best possible service all the times and are continuously evaluating ways to improve it.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back once more.

Sincerely,

Amit Rangi
General Manager
Tel: (203) 978-5600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed in a 2 queen bedroom, and the room was nice. The hotel had a modern decor, and everything was as expected. We had to pay 12 for parking which I found a little high. The pool and fitness center are shared with another hotel (which is connected to the HI Express) which was less than ideal. Not a bad area, good personnel, and robust breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonardsofSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmitRangi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Dear LeonardsofSherman,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you like our modern decor & Express Start Hot Breakfast. The next door hotel is our sister property & will be going to be as good as we are once renovation is completed.

Thank you for making us your preferred hotel while visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you in near future.

Warm Regards,

Amit Rangi
General Manager
Tel: (203) 978-5600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Let me first say that I work in the Hotel Industry and have for 25 years... We are usually much more critical than the average traveler...This was the best experience I have had in a long time. I have stayed at several 5 Star Hotels in the past 6 months and didn't get the service that I received here at the Holiday Inn Express Stamford. We were in town for a family Baptism and requested many rooms. We were all surprised to get 5 Star Service from check-in to check -out. Lilian and Donald at the front desk were amazing. They deserve a raise. Alway smiling and welcoming... Made us feel like family! The rooms are very large and spotless! All new rooms and beautiful and comfortable! Great TV's. The beds were extremely comfortable and we heard no noise from the hall or from room to room. Mr. Amid Rangi, the General Manager, assisted me with the arrangements and responded to emails promptly and graciously. He is running a great Hotel with first class Associates. A first class organization. Michael Moser the GM of the soon to be Crown Plaza and overseas the entire operation- I think- was also a pleasure to work with. Your company should be proud that the staffing of these Hotels is top notch! Very 5 Star!
The housekeeping and engineering staff were always helpful, friendly and courteous. The young ladies that serviced the breakfast area were also wonderful.
The location is ideal. You are walking distance from a shopping center includig a SuperMarket-Stop & Shop, Marshalls and Lord & Taylor. There is also a wonderful Diner just up the road and a great pizza parlor.
The rooms have a large fridge and a microwave so for Corporate travelers, long term stays and families it is ideal. Large work station/desk with WIFI is great for the Corporate Traveler. Love the pool, steam room & workout room. Yes, they are older and in the older building and a little tired but they are in the process of converting the other Tower and lobby to a Crown Plaza and will upgrade those facilites. Loved the Convenience.

The breakfast was more than I could have asked for... Freshly made pancakes that were yummy... Eggs, bacon or sausage, yogurt, fruit,cereals, donuts, toast, biscuts and gravy.... Great Coffee and Juice!

There are also two computers and a printer in the lobby that are available to all guests. I thought the parking was just fine. Large lot and easy access.

This is a Home Run as far and we are all concerened. We will recommend to all traveling to the area!

Thank you all for a wonderful stay!
Georgette "GG" George-Quinn

Room Tip: All rooms are new and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinnschoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear Georgette,

We are so excited to hear that you had a memorable time with us! Your gracious comments are a continuous inspiration to our team to work harder every day. It gives us great pleasure that you enjoyed your stay along with your friends.

On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to your next visit !!!

Sincerely,

Amit Rangi
General Manager
Tel: (203) 978-5600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

the good: clean and recently renovated rooms, helpful staff, free parking, takes pets, price is very reasonable, included breakfast or an IHOP is a 2 minute walk, if you prefer.
the bad: location is a bit further from the 'heart' of Stamford than some others, the building and parking are either shared with another hotel or else isn't complete, many of he common areas are in need of rework, including the pool/workout area. the parking garage is a bit of a hike from the rooms so if you have a lot of luggage, park at the front to unload at check in. also, not a lot of convenient grassy areas available for dog walking/potty.
summary: good value, decent location, clean and comfortable, with some slight downside. about average for a Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Blacksheep_JD_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We are continuously working hard to deliver the best service & quality product at a reasonable price. We appreciate your time for letting us know how pleased you were with our Holiday Inn Express part of the building. As you noticed that other part of the building is presently in renovation to become the Crowne Plaza Stamford. We hope to see you back soon.

With warm regards

Amit Rangi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#3 of 14 in Stamford
670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stamford Suites
Stamford Suites
#9 of 14 in Stamford
99 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stamford / New York City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
Address: 2703 Summer St, Stamford, CT 06905-4304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Stamfords Exquisite Hotel with a Convenient Downtown location - the Brand New Holiday Inn Express and Suites Stamford Conveniently located between Connecticuts Major Roadways, the Holiday Inn Express and suites offers 82 well appointed guest rooms and 16 spacious suites, featuring oversized comfortable bedding, deluxe furniture and 32 inch flat screen television offering cable with premium channels.Our hotel is comfortably located between I-95 and Merritt Parkway, just 40 minutes away from New York City, with easy access to several corporations, rail services (Metro North and Amtrak), and major airports making us a perfect location for business and leisure travel.Start your morning with our free Express Start hot breakfast or take it to go. Dont forget to take advantage of our 24 hour business center, or log onto to our free high-speed wireless Internet from anywhere in the hotel.Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford. Experience superior service and meticulous attention to detail, paired with plush accommodations and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing