We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality hotel, Strange Set-Up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quality hotel, Strange Set-Up”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here for a Friday and Sunday night and found the hotel to be quite modern and accommodating. Was pleased that I was able to check in around 11 am on Sunday so we could put our luggage in the room before going to the train station to travel into NYC for the day. The valet parking service was convenient for only $12 when standard garage parking cost $10, but it was a very odd setup upon arriving at the hotel. There really isn't a waiting area where you can park for a few minutes in order to check in because the reception area for this hotel is an outer edge of the Stamford Plaza hotel and the 2 hotels themselves are actually connected together! Seemed to be quite a strange setup, but the rooms were nice with lots of power outlets for electronics and a fridge and microwave in every room, which is much appreciated. Would definitely stay here again if in the Stamford area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnZag3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    95
    26
    17
    3
See reviews for
67
42
19
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my brief stay. Staff was very accommodating . Would recommend. Only bad thing was there was only 1 pop machine. And it was out of order.there was remodeling going on. But never interfered with coming or going.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B123456777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Beware this hotel charges $50.00 yes fifty dollars for a hard key and $250.00 fee for useing a warmer in room im attaching a letter they asked me to sign at check inn please read it carefully I never been to any hotel charging a key fee and warmer of two hundred and fifty dollars the rooms only go for around 85 dollars a night

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaim2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear chaim2011,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We would like to apologize for the over-all experience you had during your stay. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
194 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I gave a glowing review after our 2012 Christmas stay when the hotel was < 1 year old.
We stayed here again last week, and still enjoyed a spacious suite.
But are the owners trying to reduce cost wrt breakfast? all the juices were very diluted & undrinkable, bacon were paper thin and crumbled upon touch and could not be called "slices".
This was not at all like the previous breakfast quality.
When I inquired at the Front Desk at checkout, staff said the juice machine adjustment must not had been set correctly, however that does not explain the poor quality of bacon.
Other breakfast items were in good supply.
Front desk staff were pleasant & helpful (Donald Jean reduced our bill based on my breakfast inquiry/complaint).
We still plan to return to this hotel, and hope mgmt will continue to keep high standards for both room & breakfast.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank fbc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stay here was definitely pleasant and we were happy to have found this hotel at the last minute! A decent spread for the breakfast. The whole ambience was neat and quiet..

We felt the only downside was the parking fees.. at about $12 per day was slightly high considering the parking provided.

Room Tip: Any room on the higher floor should be a good choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raajz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman islands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel clean and quiet. Checking in was fast, was also offered complimentary check in snack (frozen dinner, chips and drink) which I thought was very nice. Breakfast great with many options. Walking distance to mall. I didn't give it five stars because i think 12 $ a day for parking is a bit high and no concierge service, I had to struggle with my luggage and baby to my room.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank blackbeauty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanithah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Blackbeauty1,

It is truly a pleasure hearing positive feedback from our guests. As the guests' opinion is extremely important to us, we will proceed to improve all the aspects of our service and work on any issues you might have had with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and hopefully next time you stay with us, it is going to be a five-star one.

Sincerely,
Hanithah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We stayed here one just one night for an event at Stamford. The location is a mile away from downtown so it is not as convenient if you are planning to spend time in downtown.

The hotel itself was newly renovated and the renovation was done quite well. Everything appears brand new except for some doors that have been retained. Self parking is a little inconvenient as it uses the structure of the Crown Plaza hotel next door, so it is a bit of a walk.

Service, room, breakfast and all amenities are what you expect from a HI Express property which I always enjoy.

It was uneventful and that's the way you like it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jas32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanithah M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear jas 32,
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It is satisfied guests that keep us motivated to work even harder and improve constantly as much as possible. We are sorry that parking did not meet your expectations. We are trying our best to solve this and make every guest's stay even more enjoyable.
Sincerely,
Hanithah M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
1.5 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#4 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
Address: 2703 Summer St, Stamford, CT 06905-4304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Stamfords Exquisite Hotel with a Convenient Downtown location - the Brand New Holiday Inn Express and Suites Stamford Conveniently located between Connecticuts Major Roadways, the Holiday Inn Express and suites offers 82 well appointed guest rooms and 16 spacious suites, featuring oversized comfortable bedding, deluxe furniture and 32 inch flat screen television offering cable with premium channels.Our hotel is comfortably located between I-95 and Merritt Parkway, just 40 minutes away from New York City, with easy access to several corporations, rail services (Metro North and Amtrak), and major airports making us a perfect location for business and leisure travel.Start your morning with our free Express Start hot breakfast or take it to go. Dont forget to take advantage of our 24 hour business center, or log onto to our free high-speed wireless Internet from anywhere in the hotel.Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford. Experience superior service and meticulous attention to detail, paired with plush accommodations and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing