We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again, less impressed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Stamford Downtown
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Solvang, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yet again, less impressed.”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is the 3rd or 4th time my boyfriend and I have chosen to stay at this hotel, and previously, we had been very pleased with the room, service, and location, though the quality of our stay seems to be decreasing with each successive visit. This time, we were more disappointed. While the room was clean, and the service was mostly good, this particular room, on the 9th floor, was quite small and had a bed whose mattress sank in the middle. We both woke up with backaches the two mornings we were there because the mattress was so incredibly unsupportive. On the day we were to go into the city, we requested a shuttle 2.5 hours in advance of our departure. However, the shuttle did not arrive, despite our early request. (in their defense, they did order a taxi for us, but it arrived about 20 minutes later, rather than the suggested 5). In addition, when we went into NYC for the evening, we were told that there would be a shuttle to pick us up from the station. However, when we called for the shuttle, we were told that it was no longer running (and not because of the weather). Overall, the hotel looks quite nice and clean, but we were disappointed by an unexpectedly uncomfortable bed (NOT like what we had experienced in the past) and an unreliable shuttle service.

Green Features: This hotel has signs about leaving towels on the rack to be not be washed if you would like, but when my boyfriend and I did so, the towels were removed and replaced anyway...kind of defeats the purpose!
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysita9623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Stamford Downtown, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear InLoveWithThailand,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your experience with the Courtyard Stamford Downtown.

You indicated in your response that bed and shuttle service were unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Marie Cabral
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown
Marie.Cabral@marriott.com
2033588822
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    107
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
53
57
19
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

OK - look at my prior review for Stamford Hotel & Spa. I have to be in Stamford 2-3 times a year and gave Marriott another chance in Stamford, but at a different property. This location is smaller, but just as convenient to all the business needs (Train, highway, shopping ect). It is clean, new and the staff was very attentive. I did not have a chance to eat here, but I did tour the facility and it looked clean, sharp and people seemed to be enjoying themselves. So until the other location does a complete face lift. Stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding.

First the pros:

Great location, close to restaurants, bars and shops
The onsite restaurant is fantastic -- get the flat-bread!
Beds are super comfy
Rooms are clean and big
Parking just $10/night

Now, the cons:

Really, the only con I have is the staff. Everyone person I dealt with at the front desk was rude and unhelpful. They all seemed to be right out of college and annoyed to be working. It was like pulling teeth to get them to smile. I was actually surprised at how snarky they were since I had such a great experience when I called to book the room.

I'd stay here again if in the area, hoping that the 20-somethings have lost their attitudes by then.

Room Tip: Make sure to try the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twaterwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Porsche Cayenne hotel shuttle. Pretty much says it all. More than you expect from a Courtyard. Room was clean and bright. Hotel Bar was small but connected to a neat wine bar next door. Would definitely return. Valet parking overnight was only $10.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 5 years ago and were again not disappointed. We were visiting relatives in Stamford and nearby Norwalk. Excellent location. Staff in hotel gave us a map showing where all nearby restaurants were.
Rooms clean. Staff very helpful. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the courtyard while on a road trip, and we were pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff, management that goes out of their way to make their guests happy, and cozy room accommodations. With a family of 5, getting out the door on time in the mornings can be tricky. We of course were running late, and were afraid we wouldn't have time for breakfast. To our surprise, management offered snacks and array of beverages on our hotel floor before we piled into the elevator. We hope to make it back to Stamford again soon, and if we do, we'll definitely stay here!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine/New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were able to get a senior citizen rate of $106.25 a night on the weekend. They were kind enough to extend that rate for Sunday night, too. The hotel is in a great location surrounded by a dozen plus good restaurants. The room contained a king-size bed, a cabinet for clothes, a dresser, a table for eating or working on, a sofa, and a coffee table. A robe was not initially in the room, but it was brought up in a jiffy when asked. All of the hotel personnel were friendly, helpful, and smiled a lot. The small pool and gym were an added bonus. A larger gym is across the street In addition, the room was as neat as a pin, nicely appointed, and very quiet. There was also a coffee maker and free coffee and bottled water in the room. Free papers were in the hall each morning. For the price, this hotel was perfect.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanCookTonight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#4 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
1.0 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Stamford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Stamford Downtown

Property: Courtyard Stamford Downtown
Address: 275 Summer St, Stamford, CT 06901-2305
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Stamford Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Stamford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Stamford Downtown Hotel Stamford
Stamford Marriott
Stamford Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing