We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think I'd rather stay here than the full serve Marriott in Stamford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Clean, nice amenities (access to a gym across the street) and a ton of surrounding restaurants (and one attached) coupled with a very nice and helpful staff make this a great place to stay. I've stayed at the full service Marriott in Stamford, and I will stay here moving forward.

Room Tip: Room 629 was awesome...hot tub in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is the 3rd or 4th time my boyfriend and I have chosen to stay at this hotel, and previously, we had been very pleased with the room, service, and location, though the quality of our stay seems to be decreasing with each successive visit. This time, we were more disappointed. While the room was clean, and the service was mostly good, this particular room, on the 9th floor, was quite small and had a bed whose mattress sank in the middle. We both woke up with backaches the two mornings we were there because the mattress was so incredibly unsupportive. On the day we were to go into the city, we requested a shuttle 2.5 hours in advance of our departure. However, the shuttle did not arrive, despite our early request. (in their defense, they did order a taxi for us, but it arrived about 20 minutes later, rather than the suggested 5). In addition, when we went into NYC for the evening, we were told that there would be a shuttle to pick us up from the station. However, when we called for the shuttle, we were told that it was no longer running (and not because of the weather). Overall, the hotel looks quite nice and clean, but we were disappointed by an unexpectedly uncomfortable bed (NOT like what we had experienced in the past) and an unreliable shuttle service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alysita9623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear InLoveWithThailand,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your experience with the Courtyard Stamford Downtown.

You indicated in your response that bed and shuttle service were unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Marie Cabral
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown
Marie.Cabral@marriott.com
2033588822

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

OK - look at my prior review for Stamford Hotel & Spa. I have to be in Stamford 2-3 times a year and gave Marriott another chance in Stamford, but at a different property. This location is smaller, but just as convenient to all the business needs (Train, highway, shopping ect). It is clean, new and the staff was very attentive. I did not have a chance to eat here, but I did tour the facility and it looked clean, sharp and people seemed to be enjoying themselves. So until the other location does a complete face lift. Stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding.

First the pros:

Great location, close to restaurants, bars and shops
The onsite restaurant is fantastic -- get the flat-bread!
Beds are super comfy
Rooms are clean and big
Parking just $10/night

Now, the cons:

Really, the only con I have is the staff. Everyone person I dealt with at the front desk was rude and unhelpful. They all seemed to be right out of college and annoyed to be working. It was like pulling teeth to get them to smile. I was actually surprised at how snarky they were since I had such a great experience when I called to book the room.

I'd stay here again if in the area, hoping that the 20-somethings have lost their attitudes by then.

Room Tip: Make sure to try the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twaterwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Porsche Cayenne hotel shuttle. Pretty much says it all. More than you expect from a Courtyard. Room was clean and bright. Hotel Bar was small but connected to a neat wine bar next door. Would definitely return. Valet parking overnight was only $10.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank BBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 5 years ago and were again not disappointed. We were visiting relatives in Stamford and nearby Norwalk. Excellent location. Staff in hotel gave us a map showing where all nearby restaurants were.
Rooms clean. Staff very helpful. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My family and I stayed at the courtyard while on a road trip, and we were pleasantly surprised by the friendly staff, management that goes out of their way to make their guests happy, and cozy room accommodations. With a family of 5, getting out the door on time in the mornings can be tricky. We of course were running late, and were afraid we wouldn't have time for breakfast. To our surprise, management offered snacks and array of beverages on our hotel floor before we piled into the elevator. We hope to make it back to Stamford again soon, and if we do, we'll definitely stay here!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.4 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#1 of 14 in Stamford
557 reviews
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#4 of 14 in Stamford
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#3 of 14 in Stamford
712 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown

Address: 275 Summer St, Stamford, CT 06901-2305
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range: £120 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort, convenience and style at Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown. When you enter the lobby of our hotel in downtown Stamford, Connecticut, you'll realize this will not be your average stay. The classic architectural styling of our hotel combines with modern flourishes and exemplary service to provide an exceptional setting near more than 90 bars and restaurants in Stamford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Stamford Downtown Hotel Stamford
Courtyard Stamford Downtown
Stamford Marriott
Stamford Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing