We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Stamford Downtown
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Courtyard Classy”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I'm getting very fond of Courtyard. But this one is unique. Seems to be a small downtown office building converted recently into an hotel. Right downtown with 80 (yes, 80!) bars and restaurants within 5 blocks. We got lucky, and were upgraded to a room on the 5th floor with a terrace & view of the area. The other rooms are higher, up to the 9th floor, but give me this terrace anytime. Courtyard seems to find the best staff. Friendly, efficient and very helpful. Front desk person Noel is just the best ever. The pool is a bit cool, and the jacuzzi is a bit hot, but I'm not complaining. Parking is an extra $10 but, hey! You're right downtown and can walk to anything. Target and the Palace Theatre are around the corner. And all those restaurants! We are here on the first evening of a two night stay and I'm already enchanted. We needed a weekend getaway and this is off to a great start. You should get away here, too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyTurtleNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    107
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
53
56
19
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I booked this room for friends coming to town for a special family celebration. The location is great - easy walk to local restaurants. Zenaida at the front desk made sure the room and stay exceeded everyone's expectations! I definitely recommend this hotel; staff, on-site restaurant, refrigerator in room - made it a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Visited for business, the hotel is small, but surprisingly nice, with a great staff. I found them polite and very helpful. Good location and a surprisingly nice and well stocked bar. Clean with a refrigerator in the room a nice touch. The only complaint I had, was the towels were not the super fluffy ones that I sometimes find in hotels.

Room Tip: try to get a room looking out on the back of the hotel, I have to think that is quieter then the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The hotel seems to be fairly new and our room was spotless and comfortable - just what we needed after a day's traveling. The service was efficient and the only comment I would make is that because the bars in that area of town stay open fairly late, guests returning to their rooms can be quite noisy. The walls seem to be on the thin side too. Would definitely consider staying there again if in the area.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Clean, nice amenities (access to a gym across the street) and a ton of surrounding restaurants (and one attached) coupled with a very nice and helpful staff make this a great place to stay. I've stayed at the full service Marriott in Stamford, and I will stay here moving forward.

Room Tip: Room 629 was awesome...hot tub in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solvang, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is the 3rd or 4th time my boyfriend and I have chosen to stay at this hotel, and previously, we had been very pleased with the room, service, and location, though the quality of our stay seems to be decreasing with each successive visit. This time, we were more disappointed. While the room was clean, and the service was mostly good, this particular room, on the 9th floor, was quite small and had a bed whose mattress sank in the middle. We both woke up with backaches the two mornings we were there because the mattress was so incredibly unsupportive. On the day we were to go into the city, we requested a shuttle 2.5 hours in advance of our departure. However, the shuttle did not arrive, despite our early request. (in their defense, they did order a taxi for us, but it arrived about 20 minutes later, rather than the suggested 5). In addition, when we went into NYC for the evening, we were told that there would be a shuttle to pick us up from the station. However, when we called for the shuttle, we were told that it was no longer running (and not because of the weather). Overall, the hotel looks quite nice and clean, but we were disappointed by an unexpectedly uncomfortable bed (NOT like what we had experienced in the past) and an unreliable shuttle service.

Green Features: This hotel has signs about leaving towels on the rack to be not be washed if you would like, but when my boyfriend and I did so, the towels were removed and replaced anyway...kind of defeats the purpose!
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysita9623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Stamford Downtown, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear InLoveWithThailand,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your experience with the Courtyard Stamford Downtown.

You indicated in your response that bed and shuttle service were unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Marie Cabral
Front Office Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Stamford Downtown
Marie.Cabral@marriott.com
2033588822
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

OK - look at my prior review for Stamford Hotel & Spa. I have to be in Stamford 2-3 times a year and gave Marriott another chance in Stamford, but at a different property. This location is smaller, but just as convenient to all the business needs (Train, highway, shopping ect). It is clean, new and the staff was very attentive. I did not have a chance to eat here, but I did tour the facility and it looked clean, sharp and people seemed to be enjoying themselves. So until the other location does a complete face lift. Stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.4 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#1 of 14 in Stamford
491 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Stamford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Stamford Downtown

Property: Courtyard Stamford Downtown
Address: 275 Summer St, Stamford, CT 06901-2305
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Stamford Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Stamford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Stamford Downtown Hotel Stamford
Stamford Marriott
Stamford Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing