We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

I couldn't recommend this place more highly for business people, solo women travellers or families. It's luxury on a more conscious budget.

After travelling from overseas for over 24 hours on little sleep, and still another 3 hours of driving, I decided to play it safe and find a room. I couldn't find any road signs on I95 indicated any motels. I took an exit in Stamford, having seen a Marriott in the distance and hoping there would be something more affordable. I came across a questionable motel, which as a lone female, alarmed me.

I used my Google Places app on my phone to find nearby hotels where I saw Hampton Inn and used my GPS Sat Nav to input the address to find it. What wonderful inventions, or I never, ever would have known about it or found it so quickly if at all.

My room, 224 had two double beds, a huge TV, microwave, free WIFI (great for making the calls on Skype), heater/air con, a huge bathroom with well thought out amenities (also a good hair dryer). The only criticism is that the inroom coffee/tea set up is not briliant. Coffee maker shold be on a tray to prevent damage to the desk worktop. The room is great for a person having to do computer work. It could use better lighting, as it has nothing to hide. Super clean. LArge closet space. Secure door with latch, lock and eye hole.

Breakfast was amazing in a cost-efficient world. Everything was disposable and self-service...and clean. Something for everyone (yogurt, cereal, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, juices out of a machine (Apple juice tasted like water, coffee selections from a machine (excellent coffee!) with three tyes of milk. Coffee cups are disposable, and with take-out tops for those on the go. The cenre-piece was that you could make your own waffles! Smelled yummy.

Multi storey free car-park. Free breakfast.

Usual rate $99.00 plus tax.
Anyway, highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    173
    73
    36
    20
See reviews for
202
108
29
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

The best hotel and free hot breakfast of our entire trip!
The hotel was rebuilt in 2007; great staff, very clean, free Wi-Fi, free parking, close to the downtown. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdslopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I didn't see any mention on their website nor was any mention made during check in that renovations were underway in the hotel. My first indication was when I got off the elevator on my assigned floor and was nearly knocked over by intense paint fumes. I made it to my room and thought the room was okay. However, later in the evening I realized the fumes were seeping into the room. Fortunately two windows opened slightly where I could gulp some fresh air as I repeatedly woke up throughout the night. By early morning I was getting nauseous so I took a shower, packed my bag and headed down to the lobby to wor until breakfast was served at 6. Not surprisingly the lobby was fume free so guests wouldn't know until after they went upstairs how toxic the fumes would be. I realized during the night that I should never have stayed on the floor but requested an unrenovated floor. I didn't realize that two floors had not been renovated until I decided to search the hotel for fresh air. Later that morning I finally saw the small sign near the elevator, facing toward guests coming down to the lobby, that warned of renovation inconvenience. If the paint fumes had not made me sick the rooms and the hotel were actually clean and pleasant looking. I would have appreciated being told at check in about the fumes and being allowed to choose between unrenovated but breathable air or renovated and paint fumes.

We were also tired after a long day on the road so ate at the attached restaurant. It was okay but we were the only people eating dinner while the adjacent bar scene was hopping. A band was setting up for a 9 pm show and based on the sound checks they did while we finished dinner they probably blasted their fans' ear drums. We were glad to escape before they really started.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

I first stayed at this property five years ago for several days on a business trip. It was a rather strange experience. My wife and I recently stayed there again, and it is still a rather strange and somewhat unsettling bordering on just plain weird experience.

This is not a typical Hampton Inn property, either in construction or management. It is apparently a rather old, somewhat charming, but sadly run-down and somewhat seedy hotel from the 1930s, judging from the architecture and decor, which Hilton at some recent point in time has acquired. Renovation and improvement have apparently proceeded at a snail's pace, since little progress seems to have been made in the past five years. To say that this property is not up to the usual high Hilton corporate standards would be an understatement.

The staff is polite but rather distant, probably because English is not their first language; they are somewhat disorganized and not exactly friendly or welcoming. A few tasteless attempts at folksy decorative touches, such as tacky novelty lighting in the breakfast area, have gone badly awry. On my previous stay, I was given a large and relatively luxurious if very dated room, marred only by a noisy refrigerator which I had to turn off each night so I could get some sleep. This time I got a room less than half that size, even though the hotel was largely empty. Apparently I no longer rate a free Hilton Honors customer upgrade.

While some common areas and hallways have had new carpeting recently installed and a coat of white paint sloppily applied to woodwork and trim (including the handle and lock to my room), much of the distressed original furniture looks even shabbier than it was five years ago and badly needs to be replaced. The bathroom sinks and counters were new, but the old tub had been poorly caulked and was in dire need of replacement. The beds are also not as comfortable as in most Hilton properties; the one in my room was both hard and sagged in the middle, so I didn't get a decent night's sleep. The Wi-Fi signal in the room was so weak as to be totally useless, even for basic E-mail.

Given that the surrounding area is still rather seedy, the unsecured and unpatrolled parking garage does not exactly inspire confidence. The disconnected security camera is the lower level mentioned by a previous reviewer remains clearly still out of service with dangling cords, a clear advertisement to any miscreants that security is not a priority.

The attached restaurant, apparently under the same management as the hotel, also provided a strange experience. The dining room had apparently been rented out for a large and VERY LOUD private party. Other people such as ourselves arriving for dinner had to fend for themselves in the bar, which is in two separate small rooms adjoining the dining room. The music from the dining room was simply deafening, making conversation with one's dinner companions almost impossible. Our waitress was very pleasant, clearly overworked, and tried to make the uncomfortable situation as pleasant as possible, not easy given the circumstances.

The food was reasonably priced and rather creative: not so much Asian fusion as Asian confusion. In addition to a somewhat expanded version of the menu to be found on-line at the hotel's website, there was a full page of "small plates" which were apparently the Indian equivalent of tapas. We ordered a number of these in lieu of a formal dinner, given the less than optimal dining conditions. They were each easily double the size of a standard tapas serving, although the quantity did not exactly make up for the variable quality. Tarragon seems to be the cook's favorite herb, as it turned up in several of the dishes. One plate of steamed al dente vegetables was heavily laced with tarragon and nothing else, apparently. The ancient bottle of beer I was served had gone stale months ago. Like the hotel stay, the dinner was also a strange and somewhat unsatisfactory experience. I don't think I will be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stopped in Stamford on a whim and had a hard time finding a hotel with vacancy. The Hampton was superb - the staff was helpful (made a spot to park the UHaul van, pointed us toward dinner), had lovely comfy beds and a fridge in our room, full breakfast in the morning . The next night, we paid an extra $80 for a hotel room in Boston that was a third as good as this Hampton.

Would stop here again with no qualms.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephestellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Fairly new Hampton Inn located close to downtown, the train station and I-95. Rooms are being renovated, and the new rooms are clean, comfortable, and reasonably roomy. The breakfast is fairly typical for a Hampton Inn, but the room is decorated nicely as a library. There is no pool and the exercise room is small with only a few pieces of equipment, but there is an on-site restaurant and they have managers specials during the week with drinks and snacks. The parking garage is a little tight if you have a larger vehicle, and can be crowded if there is an event going on in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seadog22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Each year when visiting the area we stay ot this property.
Rooms are good size especially the suite rooms. Garage parking.
Convenient location if you have car. Hotel has pick-up service.
Breakfast fine too. Has new restuarant attached but we didn't eat there.
You can expect large groups staying there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papaleadfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
676 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stamford
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#1 of 14 in Stamford
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Address: 26 Mill River St, Stamford, CT 06902-3726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stamford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#6 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mill River, located on the waterfront, is a hotel with peerless elegance, modern comforts & exceptional privacy. When the hotel opened in Year 1985 it had no parallel in the city and around. Although the hotel has seen much change, it has retained all of its original charm. For business or pleasure, hotel's spacious guest rooms & suites surrounded with residential ambiance offer an enclave of luxury in convenient downtown Stamford. Located on Mill River Street, easily accessible from I-95, I-287, Route 15, Route 1. Walking distance from downtown Stamford and local corporate offices. Five minutes from Stamford train station offering link to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Stamford
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing