We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snooty Snooty Snooty” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barrique Bistro and Wine Br - CLOSED

Barrique Bistro and Wine Br
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Snooty Snooty Snooty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our first visit and will be our last. We opted for a corner seating since we had a group about 7 or 8 people. There was a couple (who we were told were there regular customers and wanted a quiet environment). We had two toddlers who were pretty well behaved but we were told we should be pretty much whispering to each other. The manager and the staff took upon themselves to tell all other customers that we were loud. NEVER EVER GOING BACK.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Wait Staff and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

My co-workers and I had the French Onion Soup, Gnocchi and Skirt Steak. All were well prepared and presented, and the wait staff was helpful and friendly. What more could you ask for?

Helpful?
Thank Annaliese-KAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First rate ingredients, first rate staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

First and foremost, I don't know where some of these "reviewers" were dining, but this their reviews don't reflect the the restaurant I dined at. So, let tell you about my experience - we ate at the bar, yes, we did have reservations but decided the ambiance in the bar was so pleasant, we would just stay put. The wine list was first rate and food was prepared with thought and care. I was impressed with the attention the bartender took in noticing the progress of the meal and recommending wines to compliment our choices. Would I recommend this restaurant? Yes. Is it a place to go and watch television and pull on a beer? No. It is a restaurant that takes it preparation and presentation of food seriously. It is a place to celebrate a birthday, a job promotion or to just a a good meal. This restaurant is good, darned good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bershires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unprofessional Manager”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We were disappointed in the attitude of the manager. This was our first visit. The waiter was nice and the food ok but when my wife's finger was burned by a piece from the broken candle glass (a safety problem in itself----why would a candle holder break into pieces in the middle of the table?) the manager offered a free desert. The manager's attitude was unprofessional. We did not argue but we left with a feeling that we will "never come back again".

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please do not go to this restaurant. This place should be boycotted.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This restaurant should not be in business anymore. You can not trust this place, specially one of the manager .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank agerola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barrique Bistro and Wine Br also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing