We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Marriott for keeping your online reservations up to the minute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thank you, Marriott for keeping your online reservations up to the minute”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had planned to stay in Edison, but got burned by another chain that can't keep it's reservations straight and overbooked their hotel, selling our room to a walk-in. At 9pm everything in the area was pretty full, so we left NJ for Stamford at a late hour (our ultimate destination was north of Boston). I made the reservation on my smart phone through their website and it was easy and accurate. It's in the middle of the city but I was surprised that I couldn't hear city noise and a sound spa machine was on my nightstand, but I didn't need it. The building is old and the bathroom small with a pocket door, but the towels were extra large and fluffy and the soaps and shampoo samples were fancy aromatherapy things. The shower had 2 spouts - one directly above and one from the wall in the normal spot. The bed and beddings very soft and comfy and we slept well after a tiring previous evening. We weren't thrilled about the $18 parking fee for overnight, but the garage and lobby were well-staffed by polite, pleasant and helpful people and check-in and checkout were very fast for a place that size and looking busy.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor, relatively close to the elevator, but didn't really hear anything to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    338
    165
    68
    28
See reviews for
216
183
81
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Based on previous reviews, I thought the hotel would be better than it was. The customer service was good, no complaints. All of the staff I encountered seemed anxious to serve. The hotel fell short on the basics though - bed, bathroom, room air quality.

Pros:
Good breakfast for family, when included in room rate. Omelets made to order.
Location is across the street from a large mall with a good selection of restaurants & natl. retailers (Gap, H&M, Macy's, Barnes&Noble, etc.)
Updated décor
Nice view
Free wifi in rooms - that's a real bonus.

Cons:
Had to change rooms. First room's main door to the hallway was coming off a hinge and the room overall smelled like an old mop. Thankfully, we were given another room with no questions asked.
No bathtubs, only showers - roman bath type walk-in showers (no doors). Wish I had known in advance. Would have brought a shower cap
Water collects on bathroom floor when shower in use (no doors)
No shower caps in rooms. Shouldn't that be included since there's no bathtub option?
Toilet flushes really loudly, like a train going through the bathroom. Not good for a couple with small kids trying to sleep through the night
The toilets seemed unusually low to the ground.
Bed was for people who like REALLY SOFT beds. Not a good night's rest for either of us.

Our room rate for one night was considerably higher than other hotels in the area. For that reason, I would have hoped for a better experience. I travel often enough and have never seen a hotel with no bathtubs. It may not be a big deal for many, but it's a significant enough feature that it should be advertised as such. Families with young kids need bathtubs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MochaMama40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottStamford, Manager at Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback regarding our hotel. We're very pleased that you enjoyed our service, and that our free WiFi was to your liking, but I do want to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced as well. It is completely understandable that you would prefer a tub for your children, and I did want to inform you that only about half of our rooms are shower only. If you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the future, please let us know that you would prefer a bathtub and we'll be certain to make that happen for you. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff at the Marriott Stamford Hotel and Spa went above and beyond to accommodate an early check in on Wednesday of this week. I flew to the East coast on a red eye flight and truly needed the early room to clean up and prepare for my meetings that began at noon.

Not only were 2 rooms prepared within 40 minutes of our arrival at 10:15am; the chef made us an early lunch from the menu (a Salmon Caesar salad that is probably the best I have ever had).

From the front desk, to housekeeping, to doormen, waitress and chef; I was taken care of like family. Thank you. It is properties like yours that keep me a loyal Marriott patron.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ_Millar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This Marriott is good for a quick stay in Stamford. It's minutes from the highway, across the street from a nice mall and close distance to many restaurants. The room was fine. Nice, clean and comfy beds. The bathroom was very impressive with two shower heads and newly updated. We ate at Sam's in the lobby for breakfast...not impressed. $15 for a basic breakfast that wasn't anything better then a diners. I would stay here again if visiting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I am an event producer and this past week I hosted 2 events at the Marriott Stamford. Both were very different in nature, but we're handled so professionally by the entire staff. Lynn Coppola is beyond a doubt the best at her job. She is patient and accommodating and gets what you need.
The waitstaff headed by Virginia and Bobby are excellent. The food for both events met with rave reviews from the attendees.
Don't hesitate to book your next event here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leelah333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Big rooms - Beds soft and comfortable and a nice breakfast were the good bits

Loud air conditioning - but only when it kicks off - towels smelled of chlorine too - which is weird in a so called green hotel...

Central to the mall and shopping - and too noisy. (railroad line I guess).

Room Tip: Pay extra for the breakfast and ask for a high floor room....
See more room tips
Green Features: They said they were a Green Hotel but the towels smelled of too much Clorox...??
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBillTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottStamford, Manager at Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Although I am pleased you felt our beds were comfortable, I do want to apologize for the noise issues you described. I have informed our engineering team to focus their preventive maintenance efforts on our A/C units, especially as we head into the warmer months. I have also forwarded your comments regarding the bleach smell to our Laundry Manager so she can address any odor issues associated with our linen and terry. Thank you again for your comments, and I hope we have an opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I have business in the area several times a year and we stay at the Marriott Stamford as a date night instead of fighting our way home in Friday traffic. The hotel has easy access to I 95. The staff is always accommodating but this time even more so. As we entered the lobby from the parking garage we were greeted and asked if we were checking in and immediately were whisked to the check in. The greeter was the check in clerk waiting for the next arrival. How great is that. She had our name and was punching in the info before the bags hit the floor. Our special room request was verified and accommodated. We announced we were going to the bar and left our bags. Arriving at the bar it seemed the bartender was waiting for us and service was swift. Great location great staff and don't miss the breakfast. Omelets made to order.

Room Tip: We stay on the 2nd floor to be close to the outstanding spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fridaycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#1 of 14 in Stamford
494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 243 Tresser Blvd, 2 Stamford Forum, Stamford, CT 06901-3436
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stamford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stamford
#4 Family Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in downtown Stamford, directly across the street from the Stamford Town Center Mall with over 120 stores and restaurants. We feature 500 newly renovated guestrooms, the award winning Agora Spa on the second floor, and a brand new lobby restaurant--Sam's American Bistro. Northern Lights lounge is our fun and hip bar serving your favorite drinks from noon to the wee hours. Relax in our heated indoor/outdoor pool, located next to the newly renovated health club with many new Life Fitness units. The concierge lounge is available for an upgrade fee, offering sumptuous breakfasts and tasty evening hors d'oeuvres. The Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa--Downtown Starts Here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Stamford Hotel Stamford
Stamford Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing