We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than being Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Stamford Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence
new hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than being Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

This hotel has the best staff I have ever encountered. They create an environment where guest really want to return, as the care and attention to detail goes above and beyond. From the staff in the restaurant and the way they remember the regular guests preferences, to the front desk associates having a great smile, good information on the property and surrounding area, to the efficiency of check in/out, this place makes it easy to travel on business. It is an especially nice touch to have the Managers in the lobby at high traffic times, greeting guests and listening to their concerns and kudos. For the price, the value here is exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desimport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
What a heartwarming review - thank you for your very kind comments. We do strive to provide the best level of service possible and it is wonderful when our guests feel at home. Many of the features you mentioned such as our knowledgeable front desk agents, our lobby ambassador program, and our all-star restaurant staff make it a wonderful place to stay while away from home. Thanks so much for your time to review our property, and we hope to have you with us again.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    161
    49
    15
    10
See reviews for
94
65
22
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Stamford? Yup Stamford. You might, as I did, find yourself surprised by this state of the art Sheraton--yup Sheraton--in Stamford CT. My partner had a chess tournament so I just went along for the ride with low to no expectations. Surprise...the staff is 5 star, the lobby is more than 'hang out' worthy (with beautiful, comfortable seating areas and BIG screen computers) and everything is clean, new and inviting. The room was as up to par as one can get--really comfy. There are shuttles to Main Street but you can also walk. Not a lot going on there but take a look and then just head back to the hotel and relax. If you have to stay in Stamford this is the place to do it.

Room Tip: Not sure but we requested late check out and they were kind and accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bllgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you sincerely for your wonderful review of our property. We are very proud of our top-of-the-line product which was renovated last year, and that you enjoyed everything while being a spectator for the event held here. The Link@Sheraton business center does supply many complimentary computers for use and are all brand new. Thank you once again for your review of our property, and should you be traveling for the event again we hope to have you with us.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte,nc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I travel to CT to see family and friends in Greenwich, once or twice a year. I have stayed here as a Holiday Inn and now as a Sheraton, always lovely. Staff is friendly, helpful and there is an aura of friendliness about the place. The rooms are very clean, coffee service,free parking,nice TV etc.They seem to have some plumbing problems ice machines always sound like they ae running water,not a big problem.
We were there last week when the freak storm hit CT, all hotels were filled to capacity, the hotel ran perfectly, we had just left the Hyatt in Greenwich out of disgust due to arrogance and filth.It was a pleasure to check into the Sheraton .There were computers in the lobby to acess email , snack shop and great restaurant and bar.
I would avoid the Hyatt in Greenwich at all costs and opt for the Sheraton.

Room Tip: not near the elevator as the ice machines tend to be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thanks so much for your wonderful review, and glad you survived the October storm with us! We do make a very conscious effort for the highest level of customer service and a well-maintained product. We are working on some draining issues with the ice machines and should have them running smoothly. Our apologies for a difficult experience initially with your stay in Stamford, but we are glad you ended up with us at the Sheraton and hope we will have you with us again the next time you are here to visit.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Caters mostly to business crowds; location is close to downtown Stamford (although a bit too far to walk); modern and expansive lobby; rooms are clean and well-stocked; self-parking rates in the connected garage are reasonable; Starbucks located in the lobby; used to be a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: The higher floors afford better views of downtown Stamford, though you may have to be a Starwood Pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maevum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Owner at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Our thanks for taking the time to review our property. We are about two city blocks from downtown actually, and although it can get a little cold during that time of year we are normally just a quick walk to downtown. You are correct that the highest floors are reserved for our Starwood Preferred Guest members, however it is free for anyone to enroll and begin earning points (and begin to stay in the highest floors). It is wonderful to hear that you found everything to your liking while staying with us, and we hope to have you with us again.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is my fourth stay in just under 12 months - the last was while the refurbishment was underway and I was looking forward to seeing what the differences were.
Firstly, the great news was that the customer service has remained high - I had an item delivered to the hotel prior to my arrival and it was safely stored and ready waiting for me at check in. The Manager is always helpful and friendly, as are the shuttle drivers who will collect you from the station or drop you off at restaurants. The bar tender is a great guy, it's nice to see some familiar faces.
Must comment on the new beds! They are a bit too high for me (5' 3") but very comfy.
The only downside was a hairdryer not working, electricity point not working, and a loo that stopped working! Those were all swiftly dealt with though and I'll be staying again soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nosilauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
We are thrilled you have continued to stay with us and find the new renovations to your liking! We do strive to provide top-notch customer service to all guests and glad everyone met your expectations. My apologies for the issues you experienced in your room, however I am glad they were quickly addressed and resolved. Of course if there is ever an issue we are focused on resolving it as quickly as possible. Thank you so much for your review, and we hope to continue having you stay with us while in Stamford.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hotel is not brand-new, rather it is a remodeled Holiday Inn. That said, aside from the elevator-inspection certificates, you'd almost never know its past.

Check-in was super easy and as a long-time Starwood member I was upgraded to the club floor and parking was cut from $10 to $5. Of the two issues I had, one was with the original room. It reeked of cigarette smoke. I went downstairs and was given a different room on the same floor and all was ok. The room is modern, with a large tiled shower area (no tub), nice furnishings, flat-screen TV, ipod-dock radio, and a tall, very comfortable (not too soft, not too firm) bed. I wish the pillows had a bit more firmness, but they did the job well.

The Club floor has a happy hour each night and I was able to enjoy some wine and snacks before heading out to eat. I was happy that, when I asked about walking over to my restaurant, the staffer I spoke with didn't try to upsell me to stay and eat on property. That's a bonus in my book.

My complaint about the room is that the air conditioner is VERY LOUD. It gives away the cheaper history of the building (or, at least, its age), as many other Sheraton/Westin/W properties I've been in have had far quieter A/C units.

In the morning I hit the well-equipped fitness center (24-hour access) and was very happy with the assortment of equipment, stretching areas, etc.

The continental breakfast on the Club floor was great, with fresh coffee, fruit, good pastries (not cheap, overly-rich ones), lots of Kashi cereal products, and various newspapers.

Check out was a breeze and I was on my way. Definitely would stay here again, even though there are hotels closer to my office in Yonkers, NY (including a Tarrytown Sheraton that is always booked).

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face the waterfront, as that is where the train station is and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdlvalium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
We thank you for taking the time to review our property. With last year's renovating we certainly offer a brand-new Sheraton product, and we are glad you were able to experience this. We apologize for the smell of smoke in your room - we do strictly penalize anyone caught smoking in our guestrooms as we do have a strict non-smoking policy. We do have rooms with bathtubs upon request, as well as firm pillows for a more comfortable stay for you.

We apologize for the noise associate with your air conditioner. At this time we are not renovating the current units but constantly undergo preventative maintenance to make sure they are performing at their quietest and most efficient.

Our thanks again for a great detailed review, and hope you do make your way out to Stamford to stay with us again.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algeria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I spent two weeks @ Sheraton stamford (previously Holiday-Inn)

Highlights:
big rooms,
breakfast room offering all kinds of sweet and salty food
free parking
courtesy tray (with coffee, milk and tea)
2washing and drying machines available for guests (get coins ready)

Lowlights:
too strong AC
No interesting FREE TV channels
No TV channels in other languages than English (Spanish, French, German, Arabic)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konak_Hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A, Manager at Sheraton Stamford Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
We appreciate taking the time to review our property, and thank you for your comments. We are glad you foound the majority of our amenities to be to your liking. To your points of concern: we do offer all of the required standard channels within the Starwood/Sheraton brand and do offer expanded cable options. We have recently upgraded all of our televisions to now offer High Definition programming along with the Standard Definition channels, and with doing so have added more channels to our line up. We hope you are able to join us again and experience what we now have to offer - thank you again for your review.

Best Regards;
Sheraton Stamford Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stamford hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Stamford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Stamford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Stamford Hotel

Property: Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Address: 700 E. Main Street, Stamford, CT 06901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Stamford
#5 Family Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Stamford Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Stamford Hotel is located near many corporate offices and the Town Center Mall. We are 20 minutes from the Westchester County Airport and less than a mile from the Metro North line to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sheraton Stamford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stamford
Stamford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing