We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for events-Pool disappointing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for events-Pool disappointing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Came here for a conference. Function rooms were large & clean. Common meeting space also perfect for a large group. If you come with small kids, the pool is a little disappointing. It's very small and the hot tub was out of order. No lounge chairs outside available which would have been nice. Room very clean and comfortable-bathroom was fine too. The downtown shops are about 10 min drive from conference center, there is also a shuttle that runs on the hour. Good place to stay if you are in meetings all day; however, not a lot for a family with young kids to do at the conference center and food in restaurants as always, expensive. If you have a car it's worth it to explore the shopping area. Also went to a great breakfast spot in town The Sundance Cafe for a fabulous omlette and amazing coffee. Street parking is metered, but free on Sunday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anneh236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
We are delighted to learn that your recent stay with us for the conference was such a great experience. Everyone at the Hilton Stamford Hotel is committed to providing our guests with incomparable service and comfort. Our hotel is as you mentioned conveniently located within minutes of exciting area attractions and shopping. We would like to apologize that the hot tub was not open at the time of your visit but we hope that next time you stay with us you will have a chance to relax and enjoy it. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    289
    220
    140
    99
See reviews for
221
182
79
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Ive stayed at this hotel dozens of times over the past few years (my company has a contract with this hotel). In the past 2 or so years, it has definitely started to show signs of wear, particularly in the sleeping rooms. Cleaning and maintenance standards seem to have gone downhill significantly. On my last visit, the shower did not drain and the showerhead was floppy and would not stay in place. When I reported it, they did fix it, but the maid had not bothered to clean the bathtub scum that occurred as a result of the tub backup (ew!). Hallways are often not clean. This hotel gets a lot of business travelers and I think they could do a lot to improve the sleeping room experience and cleanliness. The restaurant is ok, but somewhat expensive. The bar is fine. The workout room could also use an update. This is a very average hotel with declining maintenance and cleanliness standards.

Room Tip: Request a room nearer the elevators to avoid a potential long trek to a room way down the hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BooII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
We value all feedback, positive or otherwise, and appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the problem you encountered with the shower and for the housekeeping issues. Your comments will be brought to our managers’ attention so that we may continue to improve our services for our guests. Thank you for telling us about your experience, we hope that next time we can provide you with a stay that exceeds all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Hilton staff is very nice and courteous .Maria is very nice and professional and make sure you are happy with your room .She recognised me from last year :)
Its a 3.5 hotel but It can be upgraded to a 4 stars .Hotel has a shuttle so you can move around stamford easily

Rooms are spacious and clean !As a hilton member , i got free breakfast and free internet

Thank u hilton to make my stay enjoyable :)

Room Tip: You can nbe hilton member and collect points so you can redeem points for a room and got free intern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karima b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
At the Hilton Stamford Hotel our guests and their needs are our number one priority. We are very happy that we could provide you with everything you needed to make your stay enjoyable, including the use of our shuttle which can be utilized by guests to visit nearby places of interest. Thank you for your praise for our staff, we will be sure to pass along your comments. We hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

The Hilton Stamford Hotel and Executive Centre is nestled on the southeast end of a secluded office park just minutes off I-95. I visited in the spring, with blossoming trees and manicured green lawns. Self-parking lot is hidden under the hotel, and the lobby is large enough for 100s of people. Executive floor rooms were large and well-appointed, and the complimentary Executive Lounge access gave me enough to eat both evening and the following morning that I was not needing additional food. All in all, quite a fine establishment.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klaviercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Stamford Hotel. We are delighted that our location, property and services all met your needs fully. We hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

The food at the hotel was of poor quality. My crispy shrimp appetizer was overcooked and chewy like beef jerky. Inedible. The fitness center frequently had no cups for water at the water cooler. My bathroom was not clean. There were long hairs clinging to the wall next to the toilet. I suspected bed bugs and was not immediately offered another room. I had to ask for one. When I got to the new room, I inspeted the bed for bugs and saw crumbs on my sheets. This means they used the SAME sheets from the last guest. Disgusting!!! The valet service was ridiculously slow. The valets often doubled as shutle drivers. There were times we waited over 15 minutes for our car when we were the ONLY people waiting for service. Horrible experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Paddy312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
It is truly disappointing to learn that your recent stay with us fell short of your expectations and that you encountered several challenges during that time. We apologize for any housekeeping issues you may have experienced and would like you to know that we are forwarding your comments to our management team. We do regret that we were not able to create a better experience for you but appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stamford hotels

Cedar Knolls, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Just returned from one night at this hotel. From the moment we entered we were warmly greeted. The rooms are very well appointed, clean and comfortable. We really liked the comfortable lounge chair, excellent lighting and really great beds. The best part of our stay was the superior breakfast buffet. We had a large group and after making arrangements with Alexandra, Angela Schiffman, Asst. Restaurant Manager and Alberto our waiter, were superior in their service and caring. We had a lot of children in our group and they received great service too. Hilton should be very proud of these staff members. Will recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! Your comments will be shared with our entire team and we will ensure that associates you mentioned receive the recognition they deserve. We are thrilled that we could provide you with the comfortable accommodations and great service that made your stay with us so enjoyable. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We were here for a women's retreat and considering we were about 1200 ladies by the end of the weekend,the hotel was quite prepared! I would definitely recommend them for large affairs and events! There is a spacious lobby that opens up to cathedral like ceilings and receding lights that change colors as your eyes delightfully watch them!. Plants and trees are manicured throughout the atrium entrance!There is an open space restaurant and morning coffee is free for everyone.The Hilton is close to bus and train connections to New York City! Upon request,they have a free shuttle bus which will drive you there! Rooms are well equipped! When problems arise,they have a competent staff to assist all of your needs! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Stamford Hotel for your recent retreat and for your high recommendation. Our associates always desire to take care of the needs of all our guests and to create a memorable experience for them. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and we truly appreciate your many kind comments. The next time you are in the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.8 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#2 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#4 of 14 in Stamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#5 of 14 in Stamford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Property: Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Address: 1 First Stamford Place, Stamford, CT 06902 (Formerly The Westin Stamford)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside of New York City -- with access to Amtrak, Metro-North and I-95 — the recently renovated Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center offers the ideal combination of convenience, comfort and courteous service. Following a multimillion-dollar renovation, our hotel boasts newly refurbished guest rooms, spacious suites, and state of the art event and meeting space. Unwind after a long work day at our restaurant and lounge, serving American cuisine and cocktails throughout the day. Or relax in our sparkling swimming pool or heated whirlpool. Surrounded by dynamic businesses and local attractions, our upscale accommodations will enhance your upcoming visit or corporate gathering. A popular choice among Stamford hotels, the Hilton is a landmark destination with easy access to both Boston and New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Stamford Hotel And Executive Meeting Center
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Stamford
Hilton Hotel Stamford
Stamford Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing