We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laundry list of shortcomings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The food at the hotel was of poor quality. My crispy shrimp appetizer was overcooked and chewy like beef jerky. Inedible. The fitness center frequently had no cups for water at the water cooler. My bathroom was not clean. There were long hairs clinging to the wall next to the toilet. I suspected bed bugs and was not immediately offered another room. I had to ask for one. When I got to the new room, I inspeted the bed for bugs and saw crumbs on my sheets. This means they used the SAME sheets from the last guest. Disgusting!!! The valet service was ridiculously slow. The valets often doubled as shutle drivers. There were times we waited over 15 minutes for our car when we were the ONLY people waiting for service. Horrible experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Paddy312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

It is truly disappointing to learn that your recent stay with us fell short of your expectations and that you encountered several challenges during that time. We apologize for any housekeeping issues you may have experienced and would like you to know that we are forwarding your comments to our management team. We do regret that we were not able to create a better experience for you but appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

954 - 960 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

Just returned from one night at this hotel. From the moment we entered we were warmly greeted. The rooms are very well appointed, clean and comfortable. We really liked the comfortable lounge chair, excellent lighting and really great beds. The best part of our stay was the superior breakfast buffet. We had a large group and after making arrangements with Alexandra, Angela Schiffman, Asst. Restaurant Manager and Alberto our waiter, were superior in their service and caring. We had a lot of children in our group and they received great service too. Hilton should be very proud of these staff members. Will recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! Your comments will be shared with our entire team and we will ensure that associates you mentioned receive the recognition they deserve. We are thrilled that we could provide you with the comfortable accommodations and great service that made your stay with us so enjoyable. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We were here for a women's retreat and considering we were about 1200 ladies by the end of the weekend,the hotel was quite prepared! I would definitely recommend them for large affairs and events! There is a spacious lobby that opens up to cathedral like ceilings and receding lights that change colors as your eyes delightfully watch them!. Plants and trees are manicured throughout the atrium entrance!There is an open space restaurant and morning coffee is free for everyone.The Hilton is close to bus and train connections to New York City! Upon request,they have a free shuttle bus which will drive you there! Rooms are well equipped! When problems arise,they have a competent staff to assist all of your needs! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Stamford Hotel for your recent retreat and for your high recommendation. Our associates always desire to take care of the needs of all our guests and to create a memorable experience for them. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and we truly appreciate your many kind comments. The next time you are in the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We spent 3 nights at this Hilton hotel. The rooms are OK and the lobby was spacious. It's a good alternative when you are visiting New York by car. It's about 35 minutes away from New York and you will save a lot on Hotel and parking costs.
What I liked most about this Hilton was Millie, our breakfast waitress. She was very attentive, positive and friendly. Her advice and tips about getting to New York were great!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at the Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. We are pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location near New York City. Another option for easy access to the city is our complimentary shuttle service that will take you to the Stamford Metro North station free of charge. It is also gratifying to hear that a member of our staff made your stay especially enjoyable. We will pass along your kind words to her. Please come back and stay with us again for more great service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Everyone from the front desk (check in), concierge lounge staff, to the engineering staff clearly go out of their way to make their guests comfortable. Rooms were "well equipped" and clean. I did have a problem with the thermostat and engineer Allan Quell was quick to assess the problem (with a big smile!). I would stay here again!

Room Tip: I can certainly attest to the rooms on executive level being updated, clean and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

All of us at the Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center are a team, working together to provide the finest service and accommodations for our guests. Therefore, it is extremely gratifying to receive your high praise for our staff. Please know that your kind words will be forwarded to our associates, especially the staff member mentioned by name. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit. Be assured that you will receive the same friendly, professional service and that we will do all we can to make it another great visit. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

As a Diamond member, I was given a room on an executive level (FL9) so I can't attest to some of the photos recently posted, as my room and bathroom were updated and looked great. My room was nice spacious and, clean, the bed was Hilton's new bed and very comfortable. When I visited the lounge there was a great spread of appetizers and the lounge was big, comfortable and, well laid out, managers also were interacting with the guests, making sure everyone was comfortable and that any issues were addressed. Overall I thought this hotel met and slightly exceeded the Hilton standard.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank detroitexpatriate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

It is great to read that the Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center exceeded your expectations. We are pleased that you enjoyed one of our newly renovated guest rooms and our extremely comfortable Hilton Serenity Bed®. It’s also great to know that our staff and amenities made your stay even more memorable. As a Hilton HHonors™ Diamond member, we highly value your loyalty to the brand and will do everything we can to make each visit superb. In fact, that is our goal for each of our guests. Thank you for your comments and please come back for more Southern Connecticut hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

They did a great job on the atrium lobby but neglected the executive floor (9). Peeling paint in shower, bathroom door hanging off hinge and generally a tired room greeted us. Valet parking was a joke, no one there to greet us 3x, so I locked my car and left it by the shuttle van I/F/O hotel. Some of the worst Hilton service U have experienced. Location is great and breakfast was above average, but maybe Hilton should focus on the namesake properties instead of the HI's and HGI's.... just saying

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarynpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StamfordHilton, General Manager at Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

We’re glad that our location and our hot breakfast buffet were to your liking. However, we understand that other elements of your stay with us were not what you expected. The service you received from our Valet Team is certainly not a standard we want to convey and your comments will be shared with them in order to correct any further occurrences. Our hotel guest rooms were recently refurbished as part of a multi-million dollar renovation, so your description of your room greatly concerns us. Please be assured that we will review your comments and look for ways to improve so that on your next visit, we will impress you in every way. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.9 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
Sheraton Stamford Hotel
#1 of 14 in Stamford
550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#3 of 14 in Stamford
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center

Address: 1 Stamford Pl, Stamford, CT 06902-6718 (Formerly The Westin Stamford)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Stamford
Price Range: £94 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside of New York City -- with access to Amtrak, Metro-North and I-95 — the recently renovated Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center offers the ideal combination of convenience, comfort and courteous service. Following a multimillion-dollar renovation, our hotel boasts newly refurbished guest rooms, spacious suites, and state of the art event and meeting space. Unwind after a long work day at our restaurant and lounge, serving American cuisine and cocktails throughout the day. Or relax in our sparkling swimming pool or heated whirlpool. Surrounded by dynamic businesses and local attractions, our upscale accommodations will enhance your upcoming visit or corporate gathering. A popular choice among Stamford hotels, the Hilton is a landmark destination with easy access to both Boston and New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Stamford Hotel & Executive Meeting Stamford
Hilton Stamford Hotel And Executive Meeting Center
Hilton Hotel Stamford
Stamford Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing