We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
26
50
34
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
50
34
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bit dated free parking juice and coffee water pressure into nyc comfy bed would stay again nice breakfast walking distance fresh fruit carbs microwave channels printer mall
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Old hotel but in good condition. Free parking. Room is clean, confortable and big. A good place to visit New York; 15 min walk to the train station, and 45 min for the express train or 1 hour for a local train to get to Grand Central Station (18.5 $ for a round trip). The free breakfast is not extraordinary.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Lobby: a bit dingy and outdated, but this is irrelevant. Staff at front desk: efficient but a bit cold, unfriendly and curt. Hallways: stinky musty smell like a cheap apartment building, Occasional whiffs of cigarette smell even on smoke-free floors' halls. Only one tired, old elevator. Room: clean, for the most part. Slight stinky smell that was mostly aired out by opening a window. Bathroom: spacious and clean, with a tub. Don't use the nasty tasting, self-pasted toothbrush. Bed fairly comfortable for this type of hotel, but not enough pillows. Parking is free and adequate, but (some parts) too small for easy maneuverability. Breakfast: not really breakfast. Coffee (which I did not try) and juice (meh), and some store-bought pastries. You get just enough energy and carbs to get you started on your day.

Best qualities: Excellent free wireless internet connectivity, spacious room with writing table, clean bathroom, in-room fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, good darkening drapes

Negative: Very close to I-95 highway (about 2 blocks away) makes for very loud noise. Highway noise worse at night, when soft, restful hum of traffic frequently interrupted by loud noise of trucks and piercing whines of motorcycles. The train sounds, however, are not so bad. Buy ear plugs because, unless you are a sound sleeper who can sleep through the sound of a lawn mower, you're going to need them.

Overall, not a bad hotel if you need to be in the Stamford area for only a few days. Not recommended for a longer, recreational stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway side.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWanderingLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

What a great find! The room decor, the bed (oh, so comfy!) and the bathroom, which I am very fussy about, was spotless. My first visit was this past weekend, May 14, and I could not have been happier with my choice due wholly on TripAdvisor reviews. The Stamford area is more than I ever expected. Lots of restaurants, pubs, shopping, and movie theatre all in the town and walking distance from the hotel. It was a wonderful getaway and I will definitely return. Staff are all friendly and accommodating. Thank you, Amsterdam, for a great weekend stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenslongtimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We visited Amsterdam Hotel this weekend and had a wonderful experience. The rooms were beautiful, clean and their service was always with a smile. When we searched for hotels, the representative on the phone was very patient, helpful and pleasant. He absolutely made our decision for choosing this hotel over others. and we're glad we did! the kids had a great time, and they let us use the coffee room for our parties. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieeinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This is a very good hotel for the price charged. We were there for 8 days just after the February snowstorms and the service was very good. Big rooms, very clean with fluffy clean towels each day. Good heating in rooms though breakfast room was cold. Rooms have fridge and microwave, free internet good breakfast.
Location is convenient especially for Enterprise car rental, shops and good Italian restaurant and so so Chinese take out.
My third time to stay there and I will be happy to go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews