We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Amsterdam is old and worn but clean and efficient.”
Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed here at the Amsterdam Hotel for four days at the beginning of July. The weather was beastly hot, as were certain parts of the room. The wall air unit blew across the head of the bed so the top of my body was cool but the rest of the room maintained a temperature about 20 degrees hotter. The windows open part way, but I was a bit leery of them because they weren't really sealed into the window frame and I thought perhaps the glass window might fall out of the frame and crash into the parking lot below.

The Amsterdam is old and worn but clean and efficient. There are two elevators, one of which worked on and off during my stay. The breakfast room is nice. The lobby is open and airy. The shuttle service is handy. There are no restaurants in the immediate area other than fast food, but if you are up for a walk, you can get to the main part of the city within 10 mins. Enterprise rental cars are right next door so the hotel is quite handy to car rentals and Taco Bell and Walgreens. There isn't much in the immediate surrounds other than Ma and Pa convience stores and one off ethnic restaurants (peruvian, mexican, domincan) that didn't appear to be open when I was there.

The room had a microwave AND a fridge, both of which I needed/wanted in a hotel room. I would really have enjoyed a toaster and my room would have been complete. The room was not large, but it came but with the amenities needed to have a nuclear late night dinner or snack; a place to keep water and snacks cold, and a microwave to warm up what I wanted warm.

Don't look for luxury here, but it IS a clean, extended stay convenience hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciarrasbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just came across this hotel by chance we had a voucher which made it cheaper. The hotel was very clean and the staff were great. I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in the area.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dilysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

If you are looking for a flashy new property best to look elsewhere.
However if you want an inexpensive and clean property near the heart of Stamford you have found the right place.
An older property run by efficent and friendly staff with excellent rates and plenty of free off street parking.
Easy continental breakfast, good hot coffee, juice, fruit and pasteries.
Small but clean and seldom used exercise room, two elevators at seperate parts of the facility.
The rooms are a bit dated, bathrooms have been refurbished and the whole place is well kept.
I have stayed there many nights for business and they have a fast and free wifi connection.

Room Tip: go with the king sized room, many times there is no extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wharfside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We have stayed at the Amsterdam approximately four times. Each stay was very pleasant and the staff very helpful. On one visit we left our checbook and they promptly mailed it back. The rooms are very clean, and the the best internet service and the best value for the money

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peggy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Recently during the power outage in CT, we were forced to find a place to stay with heat & water. Ended up in this place. Mistake, a big mistake. Prices were nearly $80 higher than what the Hilton was charging, of which we were not aware at the time. Believe me, if we had, we wouldn't have stayed at the Amsterdam.

Don't trust making an on-line booking for this hotel. On three occasions, we heard families trying to check in, holding their printed reservations. Front desk staff consistently said they had no record of same. Folks were offered smoking rooms instead of what they'd reserved, and at a $20 premium. Nice "bait and switch" tactic.

Front desk staff, in almost all cases, spoke nearly unintelligible English & were abrasive to guests to the nth.

Rooms are on the smallish side; decently furnished. HVAC system quirky at best. Bathroom was clean at least, but minimal toiletries/amenities. Bed, not that comfortable. View from our room was pleasant though.

Included breakfast, at the price we paid, was spartan...totally!

Avoid this place if you can. Run by a bunch of very unpleasant price gougers, who take advantage of people in dire straits.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abernathy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We have been displaced by the October 2011 Snowstorm in the Northeast. With no electricity, heat or water we decided to try to find a hotel. By the time we made that decision there was not much of a selection so we settled on the Amsterdam. You know, it's not horrible; they have decent wireless internet, plenty of hot water/heat and the room we have is quite large with two queen beds. I am happy we can flush the toilet and take a shower and stay connected to the world. It is pretty clean but the furnishings and fabrics are kind of cheesy and synthetic. It is ok for what it is, basically a two star hotel at best. The location is very good, close to the center of town; you can walk to all that you need. A very modest breakfast is included in the rate. I think the normal rate for the room is about $109 (smaller rooms are cheaper), but, we paid, because of the demand caused by the storm, $179. I overheard them quoting $250 as I was checking in. It was a little disturbing to hear them take advantage of the situation in this way but that's free the free market. I suppose when you can get a queen room(one bed) in Stamford for under $100 with breakfast and free parking you are saving some money. So it depends on what you are looking for, amenities and ambience or savings. They have a good location and if they refurbished a bit they would have a nice hotel. I guess limiting their investment makes a better business case.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JB88fml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We decided to stay here as we were hiring a car at JFK airport and exploring the east coast of the USA. We wanted to book the first hotel. It was about a 45 minute drive from JFK. The Amsterdam Hotel was very comfortable. Brekkie was included, it was a simple continental breakfast which was bread and cakes and coffee and orange juice. Downtown Stamford was a ten minute walk down the road, there were a few restaurants and the mall stayed open quite late. We were only here for one night but It was a good start to the holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyGuyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stamford hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stamford
Crowne Plaza Stamford
#3 of 14 in Stamford
393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stamford / New York City
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stamford
0.4 mi away
Stamford Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Address: 19 Clarks Hill Ave, Stamford, CT 06902-3801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stamford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Stamford
Price Range: £75 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome... Our tastefully decorated European style hotel is located in downtown Stamford, CT. It is just off the I-95 and close to Stamford train station. We are just a short train journey to New York City providing an ideal cost effective base for either business or pleasure trips. Our guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and come with cable TV, mini-fridges, microwaves and coffee makers. The hotel also offers free wifi throughout, complimentary continental breakfast and a fitness center. The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle service, which is available for guests making journeys in and around Stamford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Stamford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing