We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
26
50
35
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
50
35
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bit dated free parking juice and coffee water pressure into nyc comfy bed would stay again nice breakfast walking distance fresh fruit carbs microwave channels printer mall
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Outdated standard-hotel with formal staff. But a good choice if you want to go to New York by train and drop of your rental car here. Our room type : 1 king-size bed and 1 play pen (without surcharge). Breakfast : croissants, muffins, donuts, toast, cornflakes, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and orange juice. The breakfast corner is not really cosy, but the food is ok. Places to eat nearby : there’s a shopping mall with restaurants close by. Parking space : enough, without surcharge. Computer : PC with free internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zappatozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

My friends and I rented a room for one night as we were came in from Hartford for a night out. The man at the front desk was extremely rude to us as we had only specified 2 people and were bringing 4. He charged us 2 extra person fees and showed very poor customer service the whole time. I've stayed at dozens of hotels where my "hotel search" indicates 2 people and we squeeze 6 in there without any grief from the staff. If you do have to say here, make sure you search with the right number of people, or make sure they don't notice you have more.

The hotel feels old the moment you walk inside. The elevator scared us everytime we stepped in it. The floor buttons looked like they were covered in white paint or something. The beds and pillows were horrible. There is no view whatsoever, just some old junked up lot. The towels were hard, the creature comforts like soaps and shampoos were low-grade. No lock on the bathroom door. C'mon, splurge a little bit for your guests.

All of us woke up feeling congested and sick from what we guessed were dirty air vents and a/c units.

There is a holiday inn right across the street that I'm sure would be a better choice. We felt this hotel cut corners to save money but they lost us as customers forever. I don't think I saw one smile out of any of the staff members the entire time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agferna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed for one night while travelling. Most important for us is to have a clean room, bed and shower. The hotel absolutely met this criteria and there's nothing I could complain. Also the breakfast was quite good and with a good choice; for those who don't like that: there's a Taco Bell at the next corner.
The location of the hotel is good, I think this is Stamford's business district; its close to the interstate, so you can easily reach the hotel, however there was no real noice from traffic etc.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rukola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Room was good. Beds were comfortable. They had a breakfast the next morning. It was a nice place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We were driving from North Carolina to Boston and used the Amsterdam as a stopover. It was a great choice - clean, helpful, a great night's sleep. We ate breakfast at the IHOP about 3 miles away, got on CT 15 and headed out to Boston. It will definitely be our stop again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raleigh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews