We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonington
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The room is cheap, but not that cheap to expect a stench of cigarette smoke and finding your room BOOKED to SOMEONE ELSE because the office didn't understand what 2 nights meant and instead booked me for two days, which makes no sense. I ended up stranded as there were no more rooms left. The office even argued with me and refused to give me a copy of my receipt, which I wanted for my records. Stay elsewhere, unless you like poor service, getting argued with, and stale rooms stinking of smoke.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Disgusting !!!!! The shower had mold in it. The sheets looked as if they weren't washed from prior people. Found hair on my pillow. The staff was rude and unhelpful. All I have to say is if your looking to book here look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larson2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Upon arriving room was stifling hot, we had to put on the AC to make it comfortable enough to sleep. The room was clean, did have a musty smell to it, the TV didn't work but it was 1 am so we didn't bother reporting it. The toilet ran all night loudly, we kept the door closed but could still hear it. I did call for directions prior to arrival but could not understand the woman on the phone, all I got was Route 1 and 3 miles after the police station, fortunately it was enough to find it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRgtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed here two nights. The staff was friendly and let me check in early. The room was clean. The wifi connection was high speed. The location was very convenient to Stonington. The price was great. My only complaints are that the room was small and the tap water tasted bad. If you're looking for an inexpensive place to rest your head, this place is okay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickZoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was a last minute change of plans and we failed to read the reviews. Lesson learned! This place is off the beaten path and the picture is definitely touched up. Its old and run down. The room smelled like mold, beds didn't have fitted sheets, and lighting was poor. Bathroom very small, no space to store personal hygiene products.
Will never be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We arrived late (around 10.30pm). The lady at the check-in alsmot didn't speak English and it was very difficult to make ourselves understood, just giving our name. She was on the phone when we arrived and stayed on the phone the whole process of checking-in, which added to the difficulty. She kept staring at us with a very suspicious look, asked for our name I don't know how many times, but finally gave us a key. Our room was the very last one at the very edge of the motel, whereas the first couple rooms were occupied in a row; plus, while we were struggling to open the door (broken lock), another couple arrived, checked in and were given the next room closer to the reception, following the other occupied rooms. The key wouldn't work, we returned to the lady to tell her the lock was broken. She asked for our name again (she was still on the phone) and kept saying that we didn't have a reservation, although she had found our name and reservation number a couple minutes ago. She kept handing us the phone, screaming "no reservation, no reservation", I don't know why she insisted on handing us the phone. After a long language+logic struggle, she finally gave us another key, among the lighted and occupied rooms, I felt safer. (There is almost no outside lights, only the hallway leading to the doors is lit up, when you reach the trunk of your car you're in the dark, and the very edge of the motel next to the broken vending machine in the darkness did not look appealing).

The room was very small but clean. The furniture was very used, covered in cuts and blows, the mirror was barely hanging on the wall, but it was vaccumed and the sheets and towels were clean. There was a fridge (unplugged, so not cold) and a microwave, which was a good surprise as they often come as a supplement or not at all. The bathroom was also very clean, no strange smell or mold. The curtains in the bedroom were sewn in the middle, impossible to open them to look through the window. The bed was clean and comfortable, but we could hear everything from the other rooms, including a man yelling on the phone for a couple hours.

Worth the very cheap price we paid, but the lady at the reception was very, very aggressive and unefficient, and quite scary to say the truth.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Hotel is old and room was poor at best. Don't know why a slightly cheaper hotel (and not cheap either) can't deliver basic amenities.
Light over bed did not work (no bedtime reading)
Most of the wall plugs were dysfunctional (could not run air conditioner and charge phone at the same time)
Room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke (bad air and windows wouldn't open)
Worst bed we ever slept in.

Will not come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
6.8 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
808 reviews
4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 13 in Mystic
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
776 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inn at Stonington
Inn at Stonington
#1 of 3 in Stonington
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic

Address: 812 Stonington Road, Stonington, CT 06378 (Formerly Sea Breeze Inn)
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stonington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonington
Price Range: £27 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Stonington/Mystic. We are located on Route 1, only four miles from Mystic attractions and ten miles from Rhode Island. While staying with us be sure to visit the Old Lighthouse Museum, Mystic Aquarium, and Mystic Seaport Museum. Relax with a day at the Misquamicut State Beaches, Historic Stonington Village, or Old Mystic Village. Gamblers can try their hand at Foxwoods Resort Casino or the Mohegan Sun Casino. Connecticut College is also nearby. Enjoy a delicious meal at one of the local restaurants including the Dog Watch Cafe, Skipper's Dock, and A Taste of India. Come enjoy our quiet and convenient location and pay less than at other Mystic area hotels. We are a 100 percent smoke free hotel offering affordable rates, comfortable accommodations, and a friendly front desk staff to help you feel at home. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access available in our guest rooms and lobby. Take advantage of our business center with fax and copy capabilities. Spend some quality family time outside in our picnic area. Step into the privacy of your own large guest room with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV, clock radio, iron, ironing board, and free local calls. Sorry, no pets allowed. Children age 18 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. At Americas Best Value Inn Stonington/Mystic, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Stonington/Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Stonington
Sea Breeze Hotel Stonington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing