We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal”
Review of Dog Watch Cafe

Dog Watch Cafe
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Stonington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The meal, view and service was just perfect. In fact so good we had to make a second visit. The lobster Mac & cheese was amazing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mlouis7158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    211
    42
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
“Grace under Fire”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Dog Watch bartenders and staff possess all of the qualities any customer dining out could ask for, and is why the establishment is so established. LOYAL and regular Dog Watch customers can appreciate the charismatic and pleasant personalities of the entire staff, especially the “bartender” and therefore we can recognize how fortunate we are to receive such great customer service with consistency, dedication and enthusiasm. Staying focused while dealing with large numbers of happy people who are thirsty and hungry is hard enough. Its poor attitudes like yours that can cost a great establishment good customers and money so if you really love Dog Watch you should keep your negativity to yourself and find somewhere else to dine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SWSF313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“need a new bartender”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

we are locals in Stonington and love the Dog Watch Cafe--great food and a great setting. The problem we have, however, is with J**, the bartender. He is never friendly or attentive to us (or to anyone else at the bar), and is constantly texting or searching on his phone. It is rude and disrespectful and always detracts from our experience at Dog Watch. Come on, Dave, you can do a LOT better!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tgc-ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level Contributor
164 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice surprise, good food”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Just stopped in looking for a good restaurant on Friday night. Calamari was very good with a twist. Overall good food and fast service. I would go again but live 70 miles away. But next time I am in the area. . Will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great little restaurant”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

we were visiting Mystic Ct., and went to this restaurant with friends who live in the area. The restaurant is pleasantly decorated and the menu is diverse and full of great seafood options. I had the cod, which was absolutely excellent. Others at the table had the scallops (also yummy) and the bouillabaisse (it too was good). Our companions eat here often and rave about the food. The prices are reasonable as well, this is a good choice if you are in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dog Watch Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dog Watch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing