We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Great Staff = Great Place to Stay”
Review of Inn at Stonington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Stonington
Ranked #1 of 3 Stonington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Hard to find something negative to say. We used the Inn as a jumping off point for the Rhode Island beaches which were 20 minutes away and for Mystic, CT which is closer. The accommodations were great, the rooms very comfy and adequately sized. Bathroom had a shower and a jacuzzi and amply sized. We stayed in a village side room, but since we didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room we didn't miss the water views of the "seaside" rooms. Noise, from the outside or from other guests was never an issue. The common rooms are well furnished and large enough so we never felt crowded. The rear deck is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy the sailboats gliding by while enjoying a complimentary glass of wine.

We stayed in the main building. There is an annex which is just across a driveway, but for the sake of convenience, the main building is a better choice. The staff was incredibly competent, extremely nice and always very willing to assist the guests. They made us dinner reservations both in the borough and in Mystic - their recommendations were excellent.

We won't hesitate to stay there again!! An "A plus" place

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. "Seaside" rooms (really a beautiful bay) are larger and have a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich - Dotti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed one night - what a treat - the inn is immaculate - room was large - beautifully decorated-
- great bath with jacuzzi and all the amenities! Breakfast was delicious - ate outside on the patio overlooking the Long Island sound. Annamarie and Susan were gracious - efficient and accommodating. Annamarie delivered cup of hot tea to our room after dinner on the night we arrived! Service was excellent. Location is walking distance to all little shops and restaurants. We will return!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenie12348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at the Inn. It was great both times. The rooms are large, well decorated, and well furnished, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are gorgeous. We stayed in high season, and expected noise from the parking lot and restaurant betrween the rear of the Inn and the water, but in fact it was very quiet. Our room this time was No.7, with a small balcony overlooking the Sound, and it was a treat to sit out there and watch the boats coming in as the sun sank slowly over the horizon. The continental breakfasts are more than adequate and the complimentary wine and cheese in the early evening are a good way of metting other people. The staff are friendly, and the whole place is well organised. If the Inn is looking for a suggestion to enhance guest experience even further, we would recommend tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but this is a minor point. We will certrainly be making the 3.000 mile trip to Stonington again soon.

Room Tip: You do not need to pay extra for a water view to get a good room - the town view rooms are cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickchickuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

Dropped in without a reservation last week and was lucky there was a vacancy. Room was good. Comfortable but nothing special. Oversized bathroom was well fitted. Public rooms were very nice including a lounge and two terraces overlooking the Water. Adjacent car parking could be tricky but on street nearby probably ok. Continental breakfast was ok. Great location for the town.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njt921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

There is just nothing not to love about the Inn at Stonington. The room we had, Number 5, Seaside view, second floor -- is highly recommended -- ideal view of the harbor; quiet at night; so well appointed that we were taking pictures of it before we left! Staff did everything they could to insure our visit would be pleasant. Breakfast was great (make sure you try the carrot bread). Wine and cheese at 6 p.m. was a lovely end of day event. This is a memorably pleasant, near-perfect getaway.

Room Tip: Room 5, again, is an ideal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ted006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just had a terrific stay at the inn - beautiful water views right in the heart of the boro close to shops, restaurants, boat/kayak rentals, and historic buildings. Highlights included the friendly staff, comfortable four-post bed, free high-speed internet suitable for streaming video, great wine and cheese hour in the afternoons, fresh-baked breakfast treats, and a spacious room. My only (minor) critiques were the loud outdoor fan that cut into the back-porch tranquility, and NYC room prices. I will certainly be returning to the Inn for my next Stonington trip

Room Tip: Room 19 has a great view, and a ton of room, but is on the ground floor by the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My two adult sisters and I spent a magical two nights at this wonderful hotel. The location was superb - nestled in the heart of this lovely little New England village. We kayaked on the Long Island sound, shopped at an amazing discount clothing store, ate at a first rate seafood restaurant and biked to a magnificent small vineyard where we enjoyed live music and an amazing wine tasting - all within a 1-mile radius of this terrific Inn.

Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, afternoon wine and cheese on the back deck looking out towards the water was relaxing. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful.

I highly recommend this property for any kind of relaxing get-away! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
3.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
957 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
762 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
22.3 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
3 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Stonington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Stonington

Address: 60 Water St, Stonington, CT 06378-1423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stonington
Price Range: £155 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Stonington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonington is a Stonington Connecticut Bed & Breakfast located directly on the waterfront in the heart of Stonington Borough. Since opening, the Inn has been featured as 'Travel and Leisures' Inn of the Month and has also appeared in 'Coastal Living,''New York Times,''Boston Globe,''New York Magazine,''Boston Magazine,' and 'Delta Sky.' Untouched by commercialism, this charming village is one of the few surviving New England seaside towns that has retained much of its 17th and 18th century flavor. Classic examples of Colonial, Greek Revival and Federal architecture can be enjoyed on a stroll down any of its quiet, tree-lined streets. During your stay with us, be sure to take in "The Borough's" variety of restaurants, antique and gift shops, and galleries - all within walking distance from our beautiful Stonington Connecticut Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn at Stonington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Stonington Hotel Stonington
Stonington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing