We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful/ worth it”
Review of Inn at Stonington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Stonington
Ranked #1 of 3 Stonington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairplay, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful/ worth it”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This beautiful, amazing Inn is staffed by the kindest people. The back porch offers a great view of the harbor and is a wonderful place to eat the continental (great) breakfast. It is peaceful and homey/classy feeling. I couldn't sleep (no fault of the super comfortable bed) so I went down to the living/sitting room which has a large fire place and looked at the books on the table. It was comfortable and very safe feeling. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    50
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
257
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had the great opportunity to visit the Inn in September 2013. From the staff, to the rooms and terrific wine and cheese nightly, the Inn at Stonington is a great vacation spot. We will definitely return there one day.

My husband and I enjoyed borrowing the bikes and riding downtown as well as walking to and from dinner. You could park your car and forget about go by foot to a lot of beautiful spots including the park, ocean, beach, shops and restaurants.

The Inn at Stonington is a hidden gem. I can see why some guests said to us not to mention it to many other people as they wanted to keep it a secret - free of the fast pace of life!

Room Tip: Loved the suites facing the ocean. I can't recall the name of our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stearns5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We have stayed here only once, but will definitely be back. Park the car and just stroll this beautiful gem of a town for dinner, shopping (great little shops!), and just enjoying the ocean and sea air. The beds are comfy and the wine tasting was a surprise treat. Breakfast were okay...coffee was excellent. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Yes, will be back soon!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank costellery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uncasville, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband & I wanted to get away for Valentine's Day but there usually is a 2 night minimum. I was told by a friend this place was excellent and they do let you stay for just one night! We were greeted very pleasantly and even shown to our room and given a small tour. When we got there, they were offering wine & cheese to the guest, We thought that was great but our dinner reservations were just a few minutes away so we didn't check that out. My husband & I thought our room was beautiful and even joked about wanted to live there! :) There was a comfy queen sized bed, Jacuzzi & a fireplace. It was very romantic. The next morning we went upstairs with our coffee to the Harbor Room (a lounge area) and enjoyed the view & a great conversation. A great Valenine's Day!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The room was perfect for us. Highlights included gas fire place, jacuzzi tub, and a view of the water. We enjoyed the nightly wine & cheese and daily breakfast. Breakfast was nothing fancy but it was fine. All staff was very cordial and friendly. Staff helped us book a couples message. The only down side of stay was the sound of foot steps on stairs above our room, I am not sure if it was from the room above or stairwell. The Inn is a few miles from Mystic which was a nice plus for a quick lunch in that town to break things up. The town of Stonington was very quiet which I am sure changes in summer. One of the 3 restaurants in the town was closed for renovations so the Mexican restaurant we went to was very crowded, I think every person in town was there. We had a good time regardless of tight space and the food was very good.

Room Tip: We were on ground floor room 3. Rooms on upper floor would have a much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersLandN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A long weekend at the Inn is one of our favorite winter getaways! Every room has a fireplace making it cozy spot and perfect for winter. Be sure to catch wine and cheese in the early evening before heading off to dinner (all the spots in town are great, but I always enjoy Water St. Cafe). Always a pleasure to stay here and great for a couple's weekend getaway.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Inn at Stonington.

From the minute we walked in we felt at home. Friendly and warm reception which lasted the whole weekend.

We stayed in Room 11 which was even better than we expected. Wonderful view of the water, fireplace, cozy bed and a jacuzzi tub. Plenty of towels and a nice fluffy robe as well. Room was spotless as well as cheerful.

A buffet breakfast was waiting for us every morning. Fresh coffee, juice, hard boiled eggs, yogurt,sweet breads, muffins and bread for toasting as well as cereals. Enjoyed having breakfast in the public area, but you could also ask for a tray and bring it up to your room.

The Inn is in a perfect location. Walking distance to the quaint town and also to the "point".
Enjoyed lunch at Noah's. Very friendly staff and great food. Price is right as well. Visited several shops and the flea market on Saturday. Everyone had a story to tell us. Made for such an enjoyable visit.

We thought this was a special place full of special people.

Room Tip: Worth it to have an oceanview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonington
3.0 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
23.3 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
3.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Stonington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Stonington

Property: Inn at Stonington
Address: 60 Water St, Stonington, CT 06378-1423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Stonington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stonington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Stonington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Stonington is a Stonington Connecticut Bed & Breakfast located directly on the waterfront in the heart of Stonington Borough. Since opening, the Inn has been featured as 'Travel and Leisures' Inn of the Month and has also appeared in 'Coastal Living,''New York Times,''Boston Globe,''New York Magazine,''Boston Magazine,' and 'Delta Sky.' Untouched by commercialism, this charming village is one of the few surviving New England seaside towns that has retained much of its 17th and 18th century flavor. Classic examples of Colonial, Greek Revival and Federal architecture can be enjoyed on a stroll down any of its quiet, tree-lined streets. During your stay with us, be sure to take in "The Borough's" variety of restaurants, antique and gift shops, and galleries - all within walking distance from our beautiful Stonington Connecticut Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Stonington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Stonington Hotel Stonington
Stonington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing