We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Stonington
Nearby Hotels
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whaler's Inn(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$136
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Mystic)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
304
54
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
54
12
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesegas fireplacenew englandcontinental breakfasthard boiled eggsother guestsdog watchwater streetyogurtstonington boroughjacuzzi tubsmall balconywater viewwatch hilleach eveningparking lotrestaurants within walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2006

We stayed at this B&B as part of a 3 day getaway from the grind of living in NYC. The hotel was exactly what we were looking for - clean, modern decor and friendly staff. The fireplace in the room and the Frette robes were nice added touches. It was cold and windy, so we didn't get to use the terrace this time around. We will definitely go back, but will probably book a room on the second floor next time to avoid the noise of people walking around upstairs.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kgall25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2006

I have stayed at quite a few B&B's and this one was pretty nice. The room was clean and comfortable.The jacuzzi tub was great.
The location is in a very quaint little New England town.
What wasn't so nice was the woman at the reception desk. She was not very friendly,she did not show us around the inn (ie. where breakfast was served,the common rooms etc). We didn't feel that she was very hospitable and it gave us a poor first impression.We felt a bit neglected.
The bed was not all that comfortable, some of the pillow cases(or maybe it was the pillows) smelled bad. The breakfast consisted of tiny cereal bars,and small yogurts. It comes off as being cheap. I just think with the price and caliber of the Inn,breakfast should be more substantial. We had to get breakfast elsewhere.
It was a very nice place as far as accommodations go. We had a good time overall.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TransientTypes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
CT
110
Reviewed 7 February 2006

I have been fortunate to stay at many fine hotels through my travels but I have to say that this is the one I will continue to come back to. The one thing that comes to mind is the attention to detail. From the wonderful linens to the beautiful and cozy rooms I felt as though everything I needed was taken care of. We stayed in one of the seaside rooms and was treated to a beautiful view of Stonington harbour from my room and deck. The staff is excellent and knowledgeable and the town is lovely with some of the best restaurants I have been to in a while. Water Street Cafe, down the road from the Inn was fantastic!

The Inn offered both continental breakfast (fresh breads, cereal, fruit and yogurt) and a nightly wine and cheese which was a real treat to sit down and talk to fellow travelers or/ sit in front of the large fireplace in the livingroom.

I am already planning my next trip for March and can not wait to sit infront of the fire with a good book!

Stayed: November 2005
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2006

We stayed over on a cold Saturday night in the very off-season with little traffic or pedestrians. The staff was very friendly, warm and accomodating. The decor was relaxing and inviting with the smell of fresh baking bread. We watched the sunset over the harbor from the comfy third floor common room, and then joined the other guests in the lower common area for wine and cheese which was very tasty. We borrowed a video from their rather limited library and went to the room ("town side", street level) and read for awhile. I went upstairs to the guest computer and checked my emails, and then wandered down to the breakfast area, helped myself to some granola and staff provided me with a glass of milk to go with it.

About ten o'clock we turned in, the occassional car was not disturbing with the heavy blinds drawn, and fell asleep. At eleven o'clock we were awoken by someone rolling a cart over the cobblestones outside our window, then banging their way through the front door and clomping to the supply closet near our door. Then chit-chat, chit-chat, chit-chat, finally clomping away. Then trying to fall asleep again...people on the sidewalk outside our window talking!! They go away and sleep finally comes at midnight, uninterupted.

So, DON'T get a "town side" room or any room on the first floor if you are a light sleeper. The coffee and fresh cranberry bread in the morning was super, and other cereals and yogurt was available. We stayed as long as we could just enjoying the third floor common room and regretfully left. Our only other disappointments were the scratchy towels and toilet paper. It was an overall 95% enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rampant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2005

We visited the Inn at Stonington for an anniversary weekend, and we found pros and cons to this much-hyped inn.

Pros:

Room was beautiful, large, lushly furnished.

Beautiful gas fireplace in room.

Extremely comfortable bed with great pillows and very soft sheets; down comforter was twin sized, not king-sized (folded the wrong way at foot of bed).

A large assortment of books and refrigerator (empty)in room.

Cons:

Thin, scratchy towels. Would expect plush ones at an inn of this caliber/price point.

Very stingy with toiletries; for example, we opened a bar of soap one day, found the same one in the room the next day, no new bar left.

Very sparse continental breakfast (instant oatmeal, cold cereal, packaged pastries).

Wine and cheese in afternoon - cheese looked like it had been taken out of supermarket cellophane moments before. Again, not what you'd expect from this level of inn.

Although we arrived at the tail end of a blizzard, steps and sidewalks and parking areas were not shoveled and salted. Just walking from the parking lot to the inn was perilous.

Jacuzzi in room was shallow and only accommodated one person.

Harbor view was largely obstructed by restaurant behind hotel.

Despite advertisement of holiday gift wrapping special (where you could wrap gifts by the fire), innkeeper looked very suprised when we asked for wrapping supplies and said that we had to reserve that package (although website said that the supplies would be available every evening).

Town of Stonington is lovely but VERY small - one real street.

All in all, for $225 a night, I'd choose another hotel next time, but, mostly due to the very comfortable room, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews