We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone but Dog Watch Cafe is good” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skipper's Dock - CLOSED

Skipper's Dock
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gone but Dog Watch Cafe is good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We alway looked forward to a lunch at skips dock-Sad to see a favorite destination gone but dog watch cafe is just down the street and a fine replacement!

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    56
    29
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SKIPPERS CLOSED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Bartender has the worst attitude I've seen in years; don't miss him a bit. Food grossly overpriced. Choose Noah's or Water St for a real meal worthy of the expense. *Skippers Dock was featured in the movie Hope Springs* released last year

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MRS_SAMALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island ny
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We'll Miss You Skipper's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I have come over from Long Island for the past 3 years, ever since we first found you. Your Bouillabaisse was excellent, and the Lobster dip with the Flatbread chips outstanding. Sorry to hear you closed. We'll miss you and the wonderful meals we had there every summer. It just won't be the same without you. :(

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cac1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
171 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place but no longer open”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This place was one of the best deals in the area, but after many years, the lease was not renewed so it's very disappointing to see it go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Skipper's dock.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Skippers Dock sorry to say is no longer in business.Owner of the building took it over and I believe is opening a new upscale Restaurant.RIP Skipper's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skipper's Dock also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing