We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Swooner - CLOSED

Swooner
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very nice location, Nicely appointed dinning room and nice outdoor seating. Prices seem to be a bit high. Found no problem with the service, although the entrées took far to long to come. Price is also very high with everything being extra. Drink prices also were much to high. I guess the cost of redoing the building and being in such a great location on the water requires higher prices. This restaurant seems to cater more to the money that has permeated the Ct coast. This is a nice place but it is really trying to be only for the money people of the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cttravelrgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    22
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Maine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location and food”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Have been coming since they opened as we live in the boro. The food has always been good from day one. Favorites include fried artichokes and the tagliatelle bolognaise. The sundae and the dark chocolate tort are to die for. Service is good now, although a bit variable to start . They have always been friendly. We love the place.

Helpful?
4 Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Sea" Room For Improvement”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at Stonington, CT in April (wonderful place). I believe Swooner's had just opened that week. We knew of their other restaurant in Hudson NY, so we gave it a try. The food was delicious, the outside ambiance wonderful, inside decor o.k., noise level--terrible, and a few too many tables. If they removed one table-for-2 on all three sides of main dining area, conversation at your own table would be more enjoyable. As it was, I felt like I was talking with the tables on either side. One couple who were seated at a table between two 4-seat tables asked to be moved because they couldn't hear themselves talking! They were placed next to us and told us why they asked to be moved. With wood and water everywhere, there's nothing to absorb sound. As an option while staying at the Inn, it's convenient but as a returning guest, I don't see it, and as retirees eating out a lot, we'd like to see these areas of concern improved. The waitstaff was slow but we attributed it to opening week. We're going to try again before we opt out because the food was deliciously prepared!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SBD1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great View, Great Food, Great Service!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We went to Swooner despite being warned by others that the service was terrible. We were so pleased to find not only the food great, but the service as well! We loved everything about it...the scallops were ordered by 2 members of our party and were delicious. I had the fish special of the day and was very pleased with it. And the desserts were great; we had 2 for the table and both were delicious. And the view is to die for! We were staying at the Inn at Stonington and had requested they make reservations for us. When we walked in, they had the best table in the house waiting for us, right in the corner of the deck. We were able to snap picture after picture of the fantastic sunset. i would definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank topfuziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what we expected...............”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Well, first of all, we were excited to go to Skippers and enjoy a nice small meal or appetizer on the deck on a sunny Sunday ( June). We were surprised to see that the name had changed to Swooner, but that's okay...great atmosphere. The disappointment started when they stated they don't start dinner until 5 PM. Huh??? It's 3:20 PM and we are hungry!! You could get a drink and something from the raw bar but other than that.......oh well!! We figured we would at least look at the menu and then we were brought out to the outside open patio. I asked if we could sit in the covered patio area ( I've already had skin cancer, thank you) but the hostess said..well, you COULD......but, they try to seat in the open area. I saw the covered patio ready for dinner that we can't have... I am getting irritated... I sat in the open area under the umbrella and ordered a drink but didn't really feel like something from the raw bar, so relaxing plans in Stonington now changed. We saw some soccer kids with their parents come in...sorry, more business lost as hungry kids after soccer, don't want the raw bar. We ended up just gettin a drink and went to Mystic. Would like to come back when you serve food all day.....will that every happen?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bogus52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swooner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing