We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a break...”

William Benton Museum of Art
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Storrs
Attraction details
Greenfield MA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice place for a break...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were driving through the area, and thought we'd stop. First, the parking situation is horrible. Since we were there on a Saturday, after we parked we went in to ask about if we were probably parked, to find out we weren't. We couldn't tell as we didn't think the signs said we couldn't park there. We were told to go up the hill and park in Section 1's at the Nursing School since they don't ticket that on Saturdays. It worked out fine; but I don't understand at all how you would find parking on a regular class day (it was spring break when we were there). Our guess was you really were supposed to park at the Visitors' Center; and have a fairly lengthy walk to the museum.

The permanent collection on display is small. It doesn't tell you if there might be more and worth coming back. There was a terrific temporary exhibit about the Civil Rights Era via two particular photographers collection. The third small gallery had something to do with illustrations; but to tell you the truth I couldn't work out its meaning or which direction to look at it (and I visit art museums a lot). It's worth a visit if you are in the area, but I wouldn't go out of your way. The cafe was closed as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSharonGreenfieldMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice little free museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent part of a day on the UCONN campus and visited the Benton. There is a small but impressive permanent collection of classical art. Additional galleries had photography and contemporary art exhibits. It's not worth a trip by itself, in my opinion, but if you're in the area it's certainly worth a visit. Hard to argue with an hour or so of free entertainment. They do accept donations.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shoobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small Art Museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a small museum with a very good quality collection. They seem underfunded and some galleries were closed due to staffing. What was out was very good but it took less than a hour to see it all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrPaulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrs, CT
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A small museum with limited works.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The museum while in a nice building and good atmosphere is a bit small and therefore has limited exhibit space....all the more important to have exceptional works and shows. It has been a bit weak in some these.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank drdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
213 Mansfield ,Ct.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“totally amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

All of the Artwork at the William Benton Museum is something you must see to appreciate. It is absolutely amazing. So much talent. You must see to believe.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 213Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed William Benton Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to William Benton Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing