We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Nearby Hotels
Rodeway Inn(Willington)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashford Motel(Ashford)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Storrs(Mansfield Center)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
73
68
57
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
68
57
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnathan haleuconn campusplace to staycampus hotelgreat experienceblue oaknice staffroom was spaciousconvenient locationmy soneach morningnight staysecond floorconference centerstudent unionthe pubcollege tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here previously and usually enjoyed it but during this visit noticed that it appears much of the property is being used as a dorm for students, not really what you would expect for a somewhat expensive (for the area) hotel. I mean, when you stay at a hotel, you don't expect that you will be placed among a group of rooms where college students are residing. In addition, the rooms are badly in need of an update, carpet is old and stained in places and the furnishings leave much to be desired. Also, room service charges an excessive amount with a 20% gratuity as well as a $2.00 service charge per order, even hotels in NYC do not charge that much, and they include the service charge and tax with what they calculate the mandatory 20% gratuity on. The staff could also be more courteous; one of the housekeepers was particularly unpleasant, even barging in on us when the do not disturb sign was on. Let's hope they turn things around as the location is good and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lj9972016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Thank you for your time to provide you feedback and comments!

Being located on the top ranked UConn campus is the most convenient location when visiting. The Inn also compliments the Universities many programs and one is hosting international student groups in the summer and we are pleased to play our part and host these students.

We have some updates in the planning in addition to the upgrades already in place. We hope to have new TV's and in room refridgerators installed soon.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to see the changes.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I've been coming to the Nathan Hale Inn since it opened several years ago. It's a better hotel now than it has ever been and the location can't be beat -- the heart of Storrs, someplace which has never been served by any hotel before. The staff is helpful and friendly; the management does its best to make sure that everybody is taken care of. The restaurant, which used to be one of the weakest spots of the hotel, now serves a terrific breakfast (I haven't eaten lunch or dinner there in a while). The rack price still seems a little high to me, but there are off-peak weeks where a much more reasonable rate is offered. This is certainly the place to stay in the Storrs area -- the closest good hotel is in Hartford, which is an increasingly dreary place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baltimorecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Thank you for your feedback and kind words.

We look forward to your next visit in our area. Remeber if the timing works there are many great arts performances and venues and athletic events on campus, go Huskies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

When you need to be on the UConn campus early in the morning, or for a graduation, etc. The Nathan Hale Inn is the only game in town. Literally, they are the only hotel that is directly on campus.

Pros:

• Location, location, location
• Well kept, neat hotel
• Indoor pool

Cons:

• They began noisy construction under our window at 7am
• The price, $163 (higher at other times of year), is much more than you’d pay if you don’t need to be right on campus. The Baymont in Manchester (there are many such hotels in Manchester and Vernon, about minutes from campus) is nearly $100 less.
• No continental breakfast. We were told there were 2 restaurants but in fact one was open and breakfast for three was $30. Not terrible, but again, other hotels have continental breakfasts included in the price
• $8.00 for parking (Really? Is this Boston or NYC?). No other hotels in the area charge for parking
• The TV was sub par, with no hook ups for a DVD player. Most hotels today have TVs that, even if they’re not flat screen, have A/V connections
• Pillows were rock hard

In summary, if you absolutely have to be on the UConn Storres campus, this is your only option. Otherwise, save yourself money and stay in nearby Manchester or Vernon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fairbanks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and comments, we use them to focus on our efforts!

We enjoy playing our part at the top ranked University of Connecticut and are pleased to provide a convenient location and dining options.

We had some roof repairs during your stay and the schedule was for a start not before 10:00 AM. A sub joined the project and did not get the info, we are sorry for the interruption during your stay. Future work will take this into account.

Thanks again, we hope to have you as a guest on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Stayed at this hotel with my daughter while we were visiting UCONN. Our total bill with the parking fee (seriously?), the parking tax and state tax was over $176 for one night. We ate dinner at the Tavern. The food was horrible. Then we had to eat breakfast at the Tavern too because the Blue Oak restaurant was under renovations; breakfast was okay, not great, certainly better than dinner. There were signs everywhere on various rooms "under renovations". When we were leaving, we took up one of the luggage racks, left it outside our room for 5 minutes. When we came out with our bags to load up the cart it was gone! So we lugged all our bags downstairs. I mentioned it to the woman at the desk upon checkout. No response at all. Also when we left, only one side of the elevator was operating. There was yet another not on the other side of the elevator "out of order". Enough with the signs already. The only highlight of the trip was the maintenance guy who answered a call to fix our deadbolt. He arrived within minutes, was pleasant and professional and fixed the issue. Best service and attitude we had while we were there. Good news for him, with all the signs, he's guaranteed employment! Also the beds were comfortable and it was very quiet for sleeping.

But, if you can find another place to stay go there!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2sweet2bspoiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

My semester long stay at the Nathan Hale Inn can described in a word as "excellent". Combined with an ideal location directly on campus and a very helpful staff, the Nathan Hale Inn was a far better choice than any of the dormitories on campus (or off campus for that matter).

In hotel amenities such as the gym and pool provided a great relaxation spot when the school gym became too crowded or too far. Also, the Blue Oak Tavern provided a great place to entertain guests.

Most importantly however, was the friendliness of the staff and management. They were always willing to help resolve any potential issues in a swift and professional manner.

My stay was great, and perhaps it's what helped me get straight A's that semester.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivankrasnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews