We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay and very convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay and very convenient.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We really like the Nathan Hale Inn; we've been there several times now.

The staff is super-friendly, the hotel is clean & comfortable, the food in the onsite restaurant is above average, and the bed & pillows were really comfortable. I also appreciated the strong shower pressure!

The hotel was very busy during our trip though, and they ran out of some basic supplies, such as towels & cots. I'm sure they'll be rectifying this, though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thanks for your comments about the super friendly staff and comfortable accommodations. We receive many compliments about the nice pillows and shower pressure.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    47
    45
    21
    9
See reviews for
70
20
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

For $169 a night, the place shouldn't smell, have peeling ceilings in the hallway and bathroom. I am not super picky but when I have to wash all my clothes at the next hotel because the stank was that bad, well...

Room Tip: Choose a chain hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YourDickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and took advantage of our convenient location!

We have recently installed a Scent Air unit in our lobby like many hotels to add another atmosphere element with a White Blossom Tea fragrance - many have complemented on it. When the pool door is open off the lobby a touch of the chlorine also can be present.

We have completed many of our updating items this year, new lobby seating, Simmons Beautyrest bedding, new pillows, new banquet seating, HD TV's and service in the guestrooms, and carpeting. We have projects that will continue throughout the year!

Once again thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Storrs hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed for two weeks at the Nathan Hale Inn and had a chance "experience" the hotel. This is a 90's style property ala Comfort Inn/Days Inn. I'd give this property a 3.5 star rating but with facilities you'd find in business class hotels like a bar, restaurant, swimming pool and fitness center. Breakdown of the services I used when I was there:

1. Free WiFi was available throughout the hotel and this served me fairly well the two weeks I was there.
2. Bar: drinks were cheap and a nice selection of wines and beers on tap.
3. Restaurant: Serviceable breakfast. Servers are polite and happy to accommodate requests for changes to the menu.
4. Fitness Center: A tad small but all the standard exercise equipment are there.
5. Rooms: Generally clean and well-maintained. I appreciated that the A/C worked well when i visited on probably the hottest two weeks in Storrs.

Room Tip: Parties are held the Pavilion quite often so for light sleepers, I'd suggest one further away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks for your stay at the most convenient location for a UCONN visit!

We appreciate your comments regarding our servers and variety of refreshing beverages in the True Blue Tavern. We are glad you could take advantage of our great amenities.

The free WiFi is blazing fast and popular with all guests for meetings and in the restaurants as well as the guestrooms.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have stayed at the Nathan Hale Inn several times over the years. I was there most recently the week of July 14th - 20th. The lobby has made some improvements with new furniture and more seating and they have recently changed out the beds and pillows which were very comfortable. The decor is the same as it was last year. Same stuff in the display cases (some scary looking puppets that stare at you), same carpet and wallpaper. The staff at the front desk is top notch and very friendly. Chantelle and many others go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. The maintenance staff seem a little scary and I guess they hire challenged people as well because one woman near a vacume was screaming and punching herself in the head until she saw me and then she just ran off. Nice that she has a job and I applaude the hotel for giving her one.

The restaurant is decent. I have only eaten there once and found the food to be good but a little pricey. The Blue Oak Cafe Bar also has for the most part friendly bartenders. There is a strong funky odor around the bar itself like something is rotted or was not cleaned properly. There are also drain flies or fruit flies buzzing about which makes me wonder about the cleanliness of the spouts, glasses and other things.

The hotel is starting to show it's age. The two elevators are painfully slow for only having five floors and the upstairs Hallways and elevators themselves are sauna hot during the recent heatwave. The dresser in the room I was staying in had handles falling off the drawer and a chunk of wood knocked out of it. The bathroom sink drains way to slow so if you leave the water on and shave you will wait a good 5 minutes to be able to let it drain so you can rinse. Housekeeping or someone left some bloody towels on the floor in the vending are that I had to step over to get to the ice machine.

With all this said, the room air conditioner worked great, I slept well, it was quiet and the room itself although worn, was clean with the excepton of some dried milk like spots on the dark blue body pillow (yuck don't wanna know). I will go again. It's the only game in town but if something newer comes in the area, they will have to do some major upgrades to compete!

Room Tip: The Ice Machines are only on the 3rd and 5th floors so if thats important and you don't want a l...
See more room tips
Green Features: Usual stuff, hang the towel if you will use it again, drop it in the tub if you want new ones.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Welcome back and we hope you enjoyed the visit to UCONN during peak conference season. It is always a pleasure to be part of the campus related events during this time.

We partner with many community organizations and do hire some very hard working folks - it makes a difference!

The Ballard Institute of Puppetry and Museum on campus is a one of a kind and we have been pleased to offer them some space to display items from the museum. It has been a hidden gem on the Depot Campus and we are excited the entire display will be moving to the new Storrs Center at the COOP Store which is expanding this fall.

We have shared your feedback with guest services and we appreciate the information. We hope to see you again for the next conference season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I spent two nights at the Nathan Hale Inn while visiting UConn on business. I liked it better than I expected, though it wasn't a place to rave about. The room was spacious, and the bed quite comfortable. I would have happily slept for longer there! Free wifi was faster than normal for hotels, even at peak evening hours. In room fridge and microwave were well appreciated. The bathroom was good - shower was only fine. In room coffee maker was falling apart, but the free coffee in the lobby in the mornings was appreciated. The main revelation of this visit to UConn is that Storrs is starting to have a downtown. Now you can walk 5 minutes from the NHI and find a cafe or other place to visit. This is progress.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thanks for you response and pleased you had a great stay! Our free WIFI is designed to be blazing fast and we are glad you took advantage.

Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We were on a college visit to UConn..because of distance etc wanted to stay the night..The hotel looks worn...but is clean..bed comfortable and served the purpose! The help is very friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback; It is good to hear that our on-campus location was a match for your needs. I will share your comments about our friendly staff with the team.

We have been busy working on property improvements; HD TV's, lobby carpet, new lobby furniture, speaker phones , and Simmons Beautyrest mattresses. For your next stay all our improvement elements will be in place!

We appreciate your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
674 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I LOVE Nathan Hle Inn, but you have to realize that there was no-such-place when I was a UConn student! The location is great, the food is better than average and the staff is always extremely friendly. It books up fast during special events, so plan ahead if you want the convenience of being on campus!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thanks for your comments and enjoyed our great food and prime on campus location!

We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storrs
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
14.7 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Manchester
13.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon
14.7 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
15.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center

Property: Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Address: 855 Bolton Rd, Storrs, Mansfield, CT 06268-1719
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mansfield > Storrs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, located on the historic campus of the top-ranked University of Connecticut in Storrs, and offering visitors a convenient upscale full-service alternative to hotels in Manchester or Hartford. Set in the heart of campus, across from Storrs Center, the Nathan Hale Inn is the perfect destination for alumni, sports enthusiasts, parents and potential students. Whether you are traveling on business or for pleasure, the full-service Nathan Hale Inn is a top choice for hotels in Connecticut. Named after Connecticut's Revolutionary war hero, the Nathan Hale Inn offers sophisticated New England hospitality against a backdrop of rural beauty. We've got the best full-service choices and premium guest rooms for UConn alumni, guest speakers, visiting parents and Husky fans. Hartford and Manchester hotels cannot compare to our unique setting and unbeatable location in the heart of historic University of Connecticut Storrs campus and across from Storrs Center. 100 premium guestrooms at the Nathan Hale Inn & Conference Center provide a convenient base of operations for business travelers or families visiting the University of Connecticut's scenic main campus in Storrs. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants with lounge, heated indoor pool and spa, and fitness center. UConn cultural, Storrs Center, and sports events are only steps away. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect place to plan your seminar, wedding, reunion or conference, with a personal conference planner at your service. We offer versatile meeting rooms and our elegant three-season pavilion that accommodates up to 250 and the adjacent Rome Commons Ballroom is 10,000 square feet and can host large events within a short walk to Storrs Center. Choose from our Nathan Hale's two full service restaurants for dining experiences that range from elegant to casual, or relax in our lounge. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect convenient base of operations while visiting the University and is convenient to the many UConn cultural activities and sports events. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants and a lounge, indoor pool, fitness center and Jacuzzi. The Inn is also certified as Green & Sustainable lodging by the state of Connecticut and is a perfect site for Green & Sustainable meetings and conferences. Our location across from Storrs Center can't be beat and our goal to provide you exceptional service makes Nathan Hale Inn the best choice for visitors. Make the Nathan Hale Inn your full-service oasis on campus, with contemporary flair and a convenient alternative to hotels in Manchester and Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nathan Hale Hotel Storrs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing