We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

The property is clean and very convenient to the UConn campus. The hotel needs an update overall and looks well used. If you have reason to be at UConn, this is really your only good option. There is a restaurant in-house that serves standard food that will do the trick.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Floridagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for taking advantage of the great on campus hotel location at the University of Connecticut. Our housekeeping team cares and ensures a clean stay. We have the best location if you are attending an athletic event at UCONN.

We have implemented some updates for your next visit and we hope you travel this way again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Bed was a little too soft for me but comfortable. Room was large and clean with a decent flat screen TV. However, the bathroom needs work. Wallpaper peeling off the walls and paint peeling off the ceiling. The shower is sub par - I've stayed in hundreds of hotels across the world and this hotel wins the award for the lowest water flow in a shower that I have ever seen. I mentioned the low flow problem at the front desk and was told they would get maintenance on it - they never did. For me a good room experience is simple - a good nights sleep with a good shower. They failed at the shower part, and also in their maintenance response.

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor. Very poor water flow out of the shower head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank for the comments about your stay and glad you enjoyed the large room and HD TV's. We also have very fast wireless internet with our HD programming.

We have a renovation program underway in the bathrooms and we apologize during your stay we were replacing a hot water storage tanks which temporarily affected pressure.

We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel is located on the campus of UConn. I was there visiting with my son. It may be a little pricey but the convenience is worth it. There are not many hotels nearby. The room was comfortable and clean. Had dinner in the bar/lounge which was a little disappointing: the burger was underdone and there was a hair in my soup. Breakfast in the restaurant the next day was very nice: french toast, scrambled eggs and vanilla coffee was delicious. I would go back again mostly for the convenience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rain63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thanks for your comments about your enjoyable stay on campus. Breakfast is a favorite of many guests and you choose one of our best sellers - glad you found it delicious!

We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel came highly recommended to us by friends from the New England area, and they were spot on. We loved the hotel being on the UCONN campus for the local meeting; how convenient is that? From the moment of our arrival at Nathan Hall, the front desk was extremely helpful with all of our travel needs. It was such a pleasure to deal with employees who seemed to enjoy their jobs. They recommended the hotel for dining. We hesitated, as hotel food is not typically known for being high quality, but since all of their other recommendations had been so helpful, we decided to give it a try and were pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious. The atmosphere in the bar was fun and lively, and the drinks were fairly priced. Updates are needed at the hotel, but our room was clean, and that is what is most important.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bulldog_Lover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thanks for your comments about your great stay at the Nathan Hale Inn. We will share your complimentary comments with the staff about their friendliness and great food!. Also the housekeeping team will be pleased with your room cleanliness.

We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Unlike most who probably stay here specifically for UConn, I stayed here to visit friends, and this was one of the few (only?) hotels in the area. I do enjoy a college environment, and it has been a while since I stayed in such an atmosphere. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I did not experience the "college spirit" reported by some of the other reviewers. I absolutely loved the pub in particular. My stay went smoothly, and whatever minor issues I had were addressed promptly by a very courteous and attentive staff.

Based on my personal experience, I would (and have) recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0sim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for comments on your great stay! The on campus location can't be beat and the True Blue Tavern is a on the short list of dining spots to capture the UCONN flair.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I have stayed here in the past for an annual sporting event at UConn and was there again this summer. I was reminded once again as I walked through the lobby several times on my way in and out how unfriendly the front staff is. No one ever looks happy to be working here. There was no one even at the front desk on multiple occasions as I passed through. The place is tired. The room directory still lists the old Friendly's restaurant that has been closed for a year, but fails to even mention the newer restaurants that have opened across the street from campus. Everything feels very basic about this hotel, from the décor with the old-fashioned bedspreads, to the toiletries, the plastic tub/shower, chipped furniture, and lack of paper or notepads. Even the comments and suggestions form left in the room was printed with faded ink, and copied on a slant, basically summing up the sad state of affairs here.. My wake up call came about 45 minutes early. How does that happen? Why is there a parking charge when you are in the hinterlands, and there is no opportunity for street parking? Whey was the pool closed over an hour earlier than the posted time, with no explanation? The pillows are flat and uncomfortable. As for positives, all I can say is that the place is clean, and it is the only real option for UConn visitors. I often wonder why a chain hotel doesn't open in the area. There's plenty of land nearby, and goodness knows this place could use some competition. Or better management.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhiggins5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay.

I am sorry to see that some areas of your visit weren’t up to par and your comments have been shared with the appropriate areas for improvement.

Since your stay in June we have put in place new guestroom phones, Simmons Beautyrest Mattress, new lobby furniture, an HD TV in the lobby, new banquet seating, and enhanced the business services for guests in the lobby. This is in addition to adding new lobby carpet, ADA pool lifts, and HD TV’s in all guestrooms of the Inn.

Thank you for your response to our e-mails, we look forward to assisting with your future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our first time staying at UConn with our new student. The location can't be beat - it is actually in the campus and was closer to the heart of the campus than our child's dorm. The room was spacious, nicely appointed and clean. Be sure to eat at the Blue Oak restaurant - it was a huge surprise, surpassing our expectations for blah hotel food with delicious meals - from salmon to steak - with creative and tasty preparations. Grilled wild salmon was among the best I've had and a bargain at $20 for an entree. Restaurant menu has a lot of variety and kitchen was flexible and accommodated special dietary needs. The online breakfast special included with the room for around $15 is a bargain - delicious omelette/potatoes/fruit/toast every day. Delicious mixed drinks were perfect after a tiring day moving a student into the dorm. If you stay here you get to park on campus for free and the parking is much closer than the high-rise paid lot. The rooms have a desk and the lamp has extra plugs, perfect for charging phones/ipads/etc. Only one complaint: the pillows were much too hard.

Room Tip: Nice large rooms with two queen beds are very spacious. Ask for a room overlooking the hill/trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWriter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for your stay at the Inn and we are pleased to see you enjoyed our excellent on campus location.

Our food receives high marks and this make The Blue Oak and True Blue Tavern great choices for overnight guests or local visitors, your comments will passed to the chefs.

We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storrs
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
13.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
19.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hartford South/Glastonbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
14.7 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
5.3 mi away
Best Western Storrs
Best Western Storrs
#1 of 1 in Mansfield Center
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center

Address: 855 Bolton Rd, Storrs, Mansfield, CT 06268-1719
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mansfield > Storrs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
Price Range: £140 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, located on the historic campus of the top-ranked University of Connecticut in Storrs, and offering visitors a convenient upscale full-service alternative to hotels in Manchester or Hartford. Set in the heart of campus, across from Storrs Center, the Nathan Hale Inn is the perfect destination for alumni, sports enthusiasts, parents and potential students. Whether you are traveling on business or for pleasure, the full-service Nathan Hale Inn is a top choice for hotels in Connecticut. Named after Connecticut's Revolutionary war hero, the Nathan Hale Inn offers sophisticated New England hospitality against a backdrop of rural beauty. We've got the best full-service choices and premium guest rooms for UConn alumni, guest speakers, visiting parents and Husky fans. Hartford and Manchester hotels cannot compare to our unique setting and unbeatable location in the heart of historic University of Connecticut Storrs campus and across from Storrs Center. 100 premium guestrooms at the Nathan Hale Inn & Conference Center provide a convenient base of operations for business travelers or families visiting the University of Connecticut's scenic main campus in Storrs. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants with lounge, heated indoor pool and spa, and fitness center. UConn cultural, Storrs Center, and sports events are only steps away. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect place to plan your seminar, wedding, reunion or conference, with a personal conference planner at your service. We offer versatile meeting rooms and our elegant three-season pavilion that accommodates up to 250 and the adjacent Rome Commons Ballroom is 10,000 square feet and can host large events within a short walk to Storrs Center. Choose from our Nathan Hale's two full service restaurants for dining experiences that range from elegant to casual, or relax in our lounge. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect convenient base of operations while visiting the University and is convenient to the many UConn cultural activities and sports events. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants and a lounge, indoor pool, fitness center and Jacuzzi. The Inn is also certified as Green & Sustainable lodging by the state of Connecticut and is a perfect site for Green & Sustainable meetings and conferences. Our location across from Storrs Center can't be beat and our goal to provide you exceptional service makes Nathan Hale Inn the best choice for visitors. Make the Nathan Hale Inn your full-service oasis on campus, with contemporary flair and a convenient alternative to hotels in Manchester and Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nathan Hale Hotel Storrs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing