We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to UCONN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Basic hotel, very convenient to UCONN. There are not a lot of options around the area. Overpriced for what it is, just an average hotel. The rooms were clean and tidy, though dated. We had breakfast at the Blue Oak. The food was alright, but the service was terrible. Our waiter was far too concerned with his phone and talking with the front desk staff than taking care of us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank omarvomdakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to the area. I am pleased that the hotel met your needs however extremely disappointed that you did not recieve the service in the restaurant that you should have expected. I appreciate the feedback and we will address this internally. Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is your standard 3* hotel that will leave you satisfied enough to not write a negative review about, but not overwhelmingly amazing. The staff is very nice and courteous to guests. This said, some of the facilities, namely the pool area, are dated -- jacuzzi looks like it's been around for 25 years without being refinished. If you need a place to stay that is convenient to UConn, then this is it.

Room Tip: Request room facing away from dormitories if staying during the school year -- the last thing you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. It is always nice to hear that the staff made you feel welcomed. We are looking to do some work on our pool area over the next couple months with the hope of freshing things up in that area. Hope to see you again when visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were at UConn for 2 days for baseball clinic for my husband's baseball team. Our decision to stay was a bit last minute but we found it to be fine. Obviously you are limited with options near campus and this works well if you are required to be at the school's facilities. They are a "green" hotel - so no AC in the halls and it takes a while for the room's AC to kick in when you enter the room. Not always the best after a hot day in the sun. We ate at the Tavern and the selection is small but the food is great. We enjoyed that it was clean but other than that and the convenience there isn't much more.
Also, you pay $8.50 to park your car so you don't get ticketed. It is great they have a lot reserved for guests of the hotel but I don't think the parking charge is necessary.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank maestra611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Being right on campus makes it very easy to get around when you have business in the area. We do have AC units in all the hallways but with this recent opressive weather we have had over the past week they are working overtime and for that I am so sorry. Now that you know where we are we hope you stay with us again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was very happy staying here while my daughter attended orientation at UCONN. Located on campus, so could walk to downtown Storrs and anything on campus. Indoor pool and hot tub were a bonus. Gym on site, too, but I didn't use it. Nice function room and restaurant. Water pressure in shower was FANTASTIC!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizzylorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay at the Nathan Hale Inn. As you saw we are a full service hotel with all of the amenities and within walking distance to everything on campus. Hopefiully we will see you in the fall. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We checked in around 10pm for our overnight stay and found that it was well-run and generally nice, but in need of a little updating. The staff we encountered was friendly but the check-in clerk at that hour was a little introverted which was strange and the waitress in the restaurant at breakfast was also odd--there were 4 tables to wait on and she was beyond stressed and had a very loud voice--so weird--she kept apologizing for the wait (and we did wait for a long time to give our order) and she was pleasant, but we felt so stressed by her manner that we couldn't wait to eat and leave. We also found the breakfast to be way over-priced and not very good. The room itself was okay but the A/C was ridiculously noisy! I think that it would provide good white noise if it didn't sound like a jack hammer. With all this negative commentary, I would stay again as it is so convenient as it is on campus.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room far from the event rooms and restaurant as it was very noisy near those areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are in the middle of renovating a number of items including the HVAC units as we are aware of some of the noise issues. I will review our staffing as we always have two servers or more on for breakfast and it was odd that there was only one. I am glad that you can put that aside and stay with us again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The A/C units are cheap cheap cheap! Translation: NOISY NOISY NOISY! They run throguh cycles that sing in around 8 or 9 different pitches, speeds, clunks, and so forth, probably in the name of energy efficiency. Was awakened every 14 - 17 minutes with the kick on, compressor power up, slow fan followed by compressor knock of and high speed fan to squeeze out the maximum cooling capacity. It was nightmarish! Please, you are the flagship of UCONN for accomodations. Also, we had breakfast and the restaurant seemed to be manned by a single person. I caught on to this before we ordered and selected the yogurt-fruit-granola parfait to make it fast. Didn't consider that the waiter was also delivering food for room service and waited 15 or 20 minutes after finishing to pay. The waiter never came back and I had to be somewhere so left a $20 bill on the table to cover what was probably a $12 bill. Went into elevator to go upstairs to get our bags and get out of Dodge and who gets out of the elevator while we were getting on? OUR WAITER returning from a room service delivery. Get some staff, get some new A/C units and that'd be a beginning. Otherwise, not sure if I could stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJMinute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for bring up the issues you had during your stay with us. We have recently had issues with a couple of our units and are in the process of replacing them. We are always staffed with at least two servers so I am surprised that there was only one on when you were there. I would hope that you might give us another opportunity as I truely believe this was not an example of the great service we provide to our customers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are at an event on the UConn campus, this is a pretty good choice. I ate one breakfast there, and the food was excellent. I ate a few meals in the tavern The food was OK but a little expensive, and I would have walked to the Subway at the Student Union for a less expensive option. Service is friendly, but the one time I ordered room service I had to call back and ask for eating utensils.. The pool is OK. It was hot in the hallway outside my room, and there was a smell for several days coming from a mechanical room--but inside my room it was nice, and the housekeeping staff was friendly and accommodating. It is not a large place, so it is not like you will get lost in the crowd.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdRigdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMNathanHaleInn, General Manager at Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were visiting the campus. We have a great staff and I can see that you were treated great by them. We all look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storrs
13.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
14.7 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
#4 of 10 in Manchester
99 reviews
14.7 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
12.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Vernon - Hartford
18.5 mi away
Comfort Suites- Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center

Address: 855 Bolton Rd, Storrs, Mansfield, CT 06268-1719
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mansfield > Storrs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Storrs
Price Range: £145 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center, located on the historic campus of the top-ranked University of Connecticut in Storrs, and offering visitors a convenient upscale full-service alternative to hotels in Manchester or Hartford. Set in the heart of campus, across from Storrs Center, the Nathan Hale Inn is the perfect destination for alumni, sports enthusiasts, parents and potential students. Whether you are traveling on business or for pleasure, the full-service Nathan Hale Inn is a top choice for hotels in Connecticut. Named after Connecticut's Revolutionary war hero, the Nathan Hale Inn offers sophisticated New England hospitality against a backdrop of rural beauty. We've got the best full-service choices and premium guest rooms for UConn alumni, guest speakers, visiting parents and Husky fans. Hartford and Manchester hotels cannot compare to our unique setting and unbeatable location in the heart of historic University of Connecticut Storrs campus and across from Storrs Center. 100 premium guestrooms at the Nathan Hale Inn & Conference Center provide a convenient base of operations for business travelers or families visiting the University of Connecticut's scenic main campus in Storrs. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants with lounge, heated indoor pool and spa, and fitness center. UConn cultural, Storrs Center, and sports events are only steps away. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect place to plan your seminar, wedding, reunion or conference, with a personal conference planner at your service. We offer versatile meeting rooms and our elegant three-season pavilion that accommodates up to 250 and the adjacent Rome Commons Ballroom is 10,000 square feet and can host large events within a short walk to Storrs Center. Choose from our Nathan Hale's two full service restaurants for dining experiences that range from elegant to casual, or relax in our lounge. The Nathan Hale Inn is a picture-perfect convenient base of operations while visiting the University and is convenient to the many UConn cultural activities and sports events. A full array of services includes high speed internet access, two restaurants and a lounge, indoor pool, fitness center and Jacuzzi. The Inn is also certified as Green & Sustainable lodging by the state of Connecticut and is a perfect site for Green & Sustainable meetings and conferences. Our location across from Storrs Center can't be beat and our goal to provide you exceptional service makes Nathan Hale Inn the best choice for visitors. Make the Nathan Hale Inn your full-service oasis on campus, with contemporary flair and a convenient alternative to hotels in Manchester and Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nathan Hale Hotel Storrs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing