We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Just RWight Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spencer On Main

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suffield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spencer On Main
Ranked #1 of 3 Suffield B&B and Inns
wilmington, de
1 review
“A Just RWight Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

The rooms are superb! The hosts are perfect, helpful but not intrusive. Breakfasts are a real treat. Plan to be back in October.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foltzjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
40
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sea Ranch, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

What a lovely, quiet and hospitable place to stay! Everything was high quality and the owners are such interesting people that it made the stay seem more like vacation than a business overnight. Only wished I could have stayed longer. Plan to come back again for sure.

Room Tip: Suite rooms a very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We dropped in last-minute on a spur-of-the-moment Memorial Day weekend road trip through CT. We called just half an hour in advance, reserved "Aunt Clara's Room," and found the home and our quarters both inviting and immaculate upon our arrival. Etienne and Caroline went out of their way to accommodate us: providing detailed directions to their favorite restaurants, offering to call ahead to make reservations, giving us maps, lending us an umbrella, leaving chocolates on our pillows and a handwritten note with the new WiFi password on the desk in our room, and so on. Breakfast was delicious (fresh fruit, flaky croissants, and crepes!), and conversation with our hosts was pleasant, thought-provoking, and laughter-inducing. This was one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. When we arrived, Etienne explained to us the philosophy behind their business: to help all those who spend time at Spencer on Main to "feel as though they are visiting old friends." They accomplished this and then some. Though we only spent one night there, my wife and I were reluctant to leave. We told Etienne and Caroline that we intend to return - this time, we really mean it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

I have stayed in B&Bs throughout New England, but this was overall the most beautiful and memorable experience I have had. Prepare yourself to step back in time to an era of enchanting New England history, doused with European elegance. The home and grounds are exquisitely decorated and impeccably maintained. The hostess and host Caroline & Etienne treat everyone as if they are family or friends. Your experience will likely leave you with the thought that you can't wait to come back, dreaming of more of the same that is all you have come to love at Spencer & Main. I would recommend to anyone to go out of their way to stay with Caroline & Etienne at Spencer & Main even if Suffield is not your destination! You will be truly glad you did!

Room Tip: Each room is a beautiful experience to be had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Squeaks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

I would recommend Spencer on Main highly. It is run by a warm and
generous couple, Etienne and Caroline d'Otreppe. Caroline is a descendent of the original owners of this majestic old Victorian mansion built in the 1800's. The
mansion is beautifully and exotically decorated with countless European aristocratic and historic touches, as well as luxurious private accommodations. Etienne and Caroline are skilled gourmet cooks, and serve up delicious, fresh and healthful breakfasts using
unique French style recipes. The bedroom suite we stayed in ("Delices de la Nuit") included an elaborately carved, Queen canopy bed, a marble fireplace with pillar candles, a peaceful study/media room, a huge bathroom with a classic claw foot bathtub, and fluffy robes to wear. The look and feel of the suite was aristocratic and luxurious as well as cozy and comfy.

The town of Suffield as well as nearby surrounding towns, offer a rare glimpse into how the well to do, founding families of New England lived during Revolutionary Era through Civil War Era times. Almost all the homes on Main St. display plaques saying what year
the home was built and who the builder was.

If your child is of high school age or soon-to-be, Suffield Academy is right down the road, and offers a very special environment to prepare your child for success in the
world. My partner’s father taught at the Academy for many years, and we had a very enjoyable tour of the campus during our stay in Suffield.

In short, my partner and I had a memorable and delightful time during our stay.
Glenn and Rebecca March 2011

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

Spencer On Main is the very epitome of Bed & Breakfasts. The historic house is beautifully decorated and appointed. Caroline and Etienne are intelligent and gracious hosts, with attention to every conceivable detail for their guests' comfort. Breakfast was perfection, delicious and beautifully presented. Any reason for a visit will do - the very experience makes a visit a special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMA59_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed at Spencer on Main for 1 night this past weekend and I wish it had been more. The hosts, Etienne and Caroline, were absolutely wonderful. They treated us like old family friends. The rooms are actually suites with a separate sitting room/library and a huge bathroom with a clawfoot tub and stand up shower. I have stayed in hundreds of bed and breakfasts and this has to be the best I have ever stayed in. The breakfast was amazing. We had eggs benedict and warm croissants, fruit, rolls and spreads. I was thoroughly impressed. When we have the chance we will be going again for a longer stay. They have set the bar high and I don't think anyone can top it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamaplanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suffield
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn East Windsor
Comfort Inn East Windsor
#1 of 4 in East Windsor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hartford / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Hartford Hotel at Bradley Airport
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Hartford Bradley Airport
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bradley Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer On Main

Property: Spencer On Main
Address: 264 South Main Street, Suffield, CT 06078
Region: United States > Connecticut > Suffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Suffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1870 Second Empire house with two suites and one bedroom, all with private bathroom. Open in September 04 after one year of renovations. Each guestroom decorated with period antiques but offering modern amenities such as cable TV, DVD/VCR, stereo system, WIFI, and central A/C. Eight acres of land, swimming pool. Full breakfasts blend Belgian and American traditional recipes. Free pickup is provided to and from Bradley Airport and Amtrak station. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing