We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night away”
Review of The Tolland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tolland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tolland Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tolland B&B and Inns
Cleveland, OH
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great night away”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Tolland Inn a couple nights before Christmas. It was the exact getaway we needed. We stayed in the Pacific Suite which had a wonderful hot tub, a king size bed and a gas fireplace. The bed was comfortable, and the hot tub was well....hot. Our hosts were great. They pointed us in the direction of some good places to grab dinner. Breakfast the following morning was delicious.

The location of the inn was convenient...about a mile off of I84. There's nothing around it like shops or restaurants that's walking distance, but there were plenty of restaurants we found within a five or ten minute drive. I can't say enough good things about this place. I'd love to make it an annual tradition.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ewellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
64
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here, this is a gem right off the highway. When a snowstorm prevented us from getting to New York, we had to stop and were lucky to be within proximity to this excellent bed and breakfast. So glad we didn't push through to Hartford where there are many hotel chain options. The great reviews here are right: Steve and Susan were so welcoming, excellent hosts who are not intrusive but a joy to speak to. Breakfast was delicious. We loved room 6, where it was cozy, warm, clean, the linens and towels soft, and the attached bathroom with iron bathtub were spacious. The robes provided came in handy. We especially loved the common areas of this BNB which were cozy and well appointed. Steve is incredibly talented evident in the furniture he made throughout this Inn. He is also generous... when looking to purchase an ornament dawning the Inn's logo as we were leaving, Steve had run out of stock on ornaments to sell, so took one ornament right off of his tree and gave it to us as a holiday gift. Thank you Steve and Susan!

Room Tip: We loved room 6! Perfect size, and spacious bathroom, at the 2nd tier rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o_trip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Our selection of the Tolland Inn as a place to stay was purposeful. It stemmed mostly from a level of nostalgic curiosity.

I spent my youth in a neighboring community. Through the years, I had passed the Inn on my way to and from other places. Each time, I was struck by the setting on the green and the stateliness of the property.

I am pleased to say, our stay at the Tolland Inn was all that we could have hoped it to be, beginning with the hospitality of Inn Keepers Susan & Stephen to the accommodations. In a word, our recent stay at Tolland Inn was ‘wonderful.’ We shall return.

Room Tip: Room #2 appeals to us most because it is located on the first floor, has a separate exterior entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaeta-centric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleborough, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay during this Thanksgiving weekend.The charming inn is beautifully decorated with antiques and collectibles, yet is has a "homey" atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious.
We enjoyed sitting around the dining table, conversing with the other guests. We loved our stay in the "Treehouse Suite", with it's comfortable king size bed, gas fireplace, and relaxing hot tub.
Thank you, Susan and Steve!

Karen and Dennis C

Room Tip: The "Treehouse Suite" is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, CA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our second visit to this beautiful B&B, as we have relatives in the area. We enjoyed our stay this time just as much as we did the first time. The inn is exquisite. It was built in the late 1700s and has been lovingly restored to its current immaculate, charming condition by its owners, Steve and Susan. It is fun to see how they have incorporated modern amenities while maintaining the historic building’s original charm. Steve designs and builds furniture. His beautiful pieces are throughout the house and help give this special place some of its character. The rooms are lovely and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable. Breakfast each morning is delicious, and it is lots of fun meeting other guests at the large dining table (also built by Steve). We will definitely stay here again when we return to the area and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My stay at the Tolland Inn was absolutely fantastic. The Inn is a wonderful historic B&B surrounded by the beauty and charm of Connecticut. It's conveniently located near the UCONN campus and only a short drive away from major highways. The owners, Susan and Steve, are friendly and personable, and make all of their guests feel welcome. And the breakfasts are delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brielle, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We decided to break up our trip to Maine by stopping in Connecticut for a night. By chance, we came across excellent reviews for The Tolland Inn, a bed and breakfast in Tolland, Connecticut. What a great find! The Inn is everything a good B&B should be-beautiful, with homey common areas, filled with antiques and other curiosities, unique, spacious guest rooms each with clean, private bath, a great breakfast each morning, and charming, accommodating staff members. This B&B is all that and more. For a peaceful, pleasant stay, this Inn is highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Treehouse Suite was in the back of the house, and very quiet with a view of the back lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mangiabene48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolland
7.9 mi away
Nathan Hale Inn and Conference Center
6.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
10.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hartford Manchester
8.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tolland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tolland Inn

Property: The Tolland Inn
Address: 63 Tolland Green, Tolland, CT 06084-3029
Region: United States > Connecticut > Tolland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tolland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Connecticut Inn on the Tolland Town Green. Hot tubs, fireplaces, relaxation in an 1800s bed and breakfast seven miles from the University of Connecticut campus. Perfect for travelers, rendezvous, romantic getaways, wedding nights,Connecticut honeymoons, business travel, and of course UConn lodging. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing