We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn, lovely people!”
Review of The Tolland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tolland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tolland Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tolland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We happened upon the Tolland Inn while visiting our daughter at college. We couldn't have been luckier. Steve and Susan were warm, friendly and helpful hosts. Our room was just lovely--so many special touches. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Man-from-Nantucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for The Tolland Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2010

A fantastic place to stay. Steve was very welcoming, informative and helpful in suggesting places to visit. We had a free upgrade which was most appreciated. The room was delightful, with great attention to detail. The bed, made by Steve was gorgeous and comfortable! Breakfast was delicious! We stayed 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute! Thanks to Steve and Sue for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellabrilliante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

The Volcano cancelled our whirlwind France vacation, but a last minute booking at the Tolland Inn -- the new Treehouse Suite, specifically, helped make up for it. The hot tub, the sound of the fish pond bubbling, and the tree-filled view out the back, easily washed away our "Oh, poor us" attitiude. Not to mention the yummy and filling breakfast every day, expertly prepared by Steve. He and Susan are the best.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

We stayed just one night at the Tolland Inn during a trip through Connecticut but it was a VERY enjoyable experience. Steve and Susan were superb hosts, the room (with free upgrade) was clean, comfortable and nicely furnished (including a wonderful bed that Steve made himself), and breakfast was a delight. Coffee before breakfast beside a cozy wood fire was a special treat. We would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BolairBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

At the end of a 7 day touring holiday enjoying the New England scenery and fall colours, we wanted a final night in somewhere special and The Tolland Inn came up trumps!
As Innkeepers our selves in the Bahamas we know of the importance of customer service and this was both helpful and unobtrusive with great ideas of where to dine after a long day travelling.
We had the 4 poster king sized bedroom which came with lounge[and a gas log fire] and two person hot tub!!!! what a delight.
Breakfast the next morning was a pleasure,taken "family style" so all the guests could enjoy the company as well as the great home cooked food.
We were really spoiled with being so well looked after and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bahamasbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Last weekend - Family Weekend at the University of Connecticut, October 2nd-Oct. 4th 2009, we had a delightful, reasonably priced, two night stay at the Tolland Inn in Tolland Connecticut. Inn keeper Stephen Beeching, an accomplished artist in the woodworking arena, was very accommodating when we'd explained that would not be able to arrive until after 9:00pm. We thoroughly enjoyed our lovely room with four poster bed, gas fireplace,
and hot tub with accompanying his/her luxurious terry bath robes. For once in my life I had not done much research on either the inn or the room we'd reserved, so everything was a very pleasant surprise. I made note of all of the charming furniture in our room and realized that much of it had been created by our host. The room was well laid out, impeccably clean, and very comfortable. I was mesmerized by the glistening, highly polished but not slippery, wood floor in the bath/hot tub room. We had control of both heat and air conditioning which is always a plus for me. Although unable to be present at breakfast the morning after our arrival, we did partake on the morning of our departure. It was a full house at the beautiful dining room table and we thoroughly enjoyed conversing with innkeepers Stephen and Susan Beeching, as well as the other guests staying at the inn. That is always a highlight for us - having the opportunity to meet new and interesting people. Breakfast was deeeelicious. Homemade gourmet butters to top yummy sour cream apple cake was a real treat, served along with a fruit cup, choice of juice, egg quiche type dish, and endless cups of coffee! And breakfast was served by an adorable "young" waiter, a second grade student of Susan Beeching. Susan mentioned that she offers this opportunity to her students on weekends. What better way to teach about responsibility, social skills, etiquette, etc. than to be out doing so in the real world with your teacher as your guide (-: We look forward to a return visit ~

RBP

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tollinn, Co-owners at The Tolland Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2009

We thought after reading this last review it was time to write our own thanks to our guests who have written on our behalf, and certainly, thanks so much for this review!! It is very rewarding to know when our efforts are meeting the expectations of our guests. We have been at this a long time and find it even more important now--that we have had all this time to try to get good at it--to learn when we are successful! It is very beneficial in our business to have some good reviews on-line, so our additional gratitude for you taking the time to write so nicely and in such detail to help us this way!
Best wishes,
Susan & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We stayed at the Tolland Inn for three nights while visiting our son at nearby U Conn. Our visit was relaxing, cozy and comfortable. Susan and Steven were warm and gracious hosts, advising us on local events and providing directions. The Treehouse Suite (#7) was wonderful! We were impressed by the cleanliness and comfort. Breakfasts were delicious. We look forward to return visits.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2peregrines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolland
8.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
6.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Vernon - Hartford
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Manchester
8.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester
9.5 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
#4 of 10 in Manchester
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tolland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tolland Inn

Address: 63 Tolland Green, Tolland, CT 06084-3029
Region: United States > Connecticut > Tolland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tolland
Price Range: £56 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Connecticut Inn on the Tolland Town Green. Hot tubs, fireplaces, relaxation in an 1800s bed and breakfast seven miles from the University of Connecticut campus. Perfect for travelers, rendezvous, romantic getaways, wedding nights,Connecticut honeymoons, business travel, and of course UConn lodging. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing