We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly poor”
Review of Lee's Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lee's Garden
Ranked #8 of 11 Restaurants in Tolland
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Pennington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Surprisingly poor”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Went for lunch and saw the reviews thinking this place was decent. Was very surprised that the picture listed on Tripadvisor.com is completely false (wrong). The restaurant is basically a Chinese takeout joint with 5 tables at best. Ordered a hot and sour soup and sweet and sour chicken with rice. The soup was bland gluten and some heat with the peppers. The meal was also lacking in taste. The rice was hard, and the sauce had no sour or sweet taste?? Was not worth what I paid and won't be coming back. Probably one of the worst Chinese meals I have had in a long time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KidLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tolland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese food in the area!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Love their food. Lots of flavor! We are regulars! Chicken and Brocolli, General Tsos Chicken and the crab rangoon are our favorites!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kippy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolland, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty! Tasty! Tasty!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Best Chinese food for miles! The rice is really good! Love their egg rolls too! Try their Crab Rangoon if you have a chance to go here! LOVE IT!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, IN
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good for take out”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I have been having Lee's Garden all my life. I would consider the food to be pretty good. I usually get the Gen Tso's or Lo Mein. They are both excellent and the combo plates are quite filling. However to be honest, I've noticed that people always tend to favor to their local chinese restaurant when eating at another one to take that into consideration as well.

I would not recommend actually eating in the restaurant itself. It usually tends to be cold and not the greatest atmosphere. With that being said, the employees are usually very friendly and helpful.

If you are looking for a good takeout chinese food, I would defiantly consider Lee's Garden.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good for fast take out, usual Chinese dishes,”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stopped here for a quick lunch. It's a small take-out place in a strip mall. There are a few formica tables, no washrooms and it was cooold. Ordered the General Tso's chicken which is a good test case for Chinese American style food. It was good, crispy, spicy, pork fried rice was tasty. The egg roll that came with it is the disappointing American style egg roll - stuffed cabbage in a overly chewy cover - no meat inside. Typical place - good for take out. Staff was friendly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lee's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing