We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Burger”
Review of Tavern House Grill

Tavern House Grill
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in Tolland
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Burger”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Came across this place in my travel. Atmosphere is loud more of a bar than restaurant. Our server was very good pleasant and attentive only problem she was also tending bar. She recommended the burger it was very good. Place is okay for a bar like atmosphere but for dinning not so much.

Helpful?
Thank Thefoodcritic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    5
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonder out of the way place!!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had taken a drive on a Sunday to visit a winery. On our way home we were looking for a place to get lunch and another cocktail. We googled local restaurants/pubs. The tavern house was one of the choices! What a great choice it was! Our server Chelsea was extremely nice and very helpful. The cocktails were amazing. The flatbread pizza fantastic, the clam chowder in my top 5 ever tasted, loaded with clam and potato.
We each had a different sandwich and all raved about them!! We had sweet potato fries and the special fry sauce incredible!
If you ever find your way out in Asford, the tavern house is a must stop at!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iceman06096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellington, CT
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This place needs Jon Taffer”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Three of us walked in at 5:00 on a Friday at the start of happy hour. There were only a few people in there and we were offered drinks pretty quickly. After that though, it went downhill quickly. We asked for menus after our first round and 10 minutes later the bartender/waitress finally came back and rudely said "you know what you want?" She took our orders and told us she was clocking out and turning our tab over to someone else. She proceeded to tend bar, take orders, stack beer glasses and refresh drinks for everyone else (presumably regulars) while completely ignoring us. Our food was delivered by another staff member and still we weren't offered any more drinks though 2 of us had empty glasses. My friend ordered chicken wings and they were extremely dry and unappealing. They also weren't served with any blue cheese on the side. After being ignored by all 3 people behind the bar, she finally flagged someone down and asked for blue cheese and a water. The waitress came back with the water and no blue cheese so she assumed she didn't hear her. She then asked the waitress who "clocked out" 25 minutes earlier but was still serving everyone else for some blue cheese and she walked into the kitchen then came back out and barked at my friend "she already put the order in for you". Apparently blue cheese does not come with wings at this restaurant, so they had to put an order in for it and wait for the cook to pour it. We were charged $1.00 for it. I ordered a chicken sandwich with no bun and it was the thinnest pounded piece of chicken with very little flavor. The fries were also pretty meh. That's the only word I have to describe them. My husband got a chicken avocado sandwich and the chicken barely filled half the sandwich. It was also thin and tasteless. His reaction to the fries was the same. We proceeded to finish eating, still with 2 empty glasses in front of us, and we were never offered another drink. We sat there with empty/finished plates and glasses for another 10 minutes before anyone even made eye contact with us. We finally flagged someone down for the check and a very nice, bubbly girl named Amber gave it to us. She is probably the saving grace behind that bar. There was a miscellaneous beer on our tab that we didn't order, which I am guessing was not an accident, but the bartender promptly took it off the tab and gave us a new one. Needless to say though I live in the same town as this bar and have been there several times, I won't be back. They are in dire need of new staff, better food, and a new setup (the waitresses couldn't even reach the bartop to clear our plates because she was only 5'2" and we had to pick everything up and hand it to her. Someone call Bar Rescue.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank elogan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolland, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gross!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Never going back. Staff and owner were disrespectful! Shrimp was still frozen inside and when we complained they just shrugged and left it on the bill. Tolland needs some good sit down restaurants but this is NOT one of them! Save your money!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Need a good resteraunt in Tolland? Look no further.”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Nice waitresses/bartenders, great food, reasonably priced, good environment, good location. Honestly, there's not a bad thing to say about this place. I would highly recommend going here if you're looking for a nice resteraunt to eat at.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alapointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tavern House Grill also viewed

 

Been to Tavern House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing