We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza Pub”
Review of Berkshire Cafe

Berkshire Cafe
Ranked #11 of 123 Restaurants in Torrington
Restaurant details
Byron, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pizza Pub”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I was there many years ago and the quality has diminished since then. First of all they charge you for every soda drink $1.50 per refill New York like. Grrrrr!! I hate this practice unless they mention it before several sodas and find it on the bill afterwards!! The salad was very good, but the pizza quality was average at best? I was expecting a New York style pizza being in the northeast and it took 30 mins to get our pizza? I think the cook drop our pizza and had to cook another? I was sitting at the bar and he was bringing out what looked be our pizza and dropped it on the floor? I would go somewhere else. 1 small salad enough for 2, medium pizza and 2 sodas $25.00 kind of high, but what everything is more in the Northeast. I am from the south.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrGoodwrench3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lousy”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The service was horrible on Monday night. The waitress was rude acted like she was doing us a favor by taking our order would much rather by taking to a man at the bar. Then she just put our plates and silverware and napkins on the edge of the table in a stack. The salad was ok but it was iceberg lettuce with cheese and a few pieces of meat, the dressing was good. The pizza was a mess center was soggy and raw. The wings were baked and tasted rubbery. This place use to be so much better. We will not return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Central FL
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A Favorite Whenever In Town.”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

I stop here whenever I am in Torrington. I grew up here so maybe it's the nostalgia. Whatever. There is always a place to sit and I get a pizza because I enjoy the fresh flavor. The atmosphere reeks New England which, for me, is a good departure from the south.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't believe this place is still in business”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

The salad sucked, straight iceberg lettuce. While the pizza was "different" it certainly isn't worth the trip. It is reasonably priced but I can't say it's worth it. Our waitress took foreve to acknowledge or existence despite being a pretty quiet night. It was also freezing in the place and the kitchen took a while. All and all we will not be back again nor would we recommend it to anyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nwctchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“PIZZA & PICKLES”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Pizza was AMAZING, and oddly enough pickles taste like home made!!! Friendly staff, and decent price!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tikolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Berkshire Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Berkshire Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing