We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Hobbiton Movie Set Tours
from US$58.83
More Info
from US$83.34
More Info
from US$125.36
More Info
from US$262.63
More Info
Reviews (8,367)
Filter reviews
7,477 results
Traveller rating
5,239
1,557
439
156
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,239
1,557
439
156
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the green dragon inn ginger beer our tour guide wings attention to detail new zealand the pub take photos gift shop shire's rest hobbiton movie set middle earth hour tour bus driver lotr fans peter jackson dream come true
Filter
Updating list...
5,746 - 5,751 of 7,477 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A very interesting attraction even if you are not a fan or clued up about Hobbits. Our guide was very passionate about his presentation and gave us 110%. He explained about each part of it we came to in great detail and by the time we headed over the bridge to the Green Dragon Inn we all were much more educated about Hobbits and Hobbiton. The refreshment stop at the Inn was very much appreciated. This was an included attraction in our Tour Itinery.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have seen and enjoyed all the Lord of the Rings movies and the first Hobbit film. I probably wouldn't have bothered visiting this attraction except we had been hosting a German tourist who was very keen and we were happy to accompany her on the tour.

It was extremely busy the day we went so I would advise pre booking over the summer holidays to avoid a lengthy wait. We drove to the "Shire's Rest" where it is compulsory to take one of the tour company's buses the rest of the way to the film set.

The film set is in a lovely area and quite enjoyable to walk around apart from the huge crowds. Our photos are spoilt with lines of people on other tours.

Worse was to come when we got back on our bus in torrential rain and the windscreen wipers didn't work. The road is unsealed and hilly with sheer drops. We got back safely but the bus was not roadworthy.

Our cringe worthy young Australian or NZ tour Guide (not sure which as he taught us to chant Ozzie, Ozzie, Oy, Oy, Oy and say "Sweet as") made a joke of it but it was simply not good enough.

As a NZ'er I was very disappointed in the overall running of this tourism venture and I hope they get their act together to give customers their money's worth.

Date of experience: December 2013
7  Thank Toddy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

If you haven't seen the movies or read the books, don't bother as it won't be worth the price for you. Conversely, if you're a huge fan, you won't be disappointed. We sit somewhere in the middle, having enjoyed the books and movies, so the tour was nice, but only just worth the hefty price tag. The walk through Hobbiton is nice, but you can't go inside Bag End or really do much other than walk around the set. What made it worthwhile was having a drink at the Green Dragon at the end. We're not big drinkers, but the place is so cozy and has fantastic views inside and out that I could have stayed all day. The drinks are good, and the scones are even better. Pubs in the real world should be fashioned after this one.

Date of experience: November 2013
5  Thank Canada-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Great excursion when in Auckland or the North Island. It can be quite expensive and you can only have access on an approved official tour.
The scenery is amazing the actual set is also something to behold, the tour ends with a drink at the Hobbit Tavern.
Downside apart from being expensive is that you feel rushed through by your guide as they get very busy and I feel that the employees, tour guides and bar staff etc should dress up the same you as you experience the characters in Disneyland.

Thank sprat358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Fantastic tour guide with heaps of knowledge about LOTR and amazing work as real as it can be from Peter Jackson both brought me a wonderful experience in Hobbition, but it was so busy and crowded during X'mas time and we had a super long queue even we've booked the tickets online and then had to avoid mixing up with other tours which started 10min earlier/later than us.

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank JoyceYao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews