We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again, and reccomend to friends.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vernon
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would stay again, and reccomend to friends.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Listen, before arriving I was really worried over all the bad reviews I had read in Trip Advisor. But now I can only imagine some people must have mistaken hotels while writing their reviews or have had really bad luck in their experience, cause everything went really smoothly and great in our 9-night stay to attend business in UConn (just 20 min away by car).

I started to calm down immediatly upon arrival. The lady in the front desk (Sorry, I am not good remembering names!!) was really nice and I liked her instantly. And for the rest of our stay, all of the other members of the staff were equally nice, offering smiles, good mornings and help all the time you would appear in the lobby. The lady who helped in the breakfast and this nice guy who seemed to be a handyman were also very polite. By the way, the breakfast was simple but was enough for us: bagels, waffle, cereal, cream chease, butter, jam, peanut butter sometimes, tea, decaf and regular coffee, orange juice, milk, apple, and some hot stuff that I never went to check what is was (probably eggs, but I'm guessing). The space to eat is not big, but in the whole 9 days we spent there, we never had problems to find a seat, even had days we were alone in there.

The room was in the ground floor, 129 (I think!), a two double bed room. Good space for two people and their 4 luggages! The bathroom was kind of small for two women to use, but we've managed fine, specially because there were other mirrors in the room. The shower was fine, good pressure and easy way to control temperature. I have to say the ventilation system was too loud and a bit annoying. We had TV, microwave, fridge and coffee maker - all well functioning. The air conditioning system was also working, but was a bit noisy as well. The bed was confortable, the linen was clean, and we didn't had any encounters with bed bugs! Everything seemed clean enough. They cleaned the bathroom and left new towels everyday (that is not very sustainable, though). Yeah, it is a bit old fashioned, the decor could be better, the finishings on paint, wallpaper, and other work done could be better, but these are small things for me (afterall, its not my own house!).

I didn't smell any smoke in my room or around it, however, when I went to the laundry (wich you have to pay 1.25 to use, and only have one washing and one drying machine), I smell a bit of a smoke stink near the 106/105 rooms, but was the only time. I also never went upstairs, so I can't say anything about those rooms.

By car, the hotel is 20 mins away from Hartford (west) and from UConn (east). You have easy access to a mall and a shopping street, nice restaurants and a few supermarkets like Walmart, Target, Stop and shop, Kmart.

After this experience, I would most definitely stay there if I have the opportunity to visit UConn again in the future. I was delivered what it should be expected of this kind of hotel. And would reccomend people to be sure they are not mistaking the hotels (cause there is another nearby hotel) and that they are not expecting more than a 2-star near the road hotel should offer.

Oh, did I mention the pastrami sandwich on Rein's Deli just next door?!?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReFilippini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    19
    19
    17
    24
See reviews for
34
27
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was our first time staying at this particular hotel. The staff is very helpful including Brenda who was on at night and Ricky who was on in the morning. I have to say, this is the friendliest staff all around I've encountered in a long time. Everyone smiles and says "hello" or "good morning." The hotel was very clean from the lobby to the room. It was very quiet for sleeping, the bedding was comfortable, fresh and clean as were the towels, etc. in the bathroom which was small but adequate. The shower water was so hot I had to turn the temp down and it had plenty of pressure.

We enjoyed a very nice breakfast with plenty of coffee, juice, toast, cereal, waffles, scrambled eggs and ham to chose from.

It is located right next door to Rein's Deli which is well known for its NY style deli sandwiches but we'd already eaten so we'll plan to eat there next time. in fact there appeared to be quite a few places to eat nearby.

The price was very reasonable. We asked for a non-smoking room and I did not smell any smoke as someone else mentioned. I would definitely stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_Inn_Vernon, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Quality Inn
860-871-0004
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Was bitten all night!
Never day I came back and saw one crawling on me. I took photos and actually get manager the bug. He didn't want to refund me for last night since I wanted to leave. I showed him the bug and a google image search for bed bugs. He remained in denial that it was a bed bug

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vernon hotels

Albany, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I am laying in my bed at the inn right now. There is an overwhelming smell of air freshener trying to hide the smell of smoke in my non-smoking room. The comforter looks ancient and i am pretty sure there isn't an elevator in the hotel. I only stayed here because my daughter's college softball team is staying here. Wish i had read the reviews first. The team also commented the whole second floor smells like a smoking lounge...which is why I am guessing switching rooms wouldn't do any good. Can't wait until tomorrow so I can check out. Yuck.

Room Tip: Do not stay here unless you have very low standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank trav3llers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanders, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent service. Clean rooms. Stocked bathrooms, towels, toilet paper, tissues. Lots of pillows, warm blankets. Comfy beds. Excellent staff. Great breakfast. Conveniently located. I would def stay here again and plan on it. Had a great experience. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanyazaleski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hafiza21, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thanks for your time
Well come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here in October 2012 during Hurricane Sandy. We live a few towns away and I decided to stay at a hotel with 2 of my kids when our house lost power. Originally booked for two nights but only stayed one night because we got power back the next day early evening. My kids were so glad because they weren't looking forward to spending another night here. We all slept very poorly because we could hear others in the hallway during the night. The front desk service was awful and slow. When I went to check out it took a very long time and it seemed as if she didn't understand what I was asking to do at first. The first room they checked us into actually had someone else occupying it when we entered-very odd and embarrassing! Our second room was on the first floor and there were lots of young children in the lobby/restaurant area and halls during our entire stay. They appeared to be children of the owner/operators or other hotel workers. This added to the noise at times. This was the only hotel that had rooms available at this time or I would have stayed elsewhere. There is no pool or elevator here. The only positive is Rein's Deli right next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hafiza N, Owner at Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for responding to our survey. We appreciate your opinion.

Hafiza Naheed
General Manager
Quality Inn
425 Hartford Turnpike
Vernon, CT 06066
860-871-2432
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed here last year as it was right next door to the very good Rein's Deli. The room was shabby and the bed uncomfortable. The front desk people did not seem professional or to care. This year we went to the Holiday Inn Express a mile to the west on the same road and it was very good. We would not stay here again. The owners don't seem to care.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmmaisinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernon
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Manchester
2.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Manchester
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon

Property: Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon
Address: 425 Hartford Tpke, Vernon, CT 06066-4820 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > Connecticut > Vernon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in southern New England, the budget-friendly Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon is located on Route 30, right off Interstate 84. Located nearby to many eating opportunities including the famous Reins New York Style Deli. Old Sturbridge Village, Buckland Hill Mall, and other shopping are located close by. The Hartford Civic Center, Rentschler Field, University of Hartford, and Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art are all within a short drive of the hotel. Come check out the hospitality that Red Roof Inn Hartford -Vernon has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Vernon Hotel Vernon
Vernon Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing