We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Japanese and Chinese food in one place”
Review of Oriental Cafe

Oriental Cafe
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Japanese and Chinese food in one place”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is a very nice, comfortable, family run restaurant with well made and fairly priced Asian food. Billy Wong always greats you with a smile and makes you feel at home. Food is better than average served in a pleasant dining area. My wife and I like variety of food choices with both Chinese and Japanese specialites.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oriental cusine fast”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Oriental Cafe is a small, but intimate place to enjoy sushi or chinese/japanese cusine at a good price. Service is quick, yet without making you feel that you have to hurry to leave after dinner. Owner is very personable and enjoys interacting with his customers.
Take out is also available and is ready within 15 minutes after calling in an order.
I would highly recommend it for casual Asian dining.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CtUkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely love the Bento Box Lunch”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

You really can't beat there Bento Box lunch. I usually have the Salmon and sometimes the Chicken. I love the Salmon Bento Box Lunch. The Salmon is a thin slice but cooked crispy and delightful. You get 3 dumplings, salad, and rice. The Salmon also has some cooked onion and usually a piece of broccoli. Every thing in the box is fresh fresh fresh! I usually only have water, not tea as I do not consume caffiene. The bill comes to like $8.50 and I leave a $10 and that covers my tip. Everyone that works there is extremely friendly and very accommodating. I usually go there after shopping at the consignment shops around them. The Bento box lunch is very filling but not heavy so you can go about your day after without feeling weighed down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KawiKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese and Chinese Food”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is a very good restaurant with an extensive menu of both Japanese and Chinese specialties in a very pleasant relaxed setting. It is on the small side with makes it fairly quiet. Billy and Joe make you feel like family. I prefer sushi and some of their specialty rolls (Billy Joe my favorite), while my wife loves their Chinese dishes. If you are a group of 10 or more, you can make a reservations for the Banquet experience, where they just keep bring their specialites to the table (including Peking Duck) for $15 per person. Very nice dining.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
126 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Far East Cusine Not So Far”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Have the urge for sushi or sashimi or tempora?

No need to fly to Tokyo. Just fly to Vernon, CT for excellent, fresh reasonably priced Japanese style cusine. A delightful menu selection awaits.

The restaurant manages to serve its patrons quickly and efficiently from its sushi bar/chef's station even during busy periods. The selection of food types is remarkable and the servers are always helpful and pleasant. It's typical of restaurants in Japan where you are served fast, eat well, and leave to enjoy the remainder of the evening. Billy or Joe are always on hand to greet you and take care of any special requests in a warm manner.

There is also a selection of Chinese style meals, also made to a high standard.

The Japanese menu is as close to the actual experience without the lengthy overseas flight!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloydBaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental Cafe also viewed

 
Vernon Rockville, CT
Vernon Rockville, CT
 

Been to Oriental Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing