We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed at the Wallingford Homewood Suites for an overnight business trip and I highly recommend this hotel for both business & pleasure trips. It was easy to find, right off the highway. Super clean, quiet & the suite had an extremely comfortable bed with lots of room to work & relax. They have a pool & free breakfast - can't beat the price for the area. Superb rating

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for the kind feedback. So glad you were able to enjoy some of our amenties while you were here. Everyone loves the full breakfast buffet that is included in the room cost - but did you know that we have a Manager's Reception Monday - Thursday that includes, salad and soup along with a main entree and beer and wine? It's just nice not to have to go back out after a long day - you can grab a bite to eat right here. Thanks again for being so kind and safe travels to you and yours! Debbie Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    130
    34
    19
    15
See reviews for
226
113
32
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I spend a lot of time on the road, domestic and international. What a pleasant surprise to saty at the Homewood Suites in Wallingford/Meridian, CT. Huge room, big flat screen and comfy bed made the stay better than most. Happy Hour and free breakfast diodn't hurt either. I'll go back again next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thak you for your kind feedback. We take customer service and our guests' comfort very seriously. In fact, so many of our staff treat the hotel as if it were their own home guests were coming to - so glad you feel it is your home away from home - that is the best compliment that you can give us! Glad you enjoy your time with us! Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The front desk staff was disrespectful, annoying, obnoxious at the check in counter. We had many problems with one particular staff (Gormley). He serviced with a horrible attitude. He gave us a hard time about government rate, and instigated a fight in the front. I've never had any problems with other hotels regarding government rate. This was the very first hotel with issues like this. They changed our rooms when they become overbooked. I felt like there was an underlyiing race/discrimination issue here. If you come in with a bunch of kids, and you look a different color, expect to be treated less than human.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Courtney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I am sorry that you were so upset about your check-in experience. We are not racist nor are we prejudice towards familes - in fact quite the opposite - we embrace all of our guests. Some of our favorite repeat guests are our Choate, Quinnipiac and Yale families. The gentleman at the front desk that you speak of is a highly rated front desk agent and has a file of accolades. We take great pride in the level of service we provide. I know that you had a rate eligibility issue that was discovered at check in. I am sorry that this upset you. I stand behind my entire staff every day and they have the scores and the accolades that speak a different picture than the one you are trying to portray. May you and your family always travel safely. Debbie Johnson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hiltons are like Honda - you they can be fancy, or more utilitarian, but they always work. Using the same metaphor The Homewood Suites is more like a Civic model. Less fancy, but clean and convenient. We stayed there while we got snowed in on the road to Vermont and we had our dog with us. Once we pulled off the highway it took us minutes to locate and book a nice room at the dog friendly spot less than three miles away. The view, location and architecture (not the strongest features of this hotel) were not as important to us, as the proximity to where we were, pet policy and the basics like clean rooms, parking and good, civilized service. We got it all there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarvNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
I am glad that you found our hotel a comfort while traveling. Our location is convenient to Interstate 91 at exit 15. We are also minutes from the Merit Parkway, Berlin Turnpike and Routes 691 and 66. We are located in a local business area and one of our closest neighbors is an earth friendly office building in a business/medical park where they have chosen to protect the local ecology and work with a local farmer who plants corn in the empty fields. Unique? Maybe, but I like the marriage of farming, natural habitat and business. Thanks for taking the time to give us this review. Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, CT, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

reasonably clean and comfortable. Good overall value. Can improve the kitchenette area housekeeping. compared to other Homewood suites, its not as good, but considering its close enough to New Haven, which was our destination, its was a good call for our needs. I would not recommend it for people who are sticklers for excellence.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We take great pride in our cleanliness and service and are somewhat alarmed by your comments. Thank you for bringing this to our attention - we must ensure that all guests are treated the same and that our services and facility meet the high standard that is set for us by Hilton. I wish you had said something while you were here - I would have gladly talked to you and made a correction to your folio. We are sorry that you had a less than exceptional experience at our hotel. Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

If you are a government employee do not book a government rate here as they will not honor it. I'm government employee and was on vacation with my family. Since i was not on business they wouldn't honor it. I have stayed at many different hotel brands in many different states with a government rate for non-business and never had any issues before. Even on this trip i stayed at 4 different hotels and they honored it. After I checked in I called Hilton who confirmed that the government rate can be used for business or non-business travel. Also, I checked their webiste and it does not state business only. So i called back down to the desk and the woman was extremely rude. She said "Hilton does not dictate our rates!" In addition to the rate, I had an issue with the room. Even though it was supposedly "non-smoking" it smelled like smoke. When i told the woman about this she just yelled and said it is "non-smoking" and the rooms down the hall are smoking!" So no customer service such as let me see what i can do about it or i'll try to find you a new room. We ended up buying febreeze at a store and it slightly masked the smoke smell, but I could still smell it in the pillows. In addition to the smoke issue, the cleanliness of the room could have been better. There was a stain on the comforter and the floor in front of the kitchen sink was sticky. In regards to the food, the breakfast was poor and the evening social we did not partake in.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker or don't mind smoke smell in your room then this hotel will be fine for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank labibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
We are sorry that you had such a bad check in experience at our hotel. We honor the Goverrnment Rate at our hotel every day and have many arms of the government represrented. We embrace this business. We however, do not honor the Government Rate for personal/leisure travel. Hilton has a Military rate that is for traveling Military families and retired Military. The Hilton policy is: "Rate Details US GOVERNMENT:
Current US Government Employee ID, Government Credit Card or Travel Orders required at check-in. Includes suite with kitchen, hot breakfast, high-speed internet, evening reception and fitness center. Not applicable if attending a group or convention. Limit 2 rooms per reservation."
While you might be able to book a rate, it is at check-in when your eligibility for that rate is confirmed. We trust that all of our guests are booking rates that they are eligible for - that is why we do not call ahead of time to confirm rate status. Again we are sorry if this upset your plans. We wish you safe travels! Debbie Johnson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple nights recently while we were in the area for a college tour. We reserved a room with two queen beds and a king bed. The room is an excellent layout for a family of four since everyone got a bed and there were two bathrooms.

The biggest negative we encountered was that as soon as we walked into the room we were met with an overpowering, lemony smell. It was like someone emptied a can of air freshener trying to cover up some other odor. We immediately opened up the windows and turned on the fan to try and bring some fresh air in.

When I went back down to the lobby I explained the odor to the woman at the front desk. She commented that they had a prior guest that stayed in the room who had pets so perhaps it had something to do with them sterilizing the room. She offered to make a nominal adjustment on our room rate and I said that was fine.

The next day someone from the hotel called my husband and they offered to come clean the carpets in the room. He said it would only take about half an hour. We declined this service since one of our party was still in the room during the day and we did not want to have to deal with wet carpets during our stay.

The hotel and room layouts themselves are nice, but we were very surprised they would put a guest into a room with that kind of odor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
So sorry about the smell - I know that we had to deep clean some rooms affter extended stay guests left and I am sure that this is an after effect - so sorry that it was so strong though. I know that Sarah worked to take care of you and I am glad that she offered you the discount. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention, we need to ensure that all rooms are odor frr for guests at check in - so thanks for letting us know your's was not. Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallingford
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
0.2 mi away
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New Haven Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden

Property: Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
Address: 90 Miles Dr, Wallingford, CT 06492-2555
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Wallingford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wallingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden offers a convenient location, between New Haven and Harford at Exit 15 off I-91, and spacious pet-friendly suites to make it one of the top hotels in Wallingford, CT. This great location nearby Route 68 and CT-15 allows for easy access to greater Wallingford and Meriden’s top destinations including Lake Compounce, Dinosaur State Park, world-class museums in New Haven, and the University of Yale campus. Business travelers will also appreciate the close proximity to the offices of 3M, Anthem Blue Cross-Blue Shield, McKessen, and Verizon Wireless. This newly renovated Wallingford hotel offers convenient amenities including an indoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, and a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet. The renovated, pet-friendly guest rooms are highlighted by modern amenities including fully-equipped kitchens, free WiFi, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. Choose the Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden and enjoy the perfect combination of an ideal location and amenities that make this one of the best hotels in Wallingford, CT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden Hotel Wallingford
Homewood Wallingford
Wallingford Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing