We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Country Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wallingford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Meadow Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Wallingford B&B and Inns
california
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet Country Getaway”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in the Thai Suite for a spontaneous getaway. The farmhouse itself is charming and the setting is serene. The Thai suite steps away from the colonial period into another country- the owners have decorated with their lovely collection of Asian pottery. Bob and Nancy are very friendly and their dog is very well-behaved. The breakfast (a blueberry stuffed French toast) was delicious!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank movingeast3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were in town for a wedding and stayed one night. It was our first Bed & Breakfast experience. It felt so warm and inviting, like we were staying with family. The Thai Suite was so private with its own entrance and bathroom. We awoke to birds singing and dew on the grass and the smell of bacon cooking upstairs. We were their only guests that night so we were able to set the time for breakfast, unlike those hotels that if you aren't up by 10, you're out of luck. The beautiful dining room décor and our two places at the table set for breakfast was wonderful. From the homemade assorted breads, home made jellies, goat cheese omelet and fresh picked steamed asparagus spears from her garden, this was an experience I don't think we will ever be able to improve. Their big gorgeous poodle dog Rocky was always around (with our approval) which made it seem even more like we were home. I would HIGHLY recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: There is one separate cottage on the property that has its own kitchen if you don't want to eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in the Master Suite to celebrate our anniversary and had a great time! The owners were friendly and accommodating and made an AMAZING breakfast! They are very warm and welcoming in sharing their home and know quite a bit about the history as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island, USA
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We planned a one night get-away and found this beautiful bed & breakfast, right across the street from a vineyard. We stayed in the Thai Suite. Gorgeous and very clean. The hosts are very friendly and full of ideas on what to do in the area. We visited the vineyard next door and another about 2 miles away. Wonderful experience. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeneasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed two nights in the Master Suite at High Meadow. Bob and Nancy are such nice, friendly, down to earth hosts. It's almost like staying at the family farm. The Master Suite is very large which includes a sitting area. Nancy puts two single beds together to make one large King size bed in this suite. The bed is very comfortable. Bob and Nancy serve delicious breakfasts which include fruit (we had pears one day and a baked apple the second day), omelettes or French toast, fresh juice and lots of coffee. If you enjoy the feel of being home with family in a farm setting, you will really enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We returned to High Meadow to enjoy the Thai Suite - such extravagance! An incredibly comfortable king size bed, a large bath including a jacuzzi & a separate shower stall - the entire suite decorated with interesting artifacts from the owners' travels to Thailand. The most spectacular part of the "Thai Suite" experience was waking up to the gorgeous meadow views. If we had more time, we would've loved to stroll the beautiful 70 acre property with commanding views if the surrounding countryside. Our breakfast served by our gracious hosts, Nancy & Bob included delicious baked blueberry french toast, organic bacon, baked apples, fresh squeezed orange juice and strong, rich coffee. We look forward to returning to High Meadow B&B to enjoy the exquisite country elegance which Nancy & Bob provide their guests!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendExcursioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearny, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We loved our stay at High Meadow. Nancy and Bob treated us with a warm welcome and served us excellent fresh omelettes and made oatmeal the steel-cut way. The bathroom by itself was larger than some entire rooms we have encountered in other B&Bs. The house was decorated in an unusual fashion with unique items from Thailand and elsewhere. It was relaxing to sit on a bench in the back yard overlooking the garden with beautiful butterflies and a sweeping view of the countryside. There are several wineries nearby, some of which you can visit--including one literally across the street. We definitely plan to stay here again the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenJonKaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallingford
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
13.4 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
413 reviews
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Meadow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Meadow Bed and Breakfast

Property: High Meadow Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1290 Whirlwind Hill Rd, Wallingford, CT 06492-2730
Region: United States > Connecticut > Wallingford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wallingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing