We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are in the country with a nice quiet setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
377 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“You are in the country with a nice quiet setting”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

When you first enter the hotel, you see the open concept Lobby. The Guest check-in desk are two open-style podiums and your reception is warm and casual from the Guest service people.

After you complete your check in, walk around the Lobby. There are tables and booths with room to eat / work privately or in a group. The booths have led TVs and look outside the large picture windows to the relaxing courtyard.

The guest room contain rich fall colors with a modern design. The shear privacy curtain takes you out to the patio and our room overlooked the indoor swimming pool. There were an abundance of AC outlets to recharge all the electronics. The bathroom shower head had good water pressure.

My sore spot were the beds. They both sagged and creaked. We did not have one comfortable night sleep.

This property is a 45 minute drive from Hartford Airport (BDL). Just off the CT 68 exit, turn right, and you are there. How convenient.

The Business office also had an open concept with ample work space. The only problem I experienced was the printer ran out of ink and I unable to print from the dedicated airline printer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flounder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay P, Operations Supervisor at Courtyard New Haven Wallingford, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback Flounder B! It’s wonderful that you were able to utilize our business center and I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our new decor. I am terribly sorry that you had an unpleasant night sleep. Your feedback is very important to us and it can only help us improve our standards. Thank you for your business and your review of the Wallingford Courtyard by Marriott. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    84
    38
    7
    4
See reviews for
71
26
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland, NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just recently stayed here with a package from a local university and their parent's weekend. It was convenient to campus and a great deal! I loved the lobby area and even though the food and drink menu were limited, the breakfast was DELICIOUS and they have just what you need for a quick drink to unwind.

All the staff are very friendly. Will DEFINITELY consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnab68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe F, General Manager at Courtyard New Haven Wallingford, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback Donnab68, I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We do have many universities and private schools conveniently located in the area and look forward to parent’s weekend every year! I’m very pleased to hear you found the time to enjoy our bistro.We hope to see you soon and thank you again for your wonderful feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. It was easy to find, clean, neat and very comfortable. Lindsay, at the front desk/lounge/bar was great. She did a little bit of everything. Checked us in, cooked our burgers, served drinks, and served our table. She was very friendly and an amazing worker. The room was very large and clean. The bed was comfortable. We couldn't have asked for much more.

Room Tip: Request a room away from an entrance door. Our room was the very first room as you entered a rear d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelj04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe F, General Manager at Courtyard New Haven Wallingford, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feeback Michaelj04. Lindsay and the rest of the staff take great pride in the service they provide to make sure our guests have a great experience. We are one of the highest ranked Courtyards in staff service in the country mainly because of the staff being genuine in everything they do. We have recently undergone a complete hotel remodel and the feedback has been impressive ever since. We look forward to helping you unwind in any one of your future visits. Have a great upcoming holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex County
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

As we pulled in the driveway, I thought, "oh, oh." I was pleasantly surpised when I walked in. The front desk ladies we just lovely. The reception and bistro areas were clean and inviting. Our one bedroom suite was tastefully furnished. The sofabed could use a new mattress.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MASSmom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe F, General Manager at Courtyard New Haven Wallingford, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you so much for your delightful feedback MASSmom6! The entire interior of the hotel was recently renovated and I am very pleased to hear you liked our choice of furnishings! We are hoping to revamp our exterior in the years to come. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I checked into Room 139. I noticed a musty smell in the room. The day was very nice, so I opened the patio door to let in some fresh air. I also called the front desk and requested some spray to freshen the room air. I was offered another room, but I declined since I was unpacked already. They sent me a spray bottle to use to freshen the air, which helped out a lot.
The bed was very comfortable, and the room was pretty good other than the musty odor on arrival. I did not eat at the Bistro.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuckiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe F, General Manager at Courtyard New Haven Wallingford, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for the feedback Chuckeepoo. We definitely appreciate the honesty. I am terribly sorry to hear that you had just an okay stay here with us. Since your comment we have reminded all of the staff to pay extra attention to the odors throughout the hotel and report any if noticed. I am happy to hear the rest of your stay was pleasant and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Recently stayed here and had a very good experience. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean looking and smelling. The outdoor courtyard in the middle of the hotel was well-maintained and pleasant to sit in. The only knock was that the small restaurant/cafe they had was not staffed well enough to handle the morning crowd. I stood in line for 15 minutes waiting to order a coffee and something to eat, but the line literally never moved, so we just took off and went out to breakfast. Overall, a solid experience. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe F, General Manager at Courtyard New Haven Wallingford, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you Andrew889 for your wonderful feedback! We continue to strive to keep all of our guests very happy overall. Our recent complete hotel remodel is really resulting in positive guest experiences. Our staff is also top notch and really want you to feel comfortable in your home away from while traveling. I am sorry to hear about your experience in our Bistro. I can assure you that this is not the normal experience however we have staffed more accordingly for our breakfast rush to give you the most efficient experience possible. I hope to see you visit again in the near future and thanks again for the feedback. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We checked in for 4 nights as a family with 2 small children. The hotel is full of business travelers so it wasn't a family focused hotel. The room was small and beds are small. Clean but needs some attention to the other entrance from the side where our room was. But for the price I'll not have a problem returning back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby, unless you don't mind walking a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tharwat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe F, General Manager at Courtyard New Haven Wallingford, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you Tharwat E for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value your feedback. At the Courtyard by Marriott in New-Haven-Wallingford we take cleanliness and comfort as one of top priorities. We have recently cleaned up our landscaping around the hotel and outside of each entrance as well adding beautiful plants and flowers to enhance our grounds. In your future visit to the area, I would love the opportunity to upgrade you.We have spacious suites that are available with king size or two queen beds and a separate living room area. We also have rooms facing the lovely landscaped courtyard with an outdoor balcony which is unique to our hotel as well. We hope to see you soon and hope you enjoy the fall weather. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallingford
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New Haven Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Best Western Plus North Haven Hotel
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Haven Wallingford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Haven Wallingford

Property: Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
Address: 600 Northrop Rd, Wallingford, CT 06492-1946
Region: United States > Connecticut > Wallingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wallingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Haven Wallingford 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make room for a little fun at the Courtyard New Haven Wallingford, conveniently located near New Haven, CT and offering complimentary shuttle service to local businesses. Our Wallingford hotel offers a spacious, comfortable lobby, well-appointed business center with printing services, and free high-speed Internet access in all guest areas. Unique among Wallingford, CT hotels, our interactive GoBoard(R) enables guests to check out the latest news, weather, local entertainment and airport conditions. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect(R) serves fresh meals for breakfast and dinner in a café environment and also offers evening bar service including wine, beer and cocktails. Standing out among Wallingford hotels, each of our comfortable guest rooms features luxury Marriott bedding, 42-inch TV, mini-fridge, microwave, Paul Mitchell(R) amenities, large work desks with ergonomic chairs and more. Enjoy all the comforts of home and the quality of a Marriott when staying at the Courtyard New Haven Wallingford hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard New Haven Wallingford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New Haven Wallingford Hotel Wallingford
Courtyard Wallingford
Wallingford Courtyard
Wallingford Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing