We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable Room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New Haven Wallingford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wallingford
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham, alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

Stayed here for a 4 day business trip...I was very pleased with everything. It was a very comfortable stay. The outside of the building looks slightly older than what it appears in its website pictures, but all is redeemed when you enter the lobby. I stayed in a king suite on the 2nd floor by elevators. I thought that might've presented a noise problem, but not at all. The bed was soooo comfortable. The room was really clean. The breakfast (for 9.95) was delicious and worth the money. Staff was pleasant and very helpful. There's absolutely nothing to do in Wallingford, so it was very comforting to return here at night. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone having to go Wallingford.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — wallingford
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelstayerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    83
    38
    7
    4
See reviews for
70
26
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new england
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2007

beds were the most comfortable we have had in a hotel in a long time. pool area was ok - way too hot for adults to really stay in there. nice gazebo garden area for groups to spend time together.

  • Liked — the beds were so comfortable
  • Disliked — the hotel was good but nothing to do in that area - not a good spot for travelers just going
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doverdog
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2007

This hotel is very standard. Fine, nothing special. One thing that really irked us is the fact that breakfast is NOT complimentary, but they do not tell you this until they hand you the bill. it appears to be a buffet set up, and no one seats you, asks your room number, etc. so if you proceed to the buffet, and help yourself, you'll find yourself stuck with a bill. Particularly whereas a breakfast is pretty standard these days, it's disappointing.
The pool was pretty nice, but there was a youth basketball team who crashed the pool area when we were there at about 10:30 pm, and it made it very uncomfortable and crowded, and they were loud. No security folks arrived.
Plus, the towels are just okay. Fairly flimsy. Overall, an okay experience, but I don't think worth the money.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank doverdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Wallingford Courtyard for two nights on May 4-5 while we attended the University of Connecticut graduation. The hotel is about 50 minutes from Storrs. We are Marriott Rewards members and always try to stay at a Courtyard because there are no 'bad' surprises. That was true in this case. The room was as promised, it was clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was decent. The only thing that would have made it better was a refrigerator in the room which some Courtyards are now offering. If you need a place to stay in the area, try this Courtyard - you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — location and general Courtyard amenities
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retired605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2006

We stayed at the Courtyard Wallingford for one night, as we were travelling. We chose this hotel over the sister Fairfield Inn right across the street because of the indoor pool and whirlpool. The pool was very clean, and warm.

Any problems were addressed right away by the front desk. We had a backed up toilet and the maintenance man came right away. The front desk guy, Peter, was very helpful and friendly. We had car trouble, and he directed us to the nearby repair shop, about 5 miles away. They give excellent written instructions on a map to anyone who asks.

There is a 24 hr Walmart that is 2 miles down the road. A one way taxi costs $10. This hotel has no shuttle service. It is a bit isolated from any other businesses, other than the Fairfield Inn across the street. There are many businesses/restaurants near the Walmart.

This hotel is very clean, and well maintained. The inner courtyard is very beautiful with landscaping plants and a gazebo. The hotel itself is an older concrete balcony type hotel that has had some architechtural updates. It obviously used to have drive up access to the rooms from the parking lot into the sliding glass patio doors, but this is no longer used, as the landscaping extends right up to the patio doors. The room itself has standard Fairfield/Courtyard bed spreads. The room furniture is a step up from the Fairfield. The headboard unit was very nice with built in reading lights.

We used an interstate booklet walk in coupon which made this stay very affordable, and an excellent value. The breakfast buffet is $9 adults, and $6 children. You can also order from a menu ($7-$8). If you didn't care about the indoor pool, I would suggest staying at the Fairfield across the street, as that hotel includes free breakfast.

The only negatives: This hotel still charges for local calls (50 cents). In today's market, I just feel this is unnecessary. There is no pay phone in the lobby, so you have no choice.

Also, we had to make the hide a bed, as it was not prepared. We had to call to get sheets/pillow for this bed. The front desk knew that we needed this second bed when we checked in. We declined the only available 2 bed room as it was a smoking room upon check in. Other than these very minor irritations, this is a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glory4him
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2006

We stayed here for one night on our way home from Atlantic City. We got exactly what we expected, a nice clean room, comfortable bed for a reasonable price. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ms_Traveler207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2006

My family and I are from NYC and we were in Connecticut to celebrate my aunt's 65th birthday bash. So we stayed at the Courtyard in Wallingford over night. This was our first time staying in a Marriot Courtyard hotel. Let me start by saying that we will return. Almost everything was perfect from check in to check out. The front desk staff was very friendly. Our room was modern and clean as well as spacious. The lobby area has computer work stations for those that needed it. The hotel as a whole was very clean and modern looking. The location was perfect, as it was right off the highway. I reserved this room with the breakfast rate. And the morning breakfast buffet was delicious and bountiful. They had "make your own" waffles that were delicious, scrambled eggs (but you could opt for made to order eggs) potatoes, cereals, fruits, juices, coffee, tea, bacon and bagels, danishes, etc. Everything was delicious with the exception of the juices. My only other complaint was that the swimming pool was closed for repairs the weekend that we stayed. My son was a bit disappointed. However, he did take solace in the video games. Besides that our stay was great. We've already made reservations to come back the weekend of my husband's birthday.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wallingford
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New Haven Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Haven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New Haven Wallingford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New Haven Wallingford

Property: Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
Address: 600 Northrop Rd, Wallingford, CT 06492-1946
Region: United States > Connecticut > Wallingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wallingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New Haven Wallingford 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make room for a little fun at the Courtyard New Haven Wallingford, conveniently located near New Haven, CT and offering complimentary shuttle service to local businesses. Our Wallingford hotel offers a spacious, comfortable lobby, well-appointed business center with printing services, and free high-speed Internet access in all guest areas. Unique among Wallingford, CT hotels, our interactive GoBoard(R) enables guests to check out the latest news, weather, local entertainment and airport conditions. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect(R) serves fresh meals for breakfast and dinner in a café environment and also offers evening bar service including wine, beer and cocktails. Standing out among Wallingford hotels, each of our comfortable guest rooms features luxury Marriott bedding, 42-inch TV, mini-fridge, microwave, Paul Mitchell(R) amenities, large work desks with ergonomic chairs and more. Enjoy all the comforts of home and the quality of a Marriott when staying at the Courtyard New Haven Wallingford hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard New Haven Wallingford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New Haven Wallingford Hotel Wallingford
Courtyard Wallingford
Wallingford Marriott
Wallingford Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing